We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cashel and Emly Pilgrimage 2014”
Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
tipperary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cashel and Emly Pilgrimage 2014”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed in Hotel la Solitude from the 16th to the 21st of June 2014 we were part of the Cashel and Emly Pilgrimage. This was our first time in Lourdes and we hope to return. The hotel is ideally situated close to the Basilica, Grotto and Sanctuary with stunning views of the river Gave. Pyrenees mountains and the Chateau Fort and Museum. The sound of the river can be loud but I found it quite soothing. We had a twin room on the second floor which was a bit strange considering we are a couple but as it was quite busy we didn't look for a change. The room was very clean and we had a gorgeous view of the mountains and river and we could look down on the terrace. On the seventh floor is a pool and a terrace which has amazing views we spent some time there just relaxing and admiring the views and took some fabulous photos. The reception area of the hotel is lovely plenty of seats and a lovely little gift shop the 10% discount we got on checking in was a lovely bonus. Allow a little extra time when using the lifts as they tend to be a bit slow and are quite small. We had full board and the breakfast was fine cereals and porridge, juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, hard boiled eggs, ham and cheese selection, bread and pastries, tea and coffee no menu selection on table (as stated by manager) for the option of a fry nor was the table set for the option of having a cooked breakfast. Lunch was three courses either self service buffet style or waiter service and dinner was four courses. Sad to say it was hit and miss with the lunch and dinner would have preferred to have had a choice instead it was just plonked down "eat it or leave it" very spacious restaurant but no attention to detail and a severe lack of fresh produce it seemed to me like a case of there's so many people just put it on a plate and get it out. One of our waitresses hadn't a word of English (very strange considering the amount of tourists they have) and if we asked for something different to what was being served despite the lack of English she made it quite clear that she wasn't happy and made us feel as if we should eat was what given how dare we not like it and look for something else. Also we didn't know that where we sat on the first night for dinner was where we should have sat for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the remainder of our stay this was only said to us on our last night! The bar is very spacious and clean and a great night was had by all on the Friday night an Irish sing song, dancing and shenanigans we even had Italians, Spanish and French join us! The Solitude is a lovely hotel relaxing, comfortable, clean, charming, great ambience, lovely staff and so close to everything. Thanks for a wonderful few days and hope to be back soon would love a small change to the lunch and dinner but otherwise wouldn't and couldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Mr Francois COMPAGNET - Directeur at Hotel La Solitude, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

I Thank you for your recent stay in our hotel and I am sensitive to your comments who allow me to improve the mentioned points.

It is true that until now, the breakfast menu selection was not placed on the table for the groups. I will consider your comment and we will put the menu selection on the buffet, so that it will be well signposted.

We provide, upon request, an alternative to the menu of the day if a dish doesn’t pleased you. I regret that the language barrier was a problem with your waitress and above that, the fact she did not request assistance to satisfy you during your meals.

I’m delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel with all our facilities.

I look forward welcoming you for your next stay in Lourdes,

Best regards

Mr Francois COMPAGNET - Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    188
    83
    29
    16
See reviews for
215
145
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

What a great surprise this hotel was. We had spotted it at our last visit and thought that it would have good views. We were not disappointed at all. The person who greeted us was very helpful and friendly and we were very pleased that although we had arrived early the room was already waiting for us. When we opened the door we realised that we had been given a twin room instead of a double. We were a bit hesitant to query it as we had the most wonderful view and didn't really want to be moved to another room and lose the view. We were told not to worry and they would bring a double bed to the room! Excellent service. We were on the seventh floor, directly below the pool and the view from the balcony was amazing. The fort and weir to the left, the river below and the snow capped mountains in the distance. The Poor Clares' monastery is just across the river and I loved to hear the bells for prayer ringing. The weir is audible but I found the sound soothing. As far as location goes it is perfect; just a couple of minutes walk to the sanctuary. There is a nice little terrace on the ground floor overlooking the river too. We didn't use the pool but the terrace which surrounds it has excellent views.The bar serves Guinness (hooray!) and everything was perfect. I have stayed in more modern hotels, but this is by far my favourite. It is comfortable, spotlessly clean, the ambience is relaxing and the staff were all charming. I would definitely stay here again, we had a great time. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a river view and balcony. It's well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlestfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My mother, my son and myself have stayed in this hotel for the last 14 years and hope to do so for many more years to come. The staff are both friendly and helpful. There is a great selection of food so all tastes are well catered for. We have gotten to know Claudine, Maria and Evelyn over the years in the restaurant and they couldn't be more friendly. On the hotter days of our pilgrimage it is great to have the roof pool to relax in. The hotel is near to the town and the grotto which is great whether it's raining or sunny. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are 4 lifts so a room on any floor is fine - give yourself plenty of time to come down on time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornajane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Every one at the Solitude deserves a big pat on the back once again! Great service,great food,all the staff once again most attentive and helpful,making my stay once again a very enjoyable experience.

Dear Francois
Thank you for making my stay wonderful by providing an excellent team.
I hope to return next year and would rather like a room with a balcony so I look forward to arranging that.
So until then
Au Revoir and merci!

Kind regards

Maggie Thomas (Herefordshire)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, SK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Although I was not a fan of the colour scheme in the room - a little dark for my taste, the bed was comfy, room was clean and the view from the balcony was stunning!!! I was in a wheelchair accessible room, which was very well done and planned out out. Although this is a wheel in shower a curtain would have helped to keep the water from getting all over. Great water pressure and very nice bathroom accessories. The hotel at first glance does not do it justice. The views from the down stairs dinning room are beautiful. I could have stated in the hotel and be perfectly happy. The meal was provided by the hotel that night as part of a tour dinner. My salad and dinner arrived way after everyone else and had to be asked for. it would appear that the wait staff were overwhelmed and not very experienced and may did not speak english. Very quiet location and hotel. Upon check in they provided you with free wifi and discount to their little store. getting up to the hotel by wheelchair was a bit steep and had cobblestones. If you have an able assistance this should not be an problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

From our first moment checking in through to our checking out 5 days later, our stay here was perfect. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. Service and food was excellent, and the staff were always obliging if some of the courses offered weren`t liked.
This hotel was ours by choice, not offered by an agent or tour wholesaler, and such was our pleasure, that it will always be our first choice when visiting Lourdes in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms over the river offer stunning views of the hills and snowcaps of the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IzzyLazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
717 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Actually we booked a room in hotel Continental, but due to overbooking we were upgraded to La Solitude a 4 star hotel (just next door and of the same hotel group). There were no extra costs, even for breakfast we first paid 13€, but at check out the hotel manager reimbursed us 5€ per breakfast (since the cost in hotel Continental for breakfast is 8€).
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, but somewhat old-fashioned, small and dark. Our safe also was not working. Breakfast buffet was nothing special: small choice and no warm dishes. There is also an underground parking (15€ per day).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Mr François COMPAGNET - Directeur at Hotel La Solitude, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment and rating points that will allow us to improve our services. Your room n°340 had a view over the river and the Pyrenees (although covered by the weather during your stay). You mention that the safe gracefully at your disposal in your room did not work. Our reception staff is there to help you in case of difficulties for its Operating Condition, and I hope you ask the front desk for help. Regarding breakfast, this one offers a choice of breads, fresh fruits, juices, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, applesauce, prunes, porritge, pastries.... On your table a menu allowed you to order fried eggs, omelette, bacon according to your wishes. I regret that you have not enjoyed your stay this time.
Best regards
Mr Francois COMPAGNET - Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Property: Hotel La Solitude
Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing