We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Hotel Jean XXII

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jean XXII
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A friend and I shared a 2-bedroom suite with bathroom located on 2 floors with a connecting staircase. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, although small. The woman who checked us in and the man who served us breakfast were charming and helpful despite our limited French. If we stayed again, we would forego breakfast at the hotel for breakfast in one of the many cafes. The free parking and internet were most appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
79
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice location, very handy to the new and old cities. We didn't think much of either after having stayed in other far superior spots like St Emilion etc. The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable. The owner didn't speak any English & us very little French but we found him very helpful all the same.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMAK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel is in an attractive old buiding in the centre of Cahors. The rooms are small but clean. Did not have breakfast.
Reception shuts at 7.00 so you have to tell them in advance if you are going to arrive later.
Was unable to pay by credit card, which was slightly annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centipede100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had two adjoining rooms, for three of us. Small rooms, basic, but for the price, very good. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and breakfast is pleasant. Best of all: they've got a sitting room are where you can read or do your internet.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Continuing on our journey we selected the Hotel Jean XXII partly on the basis of Tripadvisor comments and we were very well pleased.
On arrival we were surprised to find the hotel closed at 14 30 but, on reflection, I think Monsieur explained that to me on the phone but my poor French faltered!
We gained access at 16 30 and were taken aback by the quality of the public spaces and the rooms given the rates.
The hotel is located in a very quiet part of the town with easy access to all the main sites and amenities. The rooms are nicely proportioned and offer everything one would expect.
Above all the owner was a lovely man who could not do too much to help. He had a wonderful sense of humour and was very solicitous, especially as , once again, we were travelling by cycle.
We would not stay anywhere else in Cahors and at the rates charged the hotel is an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclingourway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in March 2012 as part of a mini tour of the region. Based on the reviews we saw on here we were more than happy to book this B&B but unfortunately as soon as we walked into the room I wanted to leave.

The room was was tiny - we had to put a case on the side due to lack of floor space and very dated. I will say the room and the shower were clean though, it just to me had a slightly grim feel to it and not somewhere you'd want to sit in an relax.

Location wise was very good and I can't fault that, short walk and you hit the old town for restaurants and bars.

We parked in the car park as advised nearest to the B&B and unfortunately our hire car got keyed. Whilst I accept this wasn't the B&B's fault it didn't help after the room!

The owner was very friendly and welcoming and the value of the B&B was very good - but I will say it is a case here of you get what you pay for and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mubbles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is an inexpensive but very adequate little hotel, often used by pilgrims on the St James Way. We used it as a base to explore Cahors on foot and for a day trip by car to the Peche Merle cave (a great spot, one of the last pre-historic cave paintings you can see in person, rather than a mockup). The food and wine in the region is excellent, there are many things to see and do in Cahors including boat tours and the famous bridge, Pont Valentré. Our visit was in 2007. Since Trip Advisor doesn't provide the ability for any date beyond 2011, ignore the date that is marked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank advaitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahors hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Chartreuse
Hotel La Chartreuse
#4 of 13 in Cahors
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#7 of 13 in Cahors
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le Valentre
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jean XXII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jean XXII

Property: Hotel Jean XXII
Address: 2 rue Edmond Albe, 46000, Cahors, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jean XXII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing