We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay for the food!!!”
Review of Hotel La Solitude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Solitude
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't stay for the food!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in september, Very close to the grotto, thought the room was a very good size for myself and my daughter, Majority of the staff were quite polite and helpful,although the night we arrived when i rang to ask the receptionist if she could explain to me how the air con worked i was told she was a receptionist not an expert on air con!!! Ignorant much?? told that if i still wanted air con tomorrow that maybe someone could have a look. Breakfast was ok,the usual cereal, crossaints etc. Lunch was average, Dinner was woeful! My daughter actually threw up at the table it was that bad, ate out 4 out of 5 days. Would reccomend it if your on a diet but rooms are very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishoc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinuales, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Solitude, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We note that there was probably a misunderstanding with our receptionist, we hope she tactlessly tried to have some humor words. We apologize if her words were not appropriated. Concerning the food, it’s a real challenge to cook for the people coming from all over the world, the taste is so different, but we really try to reach the attempts of our guest; so we keep on making progress and we would appreciate if you could have another experience in La Solitude Hotel to enjoy of course Rooms and Meals also. Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    188
    83
    29
    16
See reviews for
215
145
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this three star hotel for five days in early September. Rooms were small but clean, staff very helpful. Hotel has a nice bar and restaurant with terrace overlooking river. There's a small swimming pool on the roof.

Breakfast was plain but adequate; dinner was sub-par. It was mostly inedible. Soup was never hot enough and had no flavour. Main courses were like works canteen food. For example, dried out fish fillets and greasy chicken breast. The worst was a slice of untoasted bread with a cheese type cover on it, barely warm. We decided to eat out on two of the nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good paella & that super norwegian salad room was not that great but clean 5mins walk to the basilica one tip go for early breakfast as this tends to be busy chaotic when a tour group come in one go baguet runs out gets but messy overall stay was ok

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel alone on a half board basis (other family members were in a nearby hotel). The Solitude staff were welcoming and friendly. The room I booked (with balcony and air conditioning) was spotlessly clean with plenty of room for your clothes etc. I found plenty of choice for breakfast which was served with a decent pot of tea. The quality and portion size of the evening meals was very good.The position of the hotel just off a main street near the sanctuary was excellent. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Lourdes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcestershireMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Being my first trip to Lourdes and as I was hospitalite staff on duty, I was very impressed with this hotel. Check-in was quick and easy and we were directed to our rooms by a member of staff. They reception and bar was lovely, though on a few of the nights there were problems with flies. The hotel staff did their best to get rid of them which was helpful but still quite disgusting. The room was lovely, we had two single beds and a bathroom which was cleaned daily and in good condition. We didn't have the best of views, nor a balcony much to our disappointment but we were out of the hotel a lot of the time due to our duties. It was however, very lovely when we could hear the processions and night time prayers from our room. The continental breakfast was a bit of a disappointment due to there not being much choice and quite bland. To say that hotels in Lourdes are quite expensive anyway, you would expect a bit more at breakfast. Do have to say the orange juice was lovely! Myself and my partner decided to skip breakfast due to being on duty. Furthermore, lunch and dinner was lovely. Cannot fault it. As we had some fussy eaters on our table, we were able to request other things to eat instead of what was on the menu. The location was perfect for us being on duty and being able to get to and from the St. Frai on time... All in all, it is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location and we had a fab time. Would definitley reccommend the hotel and a trip to Lourdes!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellyy201092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

La solitude hotel is a good budget hotel which is near to the sanctuary and souvenir shops.
If you wish to explore Lourdes, walk across the bridge, up the hill to the tourist information centre. The people there are very friendly and helpful. Get Cathy, an English speaking tour guide for your walking tour. Unfortunately this is provided only on Thursdays. A visit to the local market nearby is worthwhile.

On the way uphill, on the left is a very good restaurant, Alexander, serving local cuisine. reservation is needed.

There are only 2 self service laundramats in Lourdes. The nearest to the hotel is behind the square where the tourist information bureau is.

Remember to visit the underground basilica. You'd be amazed by it.

Despite the heat and vast number of pilgrims, Lourdes still retains a serene atmosphere, a place of prayer and thanksgiving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammiKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We are a group of 65 to 75 pilgrims who travel to Lourdes each July for the past ten years, we have some ill pilgrims who we take with us and also some people in wheelchairs. We find the Solitude Hotel is idael for our needs, as the friendly and caring staff go out of their way to to help us in all our requests.We have tried different hotels in Lourdes but we found the Solitude to be the best for groups like ours. Francois and his staff are very professional and caring and go that bit further than most and make your stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Always ask Francois or Cecilia at the front desk what type of room you require and they will bend ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#1 of 185 in Lourdes
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Solitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Solitude

Property: Hotel La Solitude
Address: 3 Passage Sainte Louis | Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Solitude 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the banks of the river Gave at the entrance to the Sanctuaries, the La Solitude Hotel boasts spacious, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms equipped with flat screen satellite TV and free WiFi. 24 rooms have been equipped to welcome disabled people. Its restaurant overlooking the fortified castle serves gourmet cuisine and plentiful buffet-style breakfasts. This international class hotel has a bar, brasserie, heated panoramic pool, spacious meeting rooms, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Solitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Solitude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing