We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going back to the alba and can.t wait”
Review of Hotel Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alba
Ranked #19 of 185 Hotels in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“going back to the alba and can.t wait”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This year will be our 11th visit to Lourdes and we always stay at the alba . It is a pleasant 10 min walk to the domain (pushing my daughters wheelchair) and is on more or less level ground.The rooms are immaculate,the staff very friendly and helpful,and the food good and plentiful. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mammeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    55
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
40
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The staff was lovely , service was brilliant. The Rooms were spotless maids came in and cleaned them everyday. Lovely bar and restraunt , The food was lovely , they catour for both vegitarien and non vegitarien.
Everyroom has a nice view , If your room is at the front of the hotel you will have the view of the river wich run's through all of the town, if your are at the back of the hotel your view will be of the mountains.
Some rooms are acomerdated ith balconeys, Soom rooms have an upstairs , bathroom's are very clean and newly ferbished.
Its a 10 minute walk to the main part of lourdes were the church is, shops are very cheap but good quality.
Overall I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed in Lourdes as part of a trip in Northern Spain and took the opportunity to cross the Pyrenees and visit Lourdes.
As we had some trouble finding a hotel at the time we wanted, and with parking, we stayed at the Hotel Alba.
This is a basic hotel with rooms that are quite small, but comfortable and reasonably priced.
However, we do not regret making the detour as the visit to Lourdes is a must-do experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were extremely happy with this hotel, very clean, comfortable, great location, only a ten minute walk to the grotto. Free wi fi. The staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. There is a beautiful piety shop in the main enterance, and we were very impressed with the staff, who went out of their way to help us and organise a parcel to be sent back to Perth Western Australia. The food was great, I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbybranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Poor standard of room, with a noisy toilet that woke us up several times in the night. Very basic room, only one plug socket working; in the bathroom!
Breakfast was terrible! We paid 16 Euro for a stale croissant and half a french stick, which was also stale.
Wouldn't touch with a barge pole!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ESHMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have just come back from my sixth visit to Lourdes, and my first time to stay in The Alba. It is the best hotel I have stayed in here and the only one where I didn't have to supplement the menu with expensive eat outs. They really make an effort to feed you and make you feel at home. The staff couldn't do enough to help you indeed, and the only small quibble is that room service left me with no towels one evening. They were so gracious in putting the situation right, and the one hand towel delivered to my door was I know a case of lost in translation! The rooms were basic but comfy and pleasantly peaceful. I recommend The Alba, you will be made to feel right at home.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasidedg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wilts.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at the Alba as part of the International Military Pilgrimage last week. The whole experience was amazing. Lourdes is a beautiful place, very spiritual and emotive. in spite of so many people being in one place there was nothing but friendliness and helpfulness displayed by everyone we met.

The Alba is a good 3 star hotel. We took my elderly , wheelchair bound father with us and, as the room originally allocated to him was unsuitable (shower in the bath etc) they immediately reorganised things, in spite of the hotel being full, to give him a more suitable room. In the end his room was nicer than ours!

The rooms are pretty standard for this type of hotel, but the beds are comfy and the food is excellent (full board is a must, in my opinion, as Lourdes is very expensive). On one occasion though we were offered brunch instead of breakfast and lunch. This is not a good option because the brunch is pretty much the same as breakfast, just served later, so I would recommend you to pass on that. The aircon wasn't working too well in our room, which was a disappointment as the weather was very warm, but the staff were always pleasant and helpful and spoke good english.

I think the hotel is well placed location-wise. It's a bit away from the centre of things, but not too far to walk and is much quieter (Lourdes never seems to sleep!) I'm sure it would be impossible to sleep in a hotel in the middle of the town.

I would return if I went back again and would be happy to recommend The Alba to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#2 of 185 in Lourdes
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roissy
Hotel Roissy
#15 of 185 in Lourdes
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#4 of 185 in Lourdes
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#11 of 185 in Lourdes
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#3 of 185 in Lourdes
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel BeauSejour Lourdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba

Property: Hotel Alba
Address: 27 avenue du Paradis, 65103, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#14 Family Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alba Lourdes
Alba Hotel Lourdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing