We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine de Merete - Le Gite
Ranked #3 of 20 Lourdes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2013

From the moment the gates opened to the far too soon departure it was like being home. Merete and Jean Jaques are magnificent hosts. The amenities, cleanliness, and spaciousness of the rooms are non pareil. However it is the warmth and friendliness of Merete and Jean Jaques that made our stay memorable.
The tips on getting in and out of town were terrific but the best part of our stay was our late evening and breakfast time chats with Merete and Jean Jaques getting to know eachother and sharing a bit of our lives in warm relaxed setting. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Since our first review of Domaine de Merete in October 2012 we have since been back twice (mid Sept 2013 and mid Oct 2013). There are a lot of accommodation options in Lourdes but our experience last year ensured that we would return to Domaine de Merete. We are very happy to report that the same excellent standards pertain in this peaceful haven in Lourdes.
In conversation with fellow guests on both of our recent visits we noted that a number of them were 'returned' guests, always a very positive indicator. The willingness, effort and dedication of Merete and Jean-Jacques in welcoming and in facilitating guests needs characterises Domaine de Merete for us.

Michael and May Gannon,
Newbridge, Co Kildare
Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GannonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What was initially booked as a stopover night on our way through, quickly became one of the highlights of our holiday. Such a breath of fresh air, after a hectic schedule.

Merete and Jean Jacques make you feel at home, like one of the family, within minutes of your arrival. They welcomed our three young children (8, 7,5) with open arms and treated us like family. Merete's warmth and hospitality combined with an extraordinary knowledge of languages, created a most beautiful atmosphere in the house. A scrumptious dinner was shared with people from various language backgrounds, and we just loved spending time with people and appreciated everything Merete and Jean Jacques did to include us. We still often talk about our wonderful dinner and the fabulous dinnertime ambience.

The family suite had ample room for five people. The rooms were comfortable but honestly, the charm of this place far surpasses the comfit level of the bed or the cleanliness of the lovely warm showers. The farm animals, pool and jacuzzi (we weren't brave enough in the cool rain!), surrounding walks and semi-rural location added to the appeal.

Thanks so much Merete, we're hoping to return one day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie_K44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Merete and her husband Jean Jacques are the perfect hosts. Jean Jacques cooks a superb dinner and Merete cannot do enough to make your stay as good as it possibly could be. She even came to fetch us when we were lost trying to find the place on the first night. Several times she gave us a lift to wherever we wanted. We can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank Carol840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location is one thing, the quality of the accommodation is another, but nothing can surpass the welcoming and inclusive atmosphere of Domaine Merete. Run by Merete and her partner Jean-Jaques this is by far the warmest and most welcoming B&B we have stayed in anywhere in the world. It didn't take us long to decide to eat each one of our 4 evening meals at Merete's. we were charmed by her warmth and caring approach to her guests and beguiled by the splendour of the food, all Cooked by Jean-Jaques. Most nights we were accompanied by other guests, mainly French or from Belgium, giving me (or forcing me) to practice my not so good French. My wife does not speak French but Merete was always careful to sit us next to people who had some English. Each morning Merete would give us detailed advice on places to visit and the best way to get there.
Situated on the outskirts of Lourdes Domaine Merete stands on a large property where somehow the two of the find time to look after horses, dogs, cats and many other farm animals. This is a perfect setting from which to visit the beautiful attractions of Lourdes and the Pyrenees.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidPAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were so fortunate to have a little stop over on this great B&B on over way over the Pyrinees in June. The property is very ince and includes a pool and a jacuzzi (although we unfortunately didn't have time to use it), and there is a lot of animals on site. The room was nice and spacious and it's well situated just outside Lourdes.

The hosts Merete and Jean-Jacques are very friendly and we were also invited to join them and some of the other guests to dinner in the evening, an experience we would recommend to everyone, although we were a bit anxious about possible language barriers before going. Not to worry however as Merete speaks enough languages to keep everyone entertained and the food was also great.

The only negative I can come to think of was that the WLAN didn't work in our room, but then again we also forgot to tell them this before we left as we spent so little time in our room, so that might just have be a one time thing.

Unfortunately we could only stay for a day, but if we are in the area again we would definately pay them another visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Occasionally you come across a good hotel which you would definitely like to return again. More rarely you stay at somewhere you do not want to leave and where you know you will always be welcome, not just as another paying guest, but as someone who can expect a personal welcome every time and made to feel part of the family. Merete and Jean Jacques provide a personal service second to none. This includes wonderful food and beautiful surroundings and help when you need it. As mentioned in other reviews this is never intrusive. What is especially pleasurable for us is to share this experience with the other guests which enhances our overall enjoyment and made the experience even more memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merete Christel G, Propriétaire at Domaine de Merete - Le Gite, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful appreciation on TripAdvisor. We are very touched by your words and you made us very very happy,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
684 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa l'Orante
Villa l'Orante
#1 of 20 in Lourdes
51 reviews
1.8 mi away
Anousta Chambres et Table d'Hotes a la Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Au Berceau De Bernadette
1.3 mi away
Au Pied Du Chateau
Au Pied Du Chateau
#10 of 20 in Lourdes
58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residences les Marquises
Residences les Marquises
#2 of 3 in Aspin-en-Lavedan
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Merete - Le Gite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Merete - Le Gite

Address: 28 avenue Jean Prat, 65100, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lourdes
Price Range: $231 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Merete - Le Gite 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottage is located just two kilometers from the Sanctuary, in 7 hectares of meadows and woods, surrounded by horses. Free parking and wifi. 4 double rooms with each their own shower and toilets, including 2 disabled access, wheelchairs aswell . Fully equiped kitchen, living-room with fire-place and television. Big terrace. Outdoor spa bath available all year and prive swimming pool available from june till september. Quiet and relaxing. Possibility to add massage or detox to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domaine de Merete - Le Gite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing