We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne
Ranked #1 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

There are a number of older hotels close to the shrine among the souvenir shops and tourist restaurants to choose from, and this is one of them. The Grand Moderne is the best looking of the bunch and is literally a block away from the entrance to the grounds of the shrine. The standard room was a little small, but very clean and well-equipped, and included a room safe. The premises have the air of a grand hotel of a different era and is a bit worn here and there (such as threadbare carpets on the main staircase) but overall is very attractive. During our visit a number of tour groups were also housed in the hotel, so the lobby was occasionally quite crowded. Breakfast was just average--by the time we sat down for breakfast several tour groups had pretty much depleted the stock of everything and only a few of the items were restocked. There are a fair number of restaurants in the immediate vicinity open for breakfast at less cost, so you may want to consider them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KKSStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    86
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
133
82
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I recently made our annual pilgrimage to Lourdes and decided to try a different hotel. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Moderne and found this to be the perfect location for a visit to the Grotto and the other activities associated with Lourdes. Consistent with the other hotels in Lourdes, the hotel is showing its age and could benefit from a renovation, but it does have the charm of a French country hotel, including a grand wooden staircase that makes charming creaks. Upon learning that the city of Lourdes shuts down for the winter, including the hotels, it is understandable why there are no modern hotels to be found. The hotel staff was amazing, very helpful and accommodating. The food was excellent and plentiful, much better than many of the other restaurants we have dined at and the location is unbeatable. If you are looking for a five star Parisienne hotel, this is not it. But this is definitely a hotel with charm and good value.

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GramgramDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Lourdes during our Tour de France bike trip. The hotel is a pleasant grand dame in the center of town. Our room was clean, spacious, and we had a nice set of french doors that opened on to the street. All amenities were provided. We enjoyed breakfast each morning in a lovely dining room that used table cloths and good silver plate. At night we always enjoyed returning in the evenings to enjoy a drink in the bar. All of the staff were accommodating to us and we left with good memories. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes to make the Lourdes journey.

Room Tip: We had a third floor corner room which had two sets of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropicalParadise888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I traveled recently to Lourdes with my mum and aunt - of course to see the Grotto but also just to take in the Pyrenees and the sights of this gorgeous town. Mum picked Hotel Moderne because it was the closest hotel to the Grotto and my Aunt has difficulty getting places but overall I couldn't have been more impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. It's the most stately hotel in the city, with such old-world charm and history, yet the rooms are modern and recently renovated. The restaurant was always full of Italians - a good sign - and the pasta was AMAZING. I'd go back for sure. The city was a little quiet for my liking but my Mum and Aunt had a brilliant time - we'd recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of Lourdes. Friendly staff and incredible service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've been visiting Lourdes regularly over the last three years and I'm so glad I've discovered this hotel. From the moment you walk in you feel the charm of the hotel...its rich history and personalized service. The decor is old world but all the rooms are new with modern comforts (free high speed WiFi, flat screen TV with international channels etc). The rooms & bathrooms are spacious and clean. The room we have (404) is perfect for my grandmother who can sit on the balcony and watch the candlelight procession at night if she is too tired to join. The location is about as close to the Grotto as you can get, only 1 minute walk to the gate of the Sanctuary, yet the rooms don't seem noisy at all. Very good sleep! The friendly staff all seem to have a genuinely happy air about them... you really feel at home here!

Room Tip: Room 404 is a master suite with 180 degree views of the Esplanade where the candlelight procession t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagne001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just spent 5 nights at this wonderful HOTEL!! Staff were first class, so helpful, worked so hard to please everybody. Bedroom were very spacious and very clean and very comfortable. Thanks you to the wonderful chefs for superb food and making sure my people who needed special diets were well catered for. This really is a jewel of Lourdes. Thank you and look forward to bring many in April. This was my second visit this year and miss you already!!!!! Also as it was so HOT the air onditioning was fantastic. Great nights sleep. Quiet and restful. It truly derserves it's 4 star rating. Staff go out of their way to help and make your stay the BEST!

Travelled with Anam Cara Travel . The whole pilgrimage was brilliant from journey, to itinerary, to care and pilgrims, and HOTEL . Thank you for such a package!.

PS Don't tell anyone, as I don't want it booked in case I cannot get a room!!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the HOTEL would be my preference as I enjoy hearing the torchlight procession...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailliesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Built around 1896 and named Moderne I believe because it was the 1st hotel in Lourdes with electricity. But that was long ago now. The allotted room had some space, and a small balcony, but.. the plug in the bathroom sink remained in the whole visit (and the hotel assistance I called never came), the room had no air con on a hot night, at dinner the bread was forgettable and the meat stew less than forgettable, and at breakfast again the bread was forgettable and the cereal stopped at cornflakes (no muesli).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
Hotel Chapelle et Parc
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne

Property: Grand Hotel Moderne
Address: 21 avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100, Lourdes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#3 Family Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Business Hotel in Lourdes
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moderne 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the family of Bernadette Soubirous in 1896, the Grand Hotel Moderne combines charm, elegance and comfort and is ideally located at only 50 meters from the sanctuaries. Completely restored in 2008, the hotel has managed to preserve the soul of this extraordinary House while adding a unique touch of elegance and comfort in Lourdes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing