We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great charm and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne
Ranked #1 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have staying in the Grand Moderne, Lourdes with groups of friends and I cannot rate it high enough! The rooms are specious and well planned (we have some invalids travelling with us and they enjoy the ease of facilities); the restaurant is stunning and the variation is cuisine is well great for our tastes.

The reception team are always very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant team lead by Thierry are first class!

We enjoy our pilgrimage stays in Moderne very much and the owners (Joseph & Lina) have always been thorough, welcoming and gone 'above and beyond' to help satisfy our requests. Each time we visit, we are greeted as family and friends.

I highly recommend this hotel both for groups and private pilgrimages. Best wishes for 2013.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Moderne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is beautiful with lot's of detail. Everything from the Grotto to shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We ate breakfast once in the hotel restaurant and was not worth the money. We had a corner room with balconies off the three full length glass doors. The bathroom is small but clean. For American travelers, you may want to bring wash clothes as French hotels do not provide any. The staff spoke very good english and were attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, corner room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemming6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

TO THE DIRECTORS JOSEPH AND HIS BEAUTIFUL WIFE LEANA, Maitre D Terry and all your fabulous staff.
Our Group of 53 pilgrims ranging in age from 18 months to 86 years,have just returned home after an amazing week in Lourdes. The Hotel staff and the sumptuous surrounding and amazing comforts were the perfect base for our pilgrimage week. The bedrooms so beautifully appointed and the most spacious (I feel) in Lourdes, provided both comfort and luxury after our days enjoying the Sanctuaries. It is literally a stone's throw so the less abled in our group and wheelchair pushers could use their energies to enjoy the Sanctuaries instead of long walks back to our Hotel.
Our compliments go to the Chef who provided us with fantastic meals catering for all our special needs so carefully! Thank you.
THE ONLY COMPLAINT WE HAVE IS WE COULD NOT STAY LONGER THAN OUR FIVE NIGHTS AND WORK AND HOME COMMITMENTS CALLED!!!!! We are already looking forward to coming back in July 2013.
Thank you all for your kindness and care we could not have asked for more! Thank you thank you thank you xxx from all our pilgrims.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front and sides are perfect. ALL ROOMS ARE sound proofed!!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bailliesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful example of a turn of the century hotel that has had enough of the modern ammentities added to make it a comfortable place to stay. Just two blocks from St. Joseph's Gate to the Sanctuary of our Lady of Lourdes, it is surrounded by shops, restaurants and other hotels (Only Paris has more hotels than Lourdes in France). But what made this hotel stand out is its connection to Bernadette Soubirous, who as a child experienced the apparations of mary and latter was made a saint of the Catholic Church. Her ancestors built and operated this hotel as people continued to come to the Grotto and to seek physical and spiritual healing here.

The hotel has a grand spiral staircase for those who want to move faster than the elevators - though that is not a big problem here. The restaurant was excellent - they even had a full dinner available for us when we arrived late. The rooms are spacious by European standards, and if there is any complaint to be had, it is that if you face the street you can pick up the sounds of the people and activities at the Sanctuary - I found that to be a plus.

WiFi worked well here - much better than in Spain or Portugal. Television channels were limited, but that is not why I was here. The lobby is small, relative to the rest of the hotel, so when groups are arriving or leaving, it can be difficlut to navigate.

Room Tip: You really do not need a car here, as the city is very walkable, and parking would be difficult at b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bostonmickey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My 84 year old mother and I just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Grand Hotel Moderne! The hotel is beautiful (like going back in time) and the room was very comfortable! My mother has some difficulty walking and the location of the hotel to the St. Joseph's gate was a comfortable walk from the hotel. The staff, expecially Monika were extremely helpful and professional. I spent a little more so we could have a room with a view of the nightly candelight procession, and Monika gave us a great view! The room was clean and a very nice size with a balcony and was quiet. The bathroom was very well appointed, but could have a better hair drier, however that was a very small thing. We were there at the end of October, so the room was warm and cozy.

Because it was easier for my mom, we had dinner in the hotel on both nights and breakfast on one of the days. Both nights were very good and breakfast was delicious. The dining room is beautiful and the wait staff was very attentive.

We highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable hotel near the shrine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the shrine!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_Traveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Grand Hotel Moderne provides an excellent value for the overall experience. The hotel has been recently renovated and restored such that the common areas (restaurant, lounge, reception, hallways, etc.) retain the flavor of the 1880's yet have all the modern services. Rooms and suites are quiet and have fully modernized facilities. The reception staff, wait staff, chefs and housekeeping staff all go beyond the call of duty to satisfy every request. For example, the chef prepared a special birthday cake with sparklers for one of our party. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the hotel restaurant. You will be able to find staff who speak english, german, italian or spanish. There is a business center with free computer and printer. The hotel provides free candles for the daily evening procession at the shrine.

The Moderne is located immediately adjacent to an entrance to the Lourdes Domain and is easily reached by taxi from either the airport or the train station. The hill town of Lourdes is small enough such that stores, restaurants, museums, and other activities are within easy walking distance but any walk will include an up-hill segment.

Room Tip: Rooms or suites opening on to the balconies overlooking the streets present interesting views of the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Looks great, beds are hard but still comfortable. Food is awful. Location is everything in Lourdes and this hotel is within EASY walking distance of what you came to see: the Grotto. Just returned and I've been to Europe before (much nicer hotels) but I think this is most likely the best you can do there. Bon chance.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are best but I'm unsure if there are actually rooms like this.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
665 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#6 of 185 in Lourdes
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel BELFRY
Grand Hotel BELFRY
#11 of 185 in Lourdes
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Sauveur
Saint Sauveur
#13 of 185 in Lourdes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne

Address: 21 avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100, Lourdes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#3 Family Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Business Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range: $151 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moderne 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the family of Bernadette Soubirous in 1896, the Grand Hotel Moderne combines charm, elegance and comfort and is ideally located at only 50 meters from the sanctuaries. Completely restored in 2008, the hotel has managed to preserve the soul of this extraordinary House while adding a unique touch of elegance and comfort in Lourdes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing