We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lucky Find!”
Review of La Maison au Puits

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison au Puits
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

With a couple of nights to stay somewhere not too far from Carcassonne, we picked Cordes-sur-Ciel. La Maison au Puits turned out to be the delightful lodging for that sweet little trip. The hosts couldn't have been nicer! Dinner was in the making when we arrived, and we could sense right off that it would be incredible. Our room was simple, beautiful elegance. The breakfast inn the garden was just right.
The hosts even took a photo of us before we left - and sent it along. Thank goodness because our phone with all photos from the trip disappeared en route back to the US.
Such a wonderful pick!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights while visiting Cords-sur-Ciel and Albi. The hosts are lovely and, I agree with other reviewers, if you can eat here (check with them when you arrive or maybe a day or two before), do so. The ambiance is great and the conversation is wonderful -- and the food is delicious! In fact, before we knew we could eat here, we could smell the garlic simmering and, while debating where to eat, my husband said "I wish we could have what they're having!" It turns out, we did. Overall, a very casual and relaxing experience -- we loved it. Also, don't miss Albi -- it's only a 30-minute drive and the Cathedral St. Cecilia is impressive (and different!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyinNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Christianne welcomed us warmly (Nico was on holidays in Holland) and showed us to our room, which overlooked the street. The downstairs area is attractive,especially the dining room, and there is a fabulous old staircase leading up to the rooms. Christianne gave us good advice about how to walk up to Cordes, which takes about 15 -20 minutes. It was a fine, sunny spring evening and the views were fantastic. Sadly though, not many of the shops were open, as the season had not yet begun. Still, Cordes is very atmospheric, and well worth a visit. It is also worth taking the evening meal at La Maison au Puits, as the food is very good, and if you have congenial fellow guests, it is great fun. The breakfast is also extremely hearty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were on a 2-week bicycle tour of the Tarn and Aveyron region. Christianne and Nico gave us a very warm welcome, although we had arrived a bit early. Christianne gave us all the necessary information for our visit of Cordes, which is a lovely town indeed, and a real must-see. Dinner in the evening was a wonderful experience: great food, nice guests to share experiences with, excellent gaillac wine, and a phenomenal crêpe-suzette experience. And breakfast was a real treat as well (with a boiled egg to break the monotony of French breakfasts with bread and jam). This bed-and-breakfast is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hubert_and_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a nice stone house well managed by the hosts Christianne and Nico. We felt very welcomed when we arrived, and Christianne even insisted to help us bring our luggage up to the 2nd floor! We also enjoyed the dinner and breakfast with other guests -- dinner is highly recommended. We all dine at the same table sharing our travel experience and exchanged tips. The food was excellent and worth every penny we paid. One more advice -- we didn't notice many restaurants nearby, so you may need to do some research if not want to eat in.

The house has a few rooms. We stayed in the room on the 2nd floor which was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was very clean and comfortable.

Location of the house is on the outside of the Cordes-sur-ciel. In our opinion it is much better than in central Cordes because we could easily drive there without having to get into the narrow streets in town, and we could park overnight very easily. And it was close to the main roads leading to any destinations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvinlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staying at La Maison au Puits is like staying in the home of good friends. We received a warm and friendly reception from Christanne, and were shown to our comfortable, modern but homely bedroom. Dinner, cooked by Nico, was superb and much better than any of the meals we ate in nearby restaurants. Eating at a Table d'Hote, with people you don't know, can be a daunting experience for some, but Christianne made sure everyone was introduced, and we had a wonderful evening of lively conversation - in three languages. On our second evening Nico gave a demonstration at the table of how to make Crepes Suzette. We would definitely return, and recommend booking direct at lamaisonaupuits@hotmail.com. By the way, breakfast is substantial and tasty, always including eggs, ham and cheese and great coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This B&B is situated just down at the bottom of Cordes sur Ciel, a little train can take you up to the bastide. Very friendly atmosphere and an excellent breakfast.
We would certainly come back here. If you want to use Table d'Hotes it's best to reserve this beforehand.

Room Tip: all rooms are very pleasant, some on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 41Karin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaisonaupuits_10, Owner at La Maison au Puits, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your review ! It's as you say , if guests want to have dinner at "La Maison au Puits" , they have to make a reservation . That will avoid disappointments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordes-sur-Ciel hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Metairie
Hotel La Metairie
#1 of 3 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
#2 of 3 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Secret du Chat
Le Secret du Chat
#1 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Maison Bakea
La Maison Bakea
#2 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
167 reviews
0 mi away
Le Cayrols
Le Cayrols
#1 of 1 in Livers-Cazelles
22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raymond VII
Raymond VII
#7 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison au Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison au Puits

Address: 20 rue Gargarides | Les Cabannes, 81170, Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Cordes-sur-Ciel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cordes-sur-Ciel
Price Range: $97 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison au Puits is a newly refurbished 18th century village house situated at the foot of historic Cordes-sur-Ciel, a lovely medieval hilltop village in the heart of the Tarn - about one hour north of Toulouse. Great emphasis is put on comfort, personal service and attention to detail. It is easy to unwind at La Maison au Puits and our aim is to ensure that our guests will wish to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Maison au Puits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing