We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay in Lourdes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alba
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Wilts.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in Lourdes”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at the Alba as part of the International Military Pilgrimage last week. The whole experience was amazing. Lourdes is a beautiful place, very spiritual and emotive. in spite of so many people being in one place there was nothing but friendliness and helpfulness displayed by everyone we met.

The Alba is a good 3 star hotel. We took my elderly , wheelchair bound father with us and, as the room originally allocated to him was unsuitable (shower in the bath etc) they immediately reorganised things, in spite of the hotel being full, to give him a more suitable room. In the end his room was nicer than ours!

The rooms are pretty standard for this type of hotel, but the beds are comfy and the food is excellent (full board is a must, in my opinion, as Lourdes is very expensive). On one occasion though we were offered brunch instead of breakfast and lunch. This is not a good option because the brunch is pretty much the same as breakfast, just served later, so I would recommend you to pass on that. The aircon wasn't working too well in our room, which was a disappointment as the weather was very warm, but the staff were always pleasant and helpful and spoke good english.

I think the hotel is well placed location-wise. It's a bit away from the centre of things, but not too far to walk and is much quieter (Lourdes never seems to sleep!) I'm sure it would be impossible to sleep in a hotel in the middle of the town.

I would return if I went back again and would be happy to recommend The Alba to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    52
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
36
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
heckmonddwike
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I have visited lourdes 17 times in the past six years, I have stayed at the Alba each time, From my very fist stay until my last i have never found anything to complain about, The standard has been constant . The Manager Phillipe Hernalsteen and all his staff cannot do enough for you, The all go out of their way to make sure you stay is memorable, The restaurant is exellent with a good variety to suit everyone, The rooms and all reception areas are spotlessly clean to a very high standard, I will be travel to Lourdes at least twice in 2010 and will definatley be staying at the Alba. If you are looking for a hotel in Lourdes i certainly recommend The Alba, You will not be disappointed.
Roger
Holy spirit RC Church
Heckmondwike
England

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Great location, only a ten minute walk to the grotto. The staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The food was great, they catered for all our needs with a variety of different foods. This is my third time in this hotel and will be planning to return next year. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebrough
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Excellent food, very close to grotto all rooms are clean and large, staff are helpful. Lovely atmosphere and contrary to popular belief there is no pool it was shut down many years ago. however was a very pleasant hotel worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I have been to Lourdes many times, and I find that the Hotel Alba is one of the best, if not the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. It is immaculately clean and well presented. The staff are very warm and friendly and do their best to help you out. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the Domain and the Rooms are well cleaned. If you want a good hotel, here it is

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ_Lowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed at this hotel when we visited Lourdes, it is about 10 min walk away from the sancturies but the plus side of this is their is a shuttle bus that costs 1 e and it is a lot quiter
than staying near to the sancturies. The rooms are bright and very modern, the staff speke good english and are helpfull, the food is good quallity and plentifull, i liked staying in this hotel as it also has a garden and nice views of the mountains

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oasisdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Stayed there for a week from 27 june a party of us from yorkshire. the hotel was wounderful the staff could not do anymore to make you feel so welcome .with great food . it was TRES BIEN so if you are going there you are in for a treat
lily fletcher from wakefield .

  • Liked — everthing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lucythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
0.6 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#14 of 185 in Lourdes
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 185 in Lourdes
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#23 of 185 in Lourdes
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba

Property: Hotel Alba
Address: 27 avenue du Paradis, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#14 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alba Lourdes
Alba Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing