We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lys de Marie
Nearby Hotels
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Regence(Lourdes)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Saint Sauveur(Lourdes)
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roissy(Lourdes)
$92
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alba(Lourdes)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
6
17
11
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
11
8
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 45 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

on the second night staying in the hotel ,there was a floud and some guests' rooms were flouded with water and a woman was taken to hospital. there were fire engines and an ambulance. in the morning after that night the lifts of the hotel werent working. the food wasent good and there werent a lot of quantity.there were staff that pretended that they werent understanding us in english, and were talking to us in french or italian.a small bottle of coke from the restaurant was €2.70 it's too expensive for a 3 star hotel . if i was to come to lourdes agian i wouldn't come to this hotel for sure !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Last year, I went to Lourd in Lys de Marie and I really enjoyed it !
This hotel has something special...it has so excellent service and the hotel is modern too.I think the best service was in food ! with large portions and very neat & presentable resturant...The reception area ara very helpful and the desk is full of information for excursions and other info...I really recommend this hotel! and we are going again in the lys de marie because it is value for money!... ..From Malta

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank guwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We just returned from a 5 day tour to Lourdes. The place is excellent and you really feel in serenity. Hotel Lys de Marie is excellent, nice and clean rooms with tv. Breakfast was good and lunch and dinner with three and four course meal and free jugs of water on the table. Prices of wine and beverages at the restauarant were normal. Waiters gave us excellent service and we can't complain. Thanks to our Spiritual Director Fr. Frankie Bajada and the tour leader Joe from Qrendi for the service they gave us. I want to thank too the management and staff of the hotel for the nice welcome they gave us and for sure if i visit again Lourdes i will choose Hotel Lys de Marie again.




Charles Portelli

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank charlesGozo_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

So, where do we start? Checked in after a red-eye flight. Room was clean but on the small side of small. Think in terms of a double bed stretching from one side of the room to another, with a half-foot shelf on either side acting as a bed-side table. Getting in bed on one side requires a squeeze between the bed and the balcony window.

There is practically no place where you can open or store your luggage. We ended up placing one suitcase underneath the bathroom sink.

The hotel lacks internet facilities, and you don't even get a hairdryer in your room.

Bed is cramped as well, and pillows were insufficient. On the second day we found the laundry locker open, and helped ourselves to a couple.

We had a room overlooking the river, and the view was beautiful. However, with just one chair in the balcony to share between two persons, we couldn't really make the best of it.

Next sore point - the food. We were booked on full-board. (No choice really, it was a package tour organised by Britannia Tours - a local travel agent in Malta. Portions were small. Service staff was indifferently friendly, including a very robotic "enjoy your meal" called out whilst looking at the wall. The only thing that we could have in decent quantities was bread, and we ended up filling ourselves using bread to mop up the gravy in the plates and serving dishes. Anyone fancy an apple or a banana as a dessert?

The cutlery, serving dishes and most of all the salt and pepper cruets were so battered they seemed like they had been dug out of the debris from the Somme Offensive.

Cherry on the cake - one day someone actually left our room unlocked after cleaning it. A pretty scary experience considering that I always travel with some expensive photo gear as well as a laptop! By the way, a neat sign (in French) on the reception desk states that the management is not to be held responsible for any items missing from your room.

Worst threat to your security is the location of the room keys. Common sense would have them located behind the reception desk, but such is the Lys de Marie's faith in people, well they're for all and sundry to help themselves, just by the lift. Am I paranoid or could it be possible for someone to take someone else's key, go to their room and help themselves to anything, then simply walk out of the hotel? I ended up keeping the key with me at all times.

Just how they earned their three stars baffles me...

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MalteseGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

MALTA
1st September,2007
:-) Last week we returned from Lourdes,where we spent 5 days. This was our 11th visit to Lourdes. We always stayed in a different 3-star hotel. These weren't so bad BUT this year we were booked at the LYS DE MARIE HOTEL and we were really satisfied ESPECIALLY at breakfast. In other hotels we were given a scanty breakfast, whereas at the LYS it was an abundant one. This was the same for lunch and dinner served in SILVER SERVICE. The rooms were quite big, when compared with those of other hotels we stayed in. When it came to CLEANLINESS it was EXCELLENT as was the service given. WELL DONE & KEEP IT UP. We hope to make it again next year GOD wants. We send our BEST WISHES to the proprietors, gentle staff and to the very kind and helpful waiter Christoff.
Mr & Mrs E.Teuma

4  Thank Bernardette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews