We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to sanctuary”
Review of Saint Sauveur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint Sauveur
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to sanctuary”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I visited Lourdes in May 2012 along with few hundred other pilgrims. Some of us stayed at St Sauveur. The hotel is very close to sanctuary. The staff was really good and helpful. We preferred opting for Full board, the food was ok. We were allowed to choose a different desert or cheese or salad if we didn't want to have something that was served as part of the set menu.
The cafe and bar in the restaurant is open till late 11pm- midnight, so we didn't have to step out for coffee or drinks.

The downside of this hotel is that some of the rooms are very dark even after having all the lights switched on. The elevators are too small and during breakfast time we had to queue to use the elevator. One tip would be to use the elevator opposite the souvenir shop, not many people notice this elevator and hence is less crowded.

In my opinion if you do not want to go Full Board, there are some good reasonably priced hotels close by. I would prefer booking into a different hotel as it turns out less expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brinz_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    121
    57
    13
    10
See reviews for
114
69
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Essex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We have stayed here many times as so close to the main sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes.The hotel is very clean and warm in winter and offers good value with offers during the winter when Lourdes is quiet and peaceful.Half board is essential in the winter as most hotels and shops are closed.Many non residents eat at this hotel as it offers fresh,nice food. Open buffet for breakfast,with fresh rolls,croissants,ham,cheese,jams etc,and evening meal 4 set courses, no choice for residents.Restaurant & coffee shop open for meals all day.Rooms are small but spotless with very hot water to bathrooms and fresh towels daily.Our staff were friendly and helpful.Free internet in upper lounge.Yes, in summer when very busy, there are queues for the lift and the hotel could do with a face lift.But I thought people came here on pilgrimage to visit Our Lady and activities associated with Lourdes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akelacookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is very close to the sanctuary. Other than that, it has no redeeming features. The elevators are tiny and inadequate for the number of guests, the staff often rude and unhelpful, the rooms are small and ours very badly laid out, the food whilst copious is not good.
The hotel is simply not "managed". The staff are permanently harrassed and do their best to ensure that you, as the guest - and of course paying customer! - are in their way
To be avoided!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verdut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the third time I stayed at this hotel with my family on our pilgrimage to Lourdes. It is always nice to come back to Hotel Saint Sauveur. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and they also serve a good breakfast.

The location of the hotel is excellent; it is just in front of the Shrine of Our Lady. I recommend it to any one who wants to have a peaceful time indulging in prayer and meditation

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conan152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed here as planned accomodation had unexpectedly closeed. Great location near sanctuary. Staff exceptionally friendly and healthy. Good choice of restaurants. Rooms clean. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle196904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This Hotel is the ideal place to stay if you are visiting Lourdes.
It is so close to the Domain and all the wonderful shops in Lourdes.
The hotel rooms are on the small but on our trip we only were in the rooms to sleep!
The lifts are on the small size and they can take forever to travel between floors and ground floor - we had great fun calling both lifts and run to which ever one turned up first.
the food was ok and of course as usual in Lourdes there was far too much - 3 courses for lunch and 4 course in an evening. The service was very good and all the food came out at the right temperture.
The breakfast was buffet style and there was a lot more choice than in some hotels in Lourdes.
Another good thing about this hotle is that it has is own ice cream parlour and so we were able to get anything to eat or drink throught the day.
I would recommedn this hotel to anyone who is interested in staying in Lourdes whether it individuals, small or large groups.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lou478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Last November I went to Lourdes and spent some days in Saint Sauveur Hotel. The hotel is simple and comfortable, clean and organized. The building must be antique, but it is well conserved. I and my group didn’t have the opportunity to have lunch there, but the other meals were satisfactory. The rooms are quite small but I and my partner could accommodate there without problems. A detail about the rooms is the color of the walls, which makes the area a little dark and sad. And gives the sensation of an even smaller room. The hotel has an interesting store, were you can buy souvenirs and many other things you may need, as coats and suitcases. Lourdes in November has a very cold weather, but we could be well protected in the hotel. I couldn’t see entertaining areas/activities or pools in Saint Sauveur, but as I went there as a pilgrim and without children, I really didn’t miss that. Honestly, I don’t know what to say about prices, because everything was included in the package tour. Without doubt, the better point about Saint Sauveur is its location, very close to the grotto area. We can get there walking easily. Summarizing, I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sobrinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#5 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Sauveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Sauveur

Property: Saint Sauveur
Address: 9 Rue Saint Marie, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Sauveur 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Hôtel Saint-Sauveur is a contemporary hotel located in the vicinity of the Shrines. Its rooms are air-conditioned, cosily decorated, comfortable and modern and equipped with satellite TV, free WiFi, hairdryers and safes. The restaurant serves quality international cuisine and buffet-style breakfasts. Famed for the welcome afforded by its personnel, the hotel also has a brasserie, a bar, a tea & ice cream room, a store and car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Saint Sauveur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Sauveur Hotel Lourdes
Saint Saveur Lourdes
Saint Saveur Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing