We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing is too much trouble!”
Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #3 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing is too much trouble!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A top class hotel in a superb location, close to the domaine and numerous shops and bars. The staff were so welcoming and attentive from the minute we arrived and went out of their way to change my room so that I could be located near to my elderly parents. The room was spacious, cool and quiet with a beautiful view of the domaine. I could see and hear the torchlight procession from my balcony. Room was spotless and cleaning was done around you and your needs. The food was plentiful and delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the hard working team of waiters. God willing I will return! Merci beaucoup!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarveyD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    177
    78
    29
    17
See reviews for
206
132
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I have to say this has to be one if the best hotels in Lourdes! From the minute you check in the high customer service is brilliant! The rooms have AC and this actually helps when you have been on a tour round the pilgrim all day. The restaurant is of great size and the food is sublime!! Not only is the food great but the waiting on staff are there for your needs and are happy to deal with you! I feel the staff's motto is what you want we will get and they certainly do that! The hotel has 5 lifts and this for an ample hotel like it is a god send as certain times in the day they could be busy!!
But I have to Say Francois it's a credit to you and your staff for making my stay so welcoming and might I add Dominique off reception was a great help to a retired bishop who had issues with his phone and she was kind enough to help me with him! So Merci beaucoup Dominique!!
I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VinceMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly. I liked the discount coupon towards some restaurants and shops. The location was near to the grotto, basilicas etc.
We had a triple occupancy room with a loft and bathroom upstairs. The room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet. I only wish that we knew our window was not in a locked position. Strong wind blew the window open and the rain soaked closed that were in our suitcase by the window. Luckily, the bathrooms had heaters which helped dry the clothes.

Room Tip: If there are three occupants to the room ask for a room with a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cizuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel La Solitude a few times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are excellent and the location is second to none. The staff are very friendly and try to facilitate any request - nothing is too much trouble. We choose to stay full board. The food is excellent and served in a spacious restaurant with wonderful views overlooking the river. We have heard the Hotel La Solitude described as the 'best hotel in Lourdes' and in our opinion it certainly is that.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river or the Sanctuary give a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7a_Marion_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a full board basis with a pilgrimage group. Rooms were adequate and clean. The food was good overall. It is not easy to cater for everybody's taste, but they certainly made a decent effort. The grotto was at the end of the street. Hotel staff were very friendly. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Decent Hotel - no worries here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Anyone staying in the Solitude Hotel for the first time would not be aware of how amazing it was to be in this hotel less than a month after the floods devastated some main arteries of this town and took businesses away in the flood waters. I have stayed in this hotel 3 times before on successive pilgrimages to Lourdes. It has a reputation for being one of the best in Lourdes and I am always happy to be back in it. This year, it was truly astonishing to see the place up and running so smoothly despite the awful deluge that brought so much of the town to its knees.
The hotel's air conditioning was not working as it was damaged in the flood, but apart from this, the hotel was running like clockwork and showed the experience of its staff in its smooth running of meals and room cleaning etc. Arrivals and departures at this hotel are handled quickly and efficiently and the routine of feeding busy, hot, hungry pilgrims is a smooth operation for this hotel.
The location is excellent; a 5 minute walk takes you to the shrine gates and as the hotel is set slightly off the road, it exudes an air of calm. From the roof top terrace there are panoramic views of Lourdes and the surrounding Pyrenees. There's a pool which is effectively inside a rooftop conservatory but there is room outside to sit or sunbathe.
The staff are very busy; the restaurant is always nonstop at set mealtimes but yet the staff always managed to serve everyone quickly and kept tables topped up with jugs of water. The food is reasonably good but all requests for alternatives to the set menu were met with quick, friendly service. Most staff have a very good understanding of English and were very helpful.
There is a shop which sells most of what a returning pilgrim probably shops for; medals, rosary beads, candles and a range of religious objects and gifts as well as perfume etc. There is 10% off for guests. This is an advantage for anyone who dreads battling their way through packed streets and shops for the obligatory souvenirs!
The rooms are well cleaned and kept in good order. Televisions are in all rooms (channel 28 is the only English channel) but some rooms have bigger bathrooms than others. Some rooms also have balconies. On booking, you could request both!
There is a sizable foyer and bar area, great for chilling out after meals, or on return from the shrine or town. It is a very sociable area and has a lovely ambience. On hot days, the terrace overlooking the river, with its tables and sun umbrellas just off the main bar, is a great place to retreat and cool off!
There are two plasma TV's in the bar which have sports channels and it was on one of these that we all watched Any Murray win Wimbledon. For any visitor into sport, go to the bar and request a channel. They are very obliging.
The public phones were not working when I was there and I needed to ring home. The reception staff permitted use of another phone and were very helpful. The only criticism I have is that there are some floors more noisy than others and as I am a light sleeper, this has been a problem twice in this hotel, but in each instance, I was moved to a quieter floor. Avoid the 4th floor as this is above the laundry which kicks in at 4am! It also gets the sound of bins being emptied at the same hour! The ground floor is also noisy at night especially when rooms are close to storage cupboards which are also on the 4am shift!
I think that Lourdes is hectic at the height of the pilgrimage season and this hotel is more than well equipped to cope with an endless turnover of huge groups arriving and leaving day and night. It is done smoothly and expertly. I hope to return to Lourdes again and I will be staying in this hotel because it just does everything so well. Big thumbs up to everyone at the Solitude!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and the 4th floor. The 7th and 2nd seem to be the quietest. Request a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rosemary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel La Solitude when in Lourdes with the Galway Diocesan Pilgrimage for many years. I cannot say enough in praise of this hotel. The manager, Francois,has been so helpful and has always accomodated our requests. He is an excellent manager. The welcome we receive when we arrive each year, makes us feel "home away from home". The food is superb with something to suit all tastes. In particular, the buffet, has a wide variety of dishes. A pilgrim told me the day we were leaving, that during his six days stay in the Hotel La Solitude, he didn't need to eat anything outside of the hotel because the food is so good. The restaurant manager (Claudine, I believe), always greeted us with a smile. She too was first-rate at her job. The receptionist, Dominique has always been very helpful and friendly. The staffs' command of the English language also needs to be commended. The rooms were clean and the accomodation staff do a great job. I recommend Hotel La Solitude to anyone visiting Lourdes. It has everything you need e.g. close proximity to the sanctuaries/Grotto, good food, spacious restaurant and bar, swimming pool, shop and with Francois as manager, you cannot but enjoy your stay with all your needs taken care of in a friendly manner. I look forward to our next visit to Hotel La Solitude. Bernie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Property: Hotel La Solitude
Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing