We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saint Sauveur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Royal(Lourdes)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Agena Hotel(Lourdes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
121
151
70
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
151
70
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationbuy souvenirsoff seasontiny roomstaying at this hotelwifi connectionside entrancebeds were comfortablevisit lourdesmy mumthird floora great place to stayhotel restauranttop floorhamlunch and dinnersanctuary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 371 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel was very close to all the sites in Lourdes. The staff very very friendly and helpful. I have coeliacs disease and can't eat gluten. The staff were very helpful as regards my dietary needs. The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning was very welcome. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Responsable relations clients at Saint Sauveur, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Margaret,
You share your wonderful experience with travellers and we thank you for that. The great location and the way we took care of you, is also the result of our professionalism. Many guests have some specific requirements (diet, gluten free, vegetarian food....) and your stay becomes easy when we respect this essential need. We will be glad to welcome you at any time. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My Mum, her sister and I travelled independently to Lourdes. The taxi from Tarbes, organised by the Hotel, marked the beginning of a happy visit to the Grotto and its surrounding religious places, which are very close by. The beds were comfortable and the food was delicious. We loved that the same table was reserved for us during our stay. Although the rooms were a little dark, everything was cosy, clean and simple. It was lovely to step onto the Juliet balcony through the French doors and watch people on their own pilgrimages from the third floor. The reception staff were very kind and patient. I had to organise a wheelchair for my Mum and they helped me to do it. The hotel was extremely good value and our stay comfortable and secure. I would always return to the Saint Sauveur for future visits to Lourdes and would thoroughly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Saint Sauveur, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Maureen,
Thank you for your review. All the team are at your disposal to make your stay as comfortable as it should be and my team really appreciates your comment. You also appreciate the location, very near of the Sanctuaries, in a flat area, that's also a part of a comfortable stay. We will be happy to welcome you during your next stay in Lourdes. Sincerely Yours. P. Saffores.Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stay in the Saint Saveur each year and always enjoy the wonderful proximity to the Domain surrounding the Grotto. It is one of the closest hotels. I also enjoy the staff, who are polite and helpful. The bar is small, but a nice place to gather at the end of the day and they will give you chips or nuts with your drink. The gift shop in the hotel gives a 10% discount to hotel guests (remember to remindthem at check-out) which usually compensates for the higher prices all of the shops close to the Domain charge. It is easier to buy there than hike up the hill to the shops that charge less. The rooms, however, are beyond basic. The beds and pillows are certainly not terrfic. If you do want nicer rooms, the same owners have the connected hotel, the Panorama, which has been redone and gained another star as a result. Same great location with better rooms at a higher price.

Room Tip: If you sleep with a window open, the rooms at the back of the hotel are over the alley, and there is a garbage truck that comes at about 6 a.m. each morning. Rather noisy!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheletex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Directeur général at Saint Sauveur, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for your fidelity. Every year is a new challenge to satisfy your needs and it's a real pleasure to show that you share your nice experience with other travellers. All my staff will be happy to share with me your compliments. Best regards. P. Saffores. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A hotel very near to Lourdes but the rooms are dark and very,very tiny.I don't like the built of their bathroom , there's a waiter there named Isabelle that needs to be taught about customer service.She just asked us to transfer to another table by dragging the chair of my husband,when my husband stood up,she transferred the bread that my husband is already eating by touching it with her bare hands and placing it on the TABLE without plate,huh.On the table cloth,yes! On the table cloth.Then when some members of our group came in and sat on that same table,she served them first while the 3 of us that s he asked to transfer patiently waiting for our food.When she served our food, she always drop the plate like as if she had something on us.Food is horrible,I won't even feed it to our dog.Room also has a bad smell.

Room Tip: Just don't choose this hotel,period!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Responsable relations clients at Saint Sauveur, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Rosalin,
We regret you did not enjoy your stay. We will remind some processes to the Staff in the Restaurant as well as the promise we've made to Care about our guests. We hope you will want to try again our property in order to show you that your stay could be better than this one. We remain at your disposal. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

we flew to tarbes with tangney tours prior to arrival i had emailed the hotel to request a room that was light as i had remebered the rooms tended to be very dark
we were given a room on 5th floor and the window was larger than the previous rooms we had had so there was a bit more natural light
there were 2 lifts in the hotel
the bedroom was indeed small and the furnishings gave it a dark feeling when i saY DARK I MEAN THE FURNISHINGS were dark in colour but we knew that the rooms on prior visits were small so we knew what to expect
the room was clean and warm we had the heating control to increase the room temp if needed
it was nice to have the bigger window however
we over looked the hotel opposite but we didnt feel it detracted from our privacy as we arrived on bank holiday easter monday and the hotel i dont think had opened for the season it had opened by the time we left

we stayed here for 4 nights all meals inclusive
the staff were efficient and helpful on check in
the room had a safe box easy to operate
there was cupboard for clothing with shelves in no drawers but for our short stay it was ample space for our clothing
there was no overhead central light only lamps or lights over the mirror and one either side of head of beds
we had 2 single beds
the beds were comfortable and the hotel only gave one pillow each
the bathroom had a small bath with a shower you stepped into bath for the shower
there was a wash basin and bidet in the bathroom the bathroom was tiled nicely and the light colour of the tiles gave a nice overall feeling of light in this small bathroom but the size of bathroom was adequate for its function the bath was small i am 5 ft 4 inches and had to sit with legs bent but the bath was nice and the water pressure was strong it filled quickly and was nice and hot
my husband had showers and you had to regulate the water temp by turning the hot and cold taps to get right temp
for our stay the fascilities were satisfactory
the toilet is separate and very tiny room like as in very tiny like you cAN sit and touch all 4 walls around you
no ventilation so could get wiffy if you get my drift but for the purpose of our stay it was ok
as we were not in the room much other than sleep and pop back for a quick drop off of purchases or change of foot ware
the room was cleaned every day and we were given clean towels every day . the bath towers were a bit on the small side but at least they did the job
the restaurant was light airy and looked modern in comparison to the bedrooms
it was on the ground level floor
we were initially recommended this hotel not for the size of the bedrooms but the quality of the food
the breakfast was the usual continental style we had coffe from a coffee machine and it was nice
the resturant staff were all very welcoming friendly smiling and attentive in fact they were excellent
dinner and evening meals are both 4 courses!!!
soup was always the first course served along with french bread or rolls
butter
the soup was homemade and light and lovley
the next course was usually something served on a bed of salad with a dressing it was presented beuatifully at times bordering on a work of art the chef mustve been schooled well in the art of presentation and each meal the courses were all varied and different the food was wonderful and i say this from the heart
the main course the chef again presented then food on the plate beatifully and the taste was fantastic of all then dishes we had
my husband was vegetarian and the staff each lunchtime and evening meal time beofre serving the first course went over the menu and came up with an alternative to meat and fish
yes my husband ate a lote of eggs cheese and salad and vegetables but he was more than happy
the hotel went out of there way to cook him something that he could have like they did nice omlettes with cheese
and they had an alternative soup if the main soup had any meat in it which one day it did
with your meal you had water on the table you could have a bottle of wine which you PURCHASED as an extra and if you didnt drink all the wine the bottle would be waiting there for you on your next main meal .
we went to this hotel during the second week of easter hols and i need to point out there was some noise from the street heard. i am not a light sleeper as my husband is and hand on heart i did not hear any noise at all but he did on a few occasions get woken up by a passing group of youths who were calling out like at 3am
i asked our tour rep who was attentive and came to ask us after our first night if we had experienced any street noise as other guests had complained to her about it
i asked was the street noise all year she sed no easter was especially noisy as was a week in may i didnt ask which week in may but i guess it will be half term week the rest of the year she sed is quite quiet
there is a bar in the hotel and a small coffee shop that sells food and ice cream etc. the staff were lovley
we enjoyed a hot chocolate before we retired to bed
we noticed that the price of say a small bottle of pepsi is vertually same price as a large bottle of pepsi alcohol the same price as soft drinks
2.80 euros
there is supermarket in the street not far from the hotel you go out the main entrance tun left then immediate left again its supermarche it looks like a clothing store the food side is downstairs its a small supermarket but you can get your big bottle of coke or pepsi there cheaper than in the shops close to the hotel
we went on a day trip to givarney which was lovley
it take just over an hour to get there by coach the travel company we went with organised it it cost 20 euros each and well worth the trip
givarnie is beautiful the mountains stunning
there is little church there

there are shops and the goods there are cheaper than lourdes for example i wanted to bring back a pyranese style woolly hat in the hotel and in the surrounding shops they were 14 euros in givarnie the same hats were 3.90 euros

we also went on a trip to bartres this cost 10 euro s each

we had a mass ion the littlre church there and were able to venerate the reliq of st bernadette
there is also a reliq in the little chaple in lourdes situated at the left hand side of the middle level of the rosary basilica the site of the first chapel

we had mass at the grotto in english on 2 occasions and i would hand on heart say mass at the grotto is truely wonderful you have the music from the running waters of the gave the gentle breeze from the wind in the trees and the beurtiful birdsong
you gaze up at the lady statue and just below her on the right whilst we were there there was single deep pink rose just in bud not fully open
whilst we were there we went into the baths

the staff there are wonderful kind and helpful its an amazing place to visit lourdes

Room Tip: email the hotel if travelling with a tour to rquest a room that has more naTURAL LIGHT
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radleyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie L, Responsable relations clients at Saint Sauveur, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to make your stay as comfortable as you could expected. Thanks for sharing your experience, and we are sure that so many details will help travelers to make up their opinion. Hope to welcoming you soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews