We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilgramage”

Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Lourdes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pilgramage”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

As a Catholic the pilgrimage here was a must from living in Italy. The experience and atmosphere is peaceful. Having a chance to see the grotto was an unforgettable experience.

Helpful?
Thank CruzyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,473
    542
    142
    26
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deep Spirituality”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a place for prayers and belief in one's religion and of the Virgin Mary and Sainte Bernadette. No words can describe how one feels when in the Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes. You should go and experience for yourself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“a Holy place - good for our soul :)”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A visit to this place is like a visit to a Holy Place with quiet and peaceful surroundings, clean environment, lovely garden, flowing river, churches, chapels and genuine people.

What to do inside?
1ST: attend Mass
schedules are written at the entrance gate of the Sanctuary. you can celebrate Mass at the different Churches/Chapels inside or you may choose to celebrate Mass at the Grotto.
Rosary and Angelus are also done at the Grotto.
After which, people fall in line to walk a little closer and touch the rocks of the Grotto.

2ND: drink the Grotto’s water
people here bring gallons and huge containers to get their drinking water. since the Grotto water is FREE and OPEN to all, everyone who resides in the place are getting their drinking waters here.

3RD: light a candle
you may choose from different huge size of candles, whichever you prefer. how to pay for it?
there are no cashiers here, just coin containers. Lourdes gives you the chance to be HONEST.

4TH: have a Bath of the Grotto’s water
check the schedule of the opening of the Baths and fall in line outside. (men and women’s baths are separated)
once you have your turn, get inside and enter the curtain.
then, get naked. Yes - get naked.
this was the hardest part for me. i was having a hard time removing everything. i was taking it very slow while i watch how everyone was doing this hurriedly.
once naked, you will be covered by the ladies/aids.
then, they will remove the cover and ask you to pray as they slowly plunged you into the tub except for your head.
the water in the tub is from the Grotto. (yes, its holy but very cold)
since i was really uncomfortable, i was not able to concentrate and pray. sorry.

5TH: enjoy the view and reflect at this quiet place.
Sanctuary is such a tranquil and relaxing place and every person here is genuinely kind. :)
a great place for those who wants quietness, relaxation, safety, simplicity and pilgrimage.

as for us, Our Lady of Lourdes is very close to our hearts. :)
Thank you Lord for this chance. :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank msCharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
“Visit to Lourdes”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Sanctuary at Lourdes was serene, quiet and very inspiring. It made one feel closer to God. The Bath was a real experience and a MUST GO for all who visit Lourdes. We stayed at The Panorama Hotel and is the ideal location with very warm, friendly and helpful staff. What I would like to see are more direct flights from Europe to Lourdes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RommelValles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lourdes France”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

One of the most beautiful places to visit and retire. You have a lot of natural places to visit. A very peaceful place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes also viewed

Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
Lourdes, Hautes-Pyrenees
 

Been to Sanctuary of Our Lady of Lourdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing