We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfull B&B just outside Castre”
Review of Le Castelet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Castelet
Ranked #1 of 6 Castres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed two nights in this B&B to escape the noise and chaos we experienced in another hotel in Castre. Even though the B&B is somewhat further from the city centre than indicated on Tripadvisor (approx 8km) we were very happy that we made this decission.
The service was excellent: they picked us up when we couldn't find it and they provided a last minute lunch which was simple but great.
The building itself is classic which guarantee a romantic atmosphere although it can be a disadvantage if you have 4 children staying in the room above you.
All in all it was a great experience.

Room Tip: No applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Charming hosts always available to assist guests. Breakfast in a lovely dining rooom before a blazing fire, very pleasant these cold May mornings. Well equipped rooms with possibility to make one's own cup of tea or coffee. Gorgeous garden with a good sized pool for the warmer days ahead. Very practical for families with children. One does need a car to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived @ 2am on a Saturday morning and received a very warm welcome from our hosts (Suzy & Eric) with a beer. We stayed for 3 nights and were well looked after during our stay inc a lovely breakfast, with plenty of advice (nice Patisserie, etc).

Le Castelet and the adjacent Gites would be spectacular in summer as would the swimming pool (it was not operational in January. There are ongoing improvement works to the Billiards room, which didn't affect our stay, but would enhance the overall experience when complete.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable (we stayed in the family suite at the top of the building - stairs are steep). The other double rooms are very nice indeed.

We would recommend for a quiet restful base if exploring the region. Special mention to Suzy for her kindness in sourcing and returning some mislaid property.

SUFTUM - Stand Up For The Ulster Man!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We found this lovely small Chateau via the local "Office de Tourisme" & we were not disappointed.
Susie or hostess was very helpful with suggestions, especially the wonderful Bistro de Saveurs where we dined that night. The setting & decor of this hotel was elegant yet understated, and we left next day, sticking to our chosen itinerary, but wishing we could stay two nights. Breakfast was really nice, just like a homestay experience.
Sam & Elizabeth

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A beautiful manor house, newly restored. Rooms are elegantly and tastefully decorated, the pool is huge, it's quiet, relaxing - perfect for a romantic getaway or family break. Charming hostess who makes guests feel at home.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suse_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Large old country house converted to B&B. Very large luxury pool, more likely five star seaside resort than Castres. I even did some lap-swimming!
Very rural setting, have to drive to Castres to eat in the evening (only small downside).
We had the family suite and we loved it: two interconnecting rooms at the top floor.
The building work mentioned in a prior review is over: it is all very quiet.
Fresh bread and croissants every morning.
Suitable for visiting beautiful Albi (and for lazing around in the pool area)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms could be hot in the summer for some people (it was not a problem for us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I booked this B&B for a romantic night away. On arrival there were building trucks outside, workmen everywhere, the front of the b&b was all mud, the swimming pool was dug up, there was tarpaulin hanging from the ceiling in the rooms inside and dust everywhere. When I eventually found the manager I said I wasnt staying as it was a bulding site and she said the building works had gone on longer than anticipated. I asked why she didnt email me to cancel the booking. She offered no explanation. She was hoping that we would still go along with the 100euro booking, I suspect. She did in fairness, ring abother b&b in Lautrec and book us in there, and also gave us a bottle of wine. We then had to travel for 30 mins to the other b&b, which as it turned out was far better than this one and we even stayed another night. The other places website is http://www.laterrassedelautrec.com/

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castres hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Castres L'Occitan
5.2 mi away
Domaine de la Vivarie
Domaine de la Vivarie
#2 of 6 in Castres
63 reviews
4.1 mi away
Les Cedres
Les Cedres
#4 of 6 in Castres
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
265 reviews
3.7 mi away
B&B Hotel CASTRES Centre Gambetta
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Castres
Ibis Styles Castres
#1 of 11 in Castres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castelet

Address: Lieu-Dit le Castelet | Chemin du Castelet, 81100 Castres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castres
Price Range: $86 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Follow the private road, and you will find, hidden in the woods, amongst 300 years old oaks, a delightful 18th century house, restored with love and care. The old chapel and farm dated 1868 accomodate 3 charming holiday rentals and the wedding and meeting venue. Dinner and breakfast are served outside when weather permits or in the 18th century dinning-room ; The set-menu dinner depends of the season and the products of the garden. We will offer you a warm welcome, calm and comfort, a moment out of time, where you can find life pleasant and easy. A step back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Castelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing