We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis in Lourdes”
Review of Hotel de la Vallee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de la Vallee
Ranked #10 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis in Lourdes”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Citotel de la Vallée is a small family run hotel, located in the centre of Lourdes, with spectacular views of the mountains the castle . The grotto, basilica and associated facilities are a pleasant 10-15 minute dander (relaxed walk) away. The rooms at Citotel de la Vallée are clean, comfortable and quiet. Wi-Fi is excellent and the buffet breakfast provides a great start to the day. There is an excellent launderette around the corner.

The welcome contrast between Citotel de la Vallée and the tacky commercial area nearer the Basilicata makes the hotel a beautiful little oasis of tranquility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariposa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    57
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
77
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Although it was tucked away in a sort of side street with a sat nav took us straight there,nevertheless it was still only a short walk to the main areas. We found the staff very friendly and helpful , the restruant was clean and bright ,the meals well presented and tasty.all in all a good all round stay,would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterwebb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel is clean and service is very good. Close to grotto but it's uphill on your way back to the hotel. Taxi is available. Front desk just calls and taxi is there in 5-10 minutes. Breakfast is nice and quite reasonable. I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mals909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We were stunned to see a normal lift with 8 person capacity and a large room with two lounge chairs and still with enough room to dance around. Two good for French standard isn't ???? Separate toilet, excellent clean bathroom room with state of the art accessories like Villeroy & Boch sink and Grohe taps, fluffy white towels but unfortunately plastic shower curtains. Comfortable large & clean bed. Large double glazing window to let the light in & keep the pin drop silence in the room. Downside is poor lighting, no coffee & tea making facility in the room. It's a pity the room comes with two disposable small plastic tumblers. The hotel itself is on a clean and quite road. Walkable distance to the Grotto and the town centre. Mr. Xavier is an excellent host, promptly replied to all our emails, confirming our room requests instantly and directing us to the hotel from the airport . We had a warm welcome on our arrival though we arrived early.The breakfast had good veriety & the restaurant staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and will stay here again on our next visit. We think it's a warm hotel with very good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Location was great friendly staff but the room was not clean bed linen didn't look fresh smelly room even though I booked this in way advance breakfast and dinner was very basic

Room Tip: Make sure the rooms are not damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dancedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
titi012, General Manager at Hotel de la Vallee, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Having checked, we don’t find any information about your stay with us, so we think that your comment might concern an other hotel than ours. All the bed linen is perfectly clean and checked by the room maids; furthermore the rooms are ventilated daily (open windows and continuous mechanical extract ventilation).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Good for pilgrims ,walkers or as an overnight stopover. Peaceful street but still central to restaurants and shops with a municipal lift round the corner which goes down to the area close to the sanctuary. Rooms comfortable and breakfast good value. Car not necessary as good public transport from airport (2 euros) and station. Management extremely helpful and welcoming.
Very convenient to visit the world heritage area of Gavarnie by taking the bus from the station which only costs 2 euros and travelling approx 50k through magnificent scenery up into the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a surprise! Mrs B and I found this hotel by scouting through TripAdvisor and we could not have been happier with it. First off, our room was huge by French standards with a king-sized bed, a full bathroom with a big shower, a work desk, a separate WC, and lots of windows and light. They have indoor parking for a modest charge and a decent restaurant on the first floor.

Location is another plus. While we were in Lourdes for its proximity to the mountains and outdoor activities, the hotel is a short walk to the Grotto and the religious sites. We arrived in early evening and wanted to take a walk so we headed down to the Grotto in time to see, and spontaneously participate in the Candlelight Procession at 9 PM. That is a story and a review in itself that you can find elsewhere.

For the price, you cannot beat this hotel: we recommend it as excellent in its class and we would stay there anytime we return to Lourdes. The staff are friendly and first rate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank TheBrainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lourdes
Ibis Lourdes
#16 of 185 in Lourdes
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Vallee

Property: Hotel de la Vallee
Address: 28 rue des Pyrenees, 65100, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lourdes
#11 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Vallee 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de la Vallee is located in the city center of Lourdes 10 minutes walking from the Sanctuaries and 5 minutes from the historic city center.We have 43 modern rooms with quality bedding, complete bathrooms with bath or shower, satellite TV and Freeview, free WiFi. All our rooms are air conditioned, some with minibar and safe.Private garage attached to the hotel.Buffet breakfast and regional cuisine will be offered during your stay.We are at your disposal for information about visits in Lourdes and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel de la Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel De La Vallee Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing