We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Detours Pyreneens

Detours Pyreneens
Ranked #1 of 3 Transportation in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deeply proud and attached to our region, strongly marked by a Pyrenean nature, we are a family run company that aims to help you discover the treasures of Lourdes and our beautiful Pyrenees. We've created a diversified range of excursions, we can arrange your transfers, and tours on request or organize your travels for personal, business or associative reasons.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked Detours Pyrenees a month or so ahead of time to transfer us from Hotel Atlantic in Lourdes to Pau Airport for our flight back to Paris. Or so I thought... This was back in early October 2013. It turned out that we did not confirm the reservation so when we called on the day that we checked out, we were surprised to learn that we were not in their system.

Fortunately, Veronique still managed to accommodate us and showed up promptly at our hotel at 1 pm. We were a little late coming back from lunch, but the hotel owners and Veronique were thoughtful enough to load our luggage, which we had left at the front desk.

The 45-minute drive itself from Lourdes to Pau was pleasant and seemed to take no time, thanks to the interesting conversation (in English!) with Veronique and the interesting information she shared about the Pyrenees.

If we have another opportunity to visit this lovely part of France, we would not have any second thoughts about hiring Detours Pyrenees to explore the other wonders that this place has to offer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank secnd2nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Gérant at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Alex, Belina & Justin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travellers of Trip Advisor!
It was a pleasure meeting you and driving you from your hotel in Lourdes to the Pau Airport.
We are looking forward to your next trip to the Pyrenees, and we will be happy to help you to make the most of your time in our mountains.
All the best for your family.
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Guided Tour of Gavarnie, Lourdes, Biarritz”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We used Detours Pyrenees to take three day trips around the Pyrenees region during our stay in Saint Savin. The did a wonderful job at providing customized sightseeing tours to the locations we requested and everything was perfect. In fact the tours exceeded our expectations! Originally we were just looking for help getting to different locations without driving, but the guided tours made the visits so much more enjoyable! Veronique is a fantastic guide and she knows how to make sure the logistics run smoothly and she also points out interesting details. For instance, I never would have noticed the Braille paintings at Lourdes. Also, she took us to places that she knew would interest us, such as a fancy patisserie shop in Biarritz. Each day tour was truly a highlight of our vacation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Gérant at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We've been happy to help you to plan your stay in Saint Savin by arranging your visit to Lourdes and your tours to Gavarnie and Biarritz. I still remember how strong were the waves ont that day. Amazing!
We're glad that you enjoyed having a tea at Miremont pâtisserie as well as having lunch at the Hôtel du Palais in Biarritz.
Maybe we'll see you again for a next visit to France or Spain!
Warm regards.
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“professionalism at it best”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

we are so glad we made a booking with Detours Pyreneens. they are very professional and friendly. I would strongly recommend their service to anyone who wish to explore Pyreneens and Lourdes. every penny we spent was worth it.

we did not feel we are in a strange place because of their friendly and warm nature. we had so much fun and it was a life time experience.

this company is very reliable and professional. they are just too good at what they are doing.

Once again thank you so much Veronique and Christian. you guys are doing a great Job keep it up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DimuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

booked at the last minute after having been let down by another operator - thank goodness for this company. We were collected at Toulouse airport exactly as promised and driven with great skill to our hotel in Lourdes. At the end of the pilgrimage we were collected at 4.30 am and driven back to Toulouse.

For reliability and peace of mind this is the company to use.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank veryfinelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Propriétaire at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Dorothy,
Many thanks for your kind review. I was delighted to read that you were happy with our services.
It has been my pleasure to arrange your transfer from Toulouse airport to your hotel and Lourdes and your transfer back to the airport. My father was happy to drive meet you at Toulouse airport and take you to Lourdes. It is true that you had to get up really early the day of your transfer back to the airport but never mind, the important is that you arrived on time for your flight!
We would be happy to provide you our services again in the future; that would give me the opportunity to meet you in person.
Thank you for your trust in us.
Véronique & Christian
Détours Pyrénéens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly, professional and reliable”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose Detours Pyreneens because we had read many good reviews about them in Tripadvisor. We were not at all disappointed. Our time with Veronique and her father Christian was great fun and Veronique was easy to converse with. Not only does she speak fluent English but she is also warm, friendly, and interested in all topics of conversation. Christian, who drove us, is reliable and a safe driver. Although initially quiet as he does not speak English, we realised he was knowledgeable about a lot of things after Veronique translated our conversation to him. Although San Sebastian is a beautiful town, the trip was made all the more enjoyable because of Veronique and Christian. Because of their enthusiasm, we too fell in love with the Basque region. We have recommended Detours Pyreneens to our friends and would love to engage them again when we are next in South of France. To Veronique and Christian, a big thank you and wishing you all the best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronique A, Gérant at Detours Pyreneens, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sharon,
Thank you so much for sharing, in your turn, your experience with other travellers, in your turn. We are so glad that you had a great experience touring the Basque Country, especially visiting San Sebastián and Biarritz. We had a great time with you both and it was highly interresting not only to talk about tourism, culture and heritage in both France and Spain but also to converse about current life situation in your country and ours, and chatting about politics, cinema and music. We have a great chance of doing this job!
Thanks again for your very kind review and see you soon in Southern France!
Véronique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detours Pyreneens also viewed

Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Detours Pyreneens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing