We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Calvaire-Capri

Hotel Calvaire-Capri
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Calvaire-Capri
Ranked #53 of 193 Hotels in Lourdes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We decided to stay here mainly based on previous reviewers and I'm glad we did.
The accommodation although basic is comfortable, clean and very good value for money.
The location is superb - less than 5 minutes walk to the Sanctuary and in an area with lots of other hotels and guest-houses, so it never felt unsafe.

There is a car parking area about a 5 minute walk away which is free - we left our car there for a full 3 days, so we saved a fair bit of money in car parking fees. Alternatively, there are parking bays right outside the hotel and down most of the streets nearby - these were pay meters and were time-restricted.

Breakfast was continental and consisted of tea/coffee, croissant, baguette, orange juice, fruit and yogurts. For the price, having breakfast included was an even bigger bonus.

We booked a double room and ended up on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard. These rooms are quieter as the others face the street (the hotel is located on a side street, not a busy main road). However, our room was next to the lift, which we could hear when it was in operation. Our room was made up of 2 single beds pushed together (so nice and roomy) and a separate single bed (so a triple room really). It was spacious enough and clean. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a stand-up shower. The only minor gripe was the bed that my husband slept on was very creaky.

I borrowed a hairdryer, kettle, cups and extra pillows without any trouble or cost.
The woman and man running the hotel (I can only assume they were Laura and Peter as they never introduced themselves to us) were friendly, helpful and informative.

We didn't eat any dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on that.
There was free wi-fi in the lounge area - another added bonus

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay very close to the Sanctuary, in accommodation that is clean, comfortable, friendly and great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location hop skip and jump into the basilica complex. Simple yet extremely clean hotel that offers you the basic requirements with all it's warmth.
This hotel completed our pilgrimage by offering all the warmth and valuable information. The hotel could do with a bit of mordenisation but nothing such that you would find amiss. Laura and Peter are amazing and make outstanding hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunillobo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel on half-board. Laura & Peter who run the hotel are wonderful. We were well taken care of. Hotel Calvaire is a simple, basic and clean hotel. Proximity to the sanctuary is an added bonus. As mentioned by previous reviewers, go for half-board as it saves you time from having to look for places to eat. It allowed us to have a leisurely dinner and then get ready for the night procession. The dinners were tasty and well-cooked. We had a good stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel. Laura will share with you her walking miracle!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carollle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and were well taken care by Laura and Peter. They gave us good breakfast and dinner, shared with us in detailed the little things to do in Lourdes.. It has been a pleasant stay. Will return if we visit Lourdes again..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

an excellent place to be if you are visiting Lourdes and want to be in 2 stars hotel. old hotel but very charming, rooms are very simple and very clean , couple of minutes walking distance from the sanctuary and from the grotto. we have been twice already and we are looking to return again there. run by the sweetest couple we ever met , we were on Half board basis which i suggest to everyone who wants to stay there.

Room Tip: rooms on the courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiahayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My family was staying in another hotel but had breakfast here once. Breakfast was delicious - we liked the sausages n omelette.

The owners Laura n Pete were very friendly n helpful and allowed us to view one of their family rooms. It is sufficient and comfortable enough for a family of four - outer room with 2 single beds and a private bedroom with a double bed n a walk-in closet. Bathroom spacious n clean. Overall very clean !!

And considering how close it is to the sanctuary the price is a real bargain !!

Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molly_thong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote D'Azur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a clean, comfortable two/three star hotel. It is well located a few minutes walk from the sanctuaries. There is a lift for the disabled. But the real stars are Peter and Laura who run the hotel. They make you feel thoroughly welcome and are kind and thoughtful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Lourdes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WLTONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duchesse Anne
Hotel Duchesse Anne
#114 of 193 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saint Clair Hotel
Saint Clair Hotel
#45 of 193 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Angelic - Myriam
Hotel Angelic - Myriam
#31 of 193 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#76 of 193 in Lourdes
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Louvre Vincenette Hotel
Le Louvre Vincenette Hotel
#90 of 193 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#95 of 193 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calvaire-Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calvaire-Capri

Property: Hotel Calvaire-Capri
Address: 9 rue du Calvaire, 65100, Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 193 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Calvaire-Capri 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Calvaire-Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing