We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Chartreuse
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Don't judge the book by the cover may be the tip on this hotel. It looks like a 1960 concrete block from the outside but inside it is lovely. The location is great and the rooms are pleasant, clean and peaceful with lovely views over the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    171
    64
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
191
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have a lovely, fresh family room with balcony overlooking the river. The room is simple but modern, spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and a full size bathroom with a nice selection of toiletries. The mini bar is currently charged at a flat rate of €3 per item, not so bad for the Heineken but a bit steep for a bottle of still water. There is free wifi in the room, private parking out front and a restaurant on site that we shall visit later this evening. I have seen people comment that the staff are rude or unfriendly but I found the receptionist to be simply French. The French are not generally a smiley gushing race, but she was perfectly pleasant and polite (c:

One word of warning would be if your Sat Nav takes you down lots of steep winding streets once you enter Cahors, ignore it and head for Centre Ville where it will redirect you to a more appropriate route. We followed the sat nav and discovered it was planning to take us under a 1.5m high bridge when our vehicle is 1.9m!!!!!!! The locals were very understanding of this foreigner in a yellow bus burning her clutch as she reversed up the hill, I guess they see a lot of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side of the hotel, as it is very pleasant to sit on the balcony and rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank macmicrogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nice room, nice hotel. You can easily walk to the centre for a dinner or a lunch. The check in was extremey inpersonal and unpleasant. The lady was more interested in own business then in the clients. But ... very good value for money !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Travelling south through France this is a great overnighter. The hotel is right on the riverside and the room, perhaps all rooms, had a little balcony. The room itself was in the style of modern French chain hotels but tastefully designed and of better quality materials than most.
As well as a clean, comfortable room, the Chartreuse surprised us with a superb riverside restaurant and high quality but reasonably-priced food. The biggest suprise however was the wine. As well as the usual options, there was a vin buffet - around a dozen assorted bottles of the region from which you could help yourself all night - all for the princely sum of 4.50 Euros a head.
The hotel is across a main river bridge from the main town, a five-ten minute walk away. Cahors is an interesting town with a good feel when you arrive as it is like a peninsula within the river bends and is easy to walk round.
This hotel and restaurant is a great base and one I will definitely return to if in the area again.

Room Tip: River facing as a great many if not all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our tour manager booked this hotel and based on prior reviews, I was not expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised. Our room was small and spartan but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast options were more than satisfactory. And the location was just perfect! The hotel is along the Lot river and a pleasant 10 minute walk from Cahors.

The grey concrete exterior of the hotel seems uninviting but the hotel has tried to brighten it with flowers. The reception area is nondescript. The elevator is tiny and slow, so be prepared to lug your suitcase up the steps. We were on the top floor and unfortunately the neon windmill sign for the hotel was right outside. The blinds are fairly good at blocking out the blinking neon light but you would be much better off to get a room on the riverfront side of the hotel. We had dinner one night at the hotel and the food and service were excellent. The dining area is along the river which makes for a very pleasant breakfast when the sun is out. One potential issue is getting back in the hotel after a late evening in Cahors. The front entrance is locked after 11pm and we would have been unable to get in had we not had some friends who happened to be in the lobby when we arrived. Also, there was never anyone at the front desk so when you returned to the hotel after walking around Cahors, you had to retrieve your own room key from the reception area. It did make me wonder about the security of our room but we didn't have any problems.

The most pleasant part of the hotel was the patio along the riverfront. We didn't have any problems with bugs, despite being there in the heat of summer. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget who is visiting the lovely town of Cahors.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a riverfront room. If your room overlooks the neon windmill, ask for a different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gubbini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

When we first saw the hotel from across the river, we thought it looked ordinary from the outside. When we arrived it was a nice surprise. Reception very helpful, our room bright, white, clean and airy overlooking the beautiful Lot River . Lovely modern bathroom. Had drink on outside eating area, fed fish & ducks in Lot River. Beautiful setting, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking Lot River-beautiful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pollyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

My heart sank when we arrived at this concrete building in the pouring rain though I can hardly blame the hotel for the weather! Very nicely located right on the River Lot within easy walking distance of the town centre. Large restaurant & bar though service in the bar was very slow as the receptionist seemed to be doing everything. Small tatty bedroom who's saving grace was a balcony overlooking the terrace & river, and grim shower room. Coulnd't face using the shower so just washed instead. Trouble is, there's really no where else to stay near here at a sensible price so needs must! School canteen type breakfast but inspite of my moans, I slept very well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahors hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#6 of 13 in Cahors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brit Hotel Cahors - Le Valentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jean XXII
Hotel Jean XXII
#5 of 13 in Cahors
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Clos Grand
Le Clos Grand
#1 of 1 in Pradines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Chartreuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Chartreuse

Property: Hotel La Chartreuse
Address: Saint Georges, 46000, Cahors, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Cahors
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cahors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Chartreuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing