We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodation in wonderful village.”
other travelers have booked this property
View of house from terraced garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from terraced garden
Wisteria covered terrace with dining and views Medieval town of Cordes sur Ciel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View of house from terraced garden
Wisteria covered terrace with dining and views
Medieval town of Cordes sur Ciel
Front entrance
light filled living room, doors onto terrace
Large living and dining space
Comfortable and elegant furniture
Floor to ceiling windows, with sliding doors
Great  views from inside living room
modern kitchen with breakfast bench and stools
Kitchen
Comfortable bedrooms with built in robes
2 modern bathrooms/ensuites
each ensuite has a shower and heated towel racks
Dining outside under  the wisteria
views across the Cerou Valley
Well lit garden at night
Paved terrace
Ariel view of house
Town square
Nearby street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cordes-sur-Ciel, Tarn, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
123Richmo...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation in wonderful village.”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in Maison des Oiseaux for a week in May 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The responsive service of the owner and the property manager made booking the house and then moving in on a public holiday very easy indeed.
The old village at the top of the hill is delightful for art and craft shopping, restaurants and a good local wine shop. Daily living supplies are available in the lower village and it is a relatively easy walk back to the house, especially if you take the paths through the woods.
There are many lovely villages nearby and it is an easy drive to Albi and all its treasures.
The house was perfect and our holiday was wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ammenities and views
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
So good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison Oiseaux and that you discovered what the local region also has to offers. Hope to have you stay again. Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiemai...
hunter valley, nsw
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage in a charming part of the South.”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 relaxing days here at the beginning of May and everything exceeded our expectations. The cottage is extremely well appointed with sweeping views over the countryside and a tasteful courtyard containing roses and blossoming wisteria. It's a short walk up to the charming medieval hill top village and down to the newer village with its wonderful Saturday morning market and fine array of foodstuffs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort and the
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Hi
So pleased you had a relaxing stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. We endeavour to make it a special retreat for our guests, a comfortable private place to retreat to at the end of a day full of sightseeing.
Best wishes
Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob K
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful stay in a magical setting.”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A blissful week in a cottage that exceeded our expectations, set in a village with a thousand years of history in its stones, And it comes complete with beautiful views over classic French countryside. La Maison des Oiseaux had everything we could wish for. The only hard part was leaving.....

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2015
Thank you for your review. Cordes sur Ciel is a very special place and our home is in the perfection location to enjoy the delights of the medieval village as well as the beautiful views from under the wisteria. I hope you can visit again.
Best wishes
Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a lovely village”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Maison Des Oiseaux, and Cordes sur Ciel, is not just something you could do while in France it is actually good enough to be a reason to go to France. We stayed for a week as a couple and so had plenty of space as the house is a two bedroom residence. The house is great and the terrace, and spending time under the wisteria, is fantastic for meals, drinks and relaxing. The quality of the furnishings, kitchen and bedding are all excellent. The renovations have provided for great views across the valley and the location of the house is perfect for touring the old cite. We also loved our short tours to other villages in the area. We were lucky enough to be here for the annual festival in the old cite (fete de grand fauconnier) which was also a highlight but regardless of that benefit we would still rate this property very highly and we would welcome the chance to come back again. Access to a couple of sun lounges for casual relaxing on the terrace would be a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your comments. We will definitely install a couple of sun lounges. Hope to have you visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davsig
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home in a fabulous location”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved this place. It was a very comfortable family home with everything provided. It had a well equipped kitchen, under floor heating, 2 lovely ensuite bedrooms - would also suit 2 couples- and a lounge dining area with panoramic views. There was a private courtyard garden with 2 gates, one with easy access to shops and restaurants, the other to the car. This could be safely parked a short distance away and there were a few steps involved. It felt like you had been invited to a friend's home rather than a rental. On arrival we were met by Caroline who was most helpful. We highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and panoramic views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. So many of our guests say it feels like a home which is wonderful. When travelling far from your own home having that experience is what we wanted to create. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, stunning house and views.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cordes Sur Ciel is a spectacular town and La Maison des Oiseaux is perfectly situated within the citadel walls and has magnificent views over surrounding countryside. The house is very comfortable and is well equipped for being able to cook up a storm with the local produce. The two double bedrooms, each with ensuite, was perfect for our small group of two couples.
The town square is virtually at the back gate making it easy to wander up into the town.
The terraced backyard and outside table under the wisteria plant and pergola is the perfect place to spend a relaxed afternoon eating cheese and drinking wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular town and stunning house with magnificent views over the surrounding countryside.
Liked least: We had trouble figuring out which restaurants were recommended - but didn't really matter as we tried a few and cooked up a storm for ourselves.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Hi
Thank you for a perfect summary of our property. The wisteria is a favourite spot for guests to soak up the view and just relax. Cordes sur Ciel has just been awarded the Most Beautiful Village Award for 2014 which it truly deserves. Best wishes Marie Bird
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BazinBris...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A real haven”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were fortunate enough to share this wonderful home for a week with my wife’s sister and husband who had made the booking.

From the moment we stepped through the entry gate and into the courtyard we were stunned by both the views over the countryside & the vine covered outside eating area. Once we got inside the house our breath was taken away again by the quality of the fit out – it’s superb and lacking in nothing. For two couples it was ideal.

I won’t bore you with the details of the house or its attributes as many others have already done so and all I’ll say is we agree with all that’s been said. You're in the village but are isolated from the hustle and bustle of village life - so peaceful.

Cordes is a great base for exploring the surrounding countryside, we did many day trips from here. Make sure you get back early enough to enjoy a cold beer in the new village with the locals. Try to make time to relax in the house as well – a week wasn’t long enough.

We’ll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and fitout of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2013
Hi
So nice to get your review, I get a little jealous when our guests mention things we also love to do, which is of course enjoying a cold beer with the locals. Hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing