We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great communal meal, pretty room”
Review of La Maison au Puits

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison au Puits
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great communal meal, pretty room”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Christianne welcomed us warmly (Nico was on holidays in Holland) and showed us to our room, which overlooked the street. The downstairs area is attractive,especially the dining room, and there is a fabulous old staircase leading up to the rooms. Christianne gave us good advice about how to walk up to Cordes, which takes about 15 -20 minutes. It was a fine, sunny spring evening and the views were fantastic. Sadly though, not many of the shops were open, as the season had not yet begun. Still, Cordes is very atmospheric, and well worth a visit. It is also worth taking the evening meal at La Maison au Puits, as the food is very good, and if you have congenial fellow guests, it is great fun. The breakfast is also extremely hearty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
140
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were on a 2-week bicycle tour of the Tarn and Aveyron region. Christianne and Nico gave us a very warm welcome, although we had arrived a bit early. Christianne gave us all the necessary information for our visit of Cordes, which is a lovely town indeed, and a real must-see. Dinner in the evening was a wonderful experience: great food, nice guests to share experiences with, excellent gaillac wine, and a phenomenal crêpe-suzette experience. And breakfast was a real treat as well (with a boiled egg to break the monotony of French breakfasts with bread and jam). This bed-and-breakfast is highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert_and_Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a nice stone house well managed by the hosts Christianne and Nico. We felt very welcomed when we arrived, and Christianne even insisted to help us bring our luggage up to the 2nd floor! We also enjoyed the dinner and breakfast with other guests -- dinner is highly recommended. We all dine at the same table sharing our travel experience and exchanged tips. The food was excellent and worth every penny we paid. One more advice -- we didn't notice many restaurants nearby, so you may need to do some research if not want to eat in.

The house has a few rooms. We stayed in the room on the 2nd floor which was very spacious and comfortable. The bed was very clean and comfortable.

Location of the house is on the outside of the Cordes-sur-ciel. In our opinion it is much better than in central Cordes because we could easily drive there without having to get into the narrow streets in town, and we could park overnight very easily. And it was close to the main roads leading to any destinations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvinlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staying at La Maison au Puits is like staying in the home of good friends. We received a warm and friendly reception from Christanne, and were shown to our comfortable, modern but homely bedroom. Dinner, cooked by Nico, was superb and much better than any of the meals we ate in nearby restaurants. Eating at a Table d'Hote, with people you don't know, can be a daunting experience for some, but Christianne made sure everyone was introduced, and we had a wonderful evening of lively conversation - in three languages. On our second evening Nico gave a demonstration at the table of how to make Crepes Suzette. We would definitely return, and recommend booking direct at lamaisonaupuits@hotmail.com. By the way, breakfast is substantial and tasty, always including eggs, ham and cheese and great coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auradou, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This B&B is situated just down at the bottom of Cordes sur Ciel, a little train can take you up to the bastide. Very friendly atmosphere and an excellent breakfast.
We would certainly come back here. If you want to use Table d'Hotes it's best to reserve this beforehand.

Room Tip: all rooms are very pleasant, some on the 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 41Karin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaisonaupuits_10, Owner at La Maison au Puits, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review ! It's as you say , if guests want to have dinner at "La Maison au Puits" , they have to make a reservation . That will avoid disappointments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Christianne was away when we visited, so Nico was toute seul and he was an excellent host. Lots of local info, tips about how to best get to wherever (which road signs to avoid, etc) and chat about the local community. Breakfast is simple but lovely - cheese, ham, egg, toast, baguette, coffee. We had one dinner in and it was delicious, accompanied by a bottle of Gaillac red at a very reasonable price. Rooms are light and airy, beds are comfy, shower is strong and lots of hot water. Excellent spot outside Cordes, but easy to walk (uphill!) into the town, which is delightful. Would happily stay again if we're ever in this part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaisonaupuits_10, Owner at La Maison au Puits, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi , thank you also for your kind words , but remember this ............it allways takes two to tango ! So thank you very much for joining us at our table ! Merci bien !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Christianne and Nico are determined to meet the needs of their guests in every way possible. It doesn't matter who you are and the people who travel with you, You will be received with a warm welcome and ensuring that you have a most enjoyable stay is paramount.

It is clear to me that the hosts have found their niche and are so proud of being able to adapt to the needs of their guests. They speak at least four languages fluently and can converse with most visitors.

I found detailed assistance with varied requests for directions and information. Guests will find great company with the hosts and probably see a demonstration of skills in ensuring all at dinner relate to each other.

Finding one has to move on generated a desire to call again and receive another warm welcome back..

Room Tip: To me all rooms seem to have unique character so I have no difficuly whatsoever in taking what happe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamaisonaupuits_10, Manager at La Maison au Puits, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
My dear friend . I know , when people read my response , they think : " Okay , they are friends" . but .... you are one of a few who know how hard we're trying to be sure that our guests feel comfortable ! Thank you for your kind words !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cordes-sur-Ciel hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Metairie
Hotel La Metairie
#1 of 2 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Secret du Chat
Le Secret du Chat
#1 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Bakea
La Maison Bakea
#2 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
Hostellerie du Vieux Cordes
#6 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raymond VII
Raymond VII
#8 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Labistoul
Chateau Labistoul
#7 of 18 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison au Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison au Puits

Property: La Maison au Puits
Address: 20 rue Gargarides | Les Cabannes, 81170, Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Cordes-sur-Ciel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cordes-sur-Ciel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison au Puits is a newly refurbished 18th century village house situated at the foot of historic Cordes-sur-Ciel, a lovely medieval hilltop village in the heart of the Tarn - about one hour north of Toulouse. Great emphasis is put on comfort, personal service and attention to detail. It is easy to unwind at La Maison au Puits and our aim is to ensure that our guests will wish to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Maison au Puits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing