We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel for an overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Hotel Du Commerce
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel overnight on 4th August. It's a typical small-town French hotel. Staff were pleasant, our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. Our room overlooked the square but we weren't troubled by any traffic noise.
Although there's no restaurant in the hotel there's one next door and we had a very good meal there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireCatBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 132 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel was very much a "curate's egg" - good in parts. The rooms were nice, although we were facing the front, and there was traffic noise which some people might find disturbing. We didn't, but then, we are used to it. The shower was WONDERFUL, and really made the stay.

The proprietor seemed busy, and took his time answering my request for a code for the Wi-Fi, and I was very disappointed to find that the breakfast, which was €9, was not quite as advertised - the brochure claimed it would have scrambled eggs and fruit salad, neither of which was forthcoming. What there was was very good indeed, but not really €9 worth.

However, on balance it was definitely okay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Redboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

the public areas of this family run hotel are rather kitsch. the rooms are decadent, clean and comfortable however. the hotel is in a good location, at the cathedral square, in a not big city, so everything is no more than five minutes walking from the hotel

since the room had no views to the square but to a narrow alley, i did not hear noises, however the windows are old enough as to allow all sort of noises to be heard if the room faces the square

the breakfast buffet is a continental one plus something between omelette and scrambled eggs. acceptable

the hotel theoretically offers free wife, but it did not work. as it was late, i did not try to make it work with the help of the hotel staff.

considering the prices in montauban, the 77,50 euros i paid for a duble superior room is a bit overpriced

there is a public car park at the square there the hotel is, so the car is not a problem

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiglenoir, Propriétaire at L'Hotel Du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011
Google Translation

Quel aimable adjectif que celui de " décadent " ! Sans doute n'avons-nous pas la même conception de la décadence ? Sont-ce les chaises et tables Louis XIII, ou le lambris mouluré à la main, en noyer massif, de la salle à manger des petits déjeuners ? Ou les frises et moulures du salon de style Empire, comme le comptoir de réception en acajou massif ? On peut aimer marier l'ancien au design plus contemporain ainsi qu'au confort moderne, sans être pour autant décadent !
Quant à sa " généralisation-intuition " sur les fenêtres de la façade, il n'a pas de chance ! Vous avez tout faux, Monsieur, puisqu'elles sont toutes à double vitrage isolation phonique (ce qui se faisait de mieux en 2002, lors de la rénovation complète de l'hôtel. Comme quoi il est préfèrable de parler de ce que l'on constate, plutôt que de ce que l'on suppose... avant d'user d'adjectifs aussi outranciers (décadent) !
Nous avons souvent reçu des artistes à qui l'Hotel a beaucoup plu et qui seraient choqués de votre appréciation...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

The spouse and I spent one night in this well-located but dowdy hotel overlooking a car park. The desk clerk was new and not terribly well-trained. He seemed unable to help us figure out the hotel's wifi and gave long, convoluted instructions about parking. The decor in the public spaces is fussy and the furniture looked so uncomfortable that while waiting for my husband, I perched by the front desk where there at least was some light. The good news is we slept well, the water pressure was fine (but there are no amenities in the bathroom), and breakfast was ample and quite decent. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again, but as they saying goes, you get what you pay for.

Should you find yourself in Montauban, avoid eating in the main square as you can do much better. For an absolutely top-notch, modern French meal, Saveur d'ingres, which is a short walk from the hotel on rue Hotel du Ville, was marvelous. We'd been wandering the old town, coming across one shuttered restaurant after another (there's something about Wednesday night in this village), when I accosted a lovely man in the midst of closing his cafe (Du Nord au Sud at 38 rue de la Republique--go for lunch or tea) to ask if he knew where we might get a good meal. He not only recommended Saveur d'ingres, he phoned them and made us a reservation. The 3-course prix fixe menus are great value when compared to a similar meal you'd get in a major city--actually shocking when I think about what we pay in London. Anyway, as the menu changes probably daily, all I can say is if you love good food and wine, you'll be extremely pleased with your meal here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cholmley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Commerce Hotel in Montauban during a recent month long trip through France. It is an old hotel located on the small square in front of the cathedral, within a short walk of almost everything in this interesting and historic old city. Our room was good sized and furnished in a simple fashion. It was clean and comfortable. We looked out over the square but noise was not a problem. It was actually a handicapped room, so the bathroom was enormous and very functional with a great shower. The couple who seem to be in charge were welcoming and very helpful. The room was 75 Euros per night. A simple continental breakfast was 9 Euros. Parking (in the square in front of the hotel) is 8 Euros per day. Most of the clientele seem to be traveling business people. Overall, the hotel was friendly, convenient and quiet. It has no dining room but it has an arrangement (and a discounted menu) with La Cave-Ô-Délices across the street. We ate there one night in the brick lined cavern downstairs and the food was very good and, with the hotel rate, a real bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The kind of clean and comfortable provincial hotel that the French are so good at. The staff were very helpful, including a girl from Mauritius who spoke excellent English. The prices represent great value. The rooms are on the small side, but far from cramped. The plumbing all works as it should and the shower produces plenty of water. My room was at the side of the hotel and was very quiet, but the square at the front is not terribly noisy either. The continental breakfast is great, with a good selection of breads and pastries, cheese and ham. Even better is the small restaurant on the corner of the square which has its tables at the front of the hotel and serves fresh and lively locally sourced food cooked and flavoured with real flair.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rog2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend of the Munster match V Montauban. Hotel very comfortable and situated on a lovely square with all the activities only a short walk away. We arrived late for breakfast but it was no problem. The nice lady set up and served us a gererous breakfast. Our room was small but comfortable with an attached bathroom. Ceiling low but everything worked and was spotless clean. All for €68. Ten Minutes from the stadium.
We ate in local resturaunts -- standards not great especially down in the main square.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauban hotels
0.5 mi away
Abbaye des Capucins Spa & Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Montauban
Mercure Montauban
#3 of 17 in Montauban
218 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Montauban
Ibis Montauban
#2 of 17 in Montauban
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kyriad Montauban
Kyriad Montauban
#7 of 17 in Montauban
75 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Montauban
B&B Hotel Montauban
#5 of 17 in Montauban
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Montauban Les Chaumes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotel Du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Du Commerce

Address: 9 Place Franklin Roosevelt | dite Place de la Cathédrale, 82000 Montauban, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range: $59 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotel Du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Montauban, at the heart of the most rose-coloured of the three rose-coloured cities, the others being Toulouse and Albi, you will find a “Southern”welcome, the charm and prices of past times with today’s (perhaps even tomorrow’s) comfort and a timeless tranquillity. Welcome to the Hôtel du Commerce.Moments’ walk from the Musée Ingres, or the magnificent Place Nationale – heart of the Bastide (fortified mediaeval town) – and from the shops, this beautiful, large 18th century house will charm you with its character and personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel Du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing