We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true”
Review of Detours Pyreneens

Detours Pyreneens
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deeply proud and attached to our region, strongly marked by a Pyrenean nature, we are a family run company that aims to help you discover the treasures of Lourdes and our beautiful Pyrenees. We've created a diversified range of excursions, we can arrange your transfers, and tours on request or organize your travels for personal, business or associative reasons.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream come true”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were so lucky on our tour to the Pic du Midi. First of all, our wonderful guide Veronique picked us up from our accommodation, to start our long awaited visit to the Pic du Midi. She was very informative and passionate about the area and the sights. The views from the Pic, and the weather, were outstanding. It was a dream come true. Thanks Veronique for a perfect day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maleeandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great day tour”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I took a day tour to the Pic du Midi-Bigorre. Veronique was absolutely fanstatic. We had a great time. The Pic du Midi was amazing and helped all the more by Veronique's local knowledge.

I will happily recommend Detours Pyreneens to anyone!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two bookings in Lourdes”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful experience with Detours Pyreneens Lourdes. Veronique is very prompt in replying messages and can converse well in English. We made two bookings with her (on very short notice. Very lucky of us) slightly more than a week ago.

She was very accommodating and took initiative to offer alternatives (which includes giving us information about train departures). In the end, we went with a customised tour for our second booking.

1. Guided day tour to Gavarnie and Cauterets-Pont d’Espagne (pick up and drop off in Lourdes)

2. Drive from Lourdes to Barcelona (with a stopover in Carcassonne for 2 hrs as per our request)

Very comfortable car ride as both her dad and her drive well. Do note that she sticks strictly to her schedule. She's prompt in her pick ups and also expects you to follow her timing. Definitely recommended for people travelling in bigger groups as this is so much more convenient and economical. Worth paying a little more for the comfort and convenience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Propriétaire at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Lindsy and family,
Thank you for having taken a bit of your time to write about both your bookings with us. It is true that you booking have been arranged on very short notice, but luckily you were visiting us in the low season, which offers us more flexibility compared to the high season!
We are happy to hear that your family had a great time touring the Pyrenees and visiting Carcassonne. We are also glad to know that you felt comfortable during our drives.
It is true that sticking the schedule is something important, even more when it comes to tight timing like it was the case for your booking, especially for the very long day of our drive from Lourdes to Barcelona which included the stopover in Carcassonne.
We hope you had a great time visiting Barcelona and thank you again for your booking and this very kind review.
All the best,
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked Detours Pyrenees a month or so ahead of time to transfer us from Hotel Atlantic in Lourdes to Pau Airport for our flight back to Paris. Or so I thought... This was back in early October 2013. It turned out that we did not confirm the reservation so when we called on the day that we checked out, we were surprised to learn that we were not in their system.

Fortunately, Veronique still managed to accommodate us and showed up promptly at our hotel at 1 pm. We were a little late coming back from lunch, but the hotel owners and Veronique were thoughtful enough to load our luggage, which we had left at the front desk.

The 45-minute drive itself from Lourdes to Pau was pleasant and seemed to take no time, thanks to the interesting conversation (in English!) with Veronique and the interesting information she shared about the Pyrenees.

If we have another opportunity to visit this lovely part of France, we would not have any second thoughts about hiring Detours Pyrenees to explore the other wonders that this place has to offer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank secnd2nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Gérant at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Alex, Belina & Justin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travellers of Trip Advisor!
It was a pleasure meeting you and driving you from your hotel in Lourdes to the Pau Airport.
We are looking forward to your next trip to the Pyrenees, and we will be happy to help you to make the most of your time in our mountains.
All the best for your family.
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Guided Tour of Gavarnie, Lourdes, Biarritz”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We used Detours Pyrenees to take three day trips around the Pyrenees region during our stay in Saint Savin. The did a wonderful job at providing customized sightseeing tours to the locations we requested and everything was perfect. In fact the tours exceeded our expectations! Originally we were just looking for help getting to different locations without driving, but the guided tours made the visits so much more enjoyable! Veronique is a fantastic guide and she knows how to make sure the logistics run smoothly and she also points out interesting details. For instance, I never would have noticed the Braille paintings at Lourdes. Also, she took us to places that she knew would interest us, such as a fancy patisserie shop in Biarritz. Each day tour was truly a highlight of our vacation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Gérant at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We've been happy to help you to plan your stay in Saint Savin by arranging your visit to Lourdes and your tours to Gavarnie and Biarritz. I still remember how strong were the waves ont that day. Amazing!
We're glad that you enjoyed having a tea at Miremont pâtisserie as well as having lunch at the Hôtel du Palais in Biarritz.
Maybe we'll see you again for a next visit to France or Spain!
Warm regards.
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detours Pyreneens also viewed

Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Detours Pyreneens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing