We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel in fantastic city”
Review of Hotel Chiffre

Hotel Chiffre
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chiffre
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is well placed just on the periphery of the old town
The hotel is quite basic but the bed comfortable (- no extras like tea/coffee making facilities or safe) and the room relatively small. There is a locked car park, but relatively expensive. However the location makes it ideal for a visit to the city.
We did not have breakfast, preferring to take our chance in the city

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 125 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

The welcome was a little formal and cool. The room was fine. Clean, well presented, bedding good quality and bed comfortable. One problem with the memory foam mattress. I always find these make me very hot after a night. Thankfully the night was cool.

Plenty of room for parking but could not understand why it was necessary to drive round the houses to eventually arrive back in the back yard of the hotel. Perhaps the building work which seemed to be under way necessitated this?

Overall good, reasonably priced hotel which I can recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was great place to stay. It is close to the old city. It has enclosed, safe parking, though difficult to get into and out of.
The desk staff is not particulary warm but very efficient. The rooms were clean and kept that way for our stay. The breakfast staff was very efficient and made sure we found what we needed.
A nice feature is that it has an elevator, a rare experience for us on this trip.
Our room was spacious and overlooked the courtyard. It was quiet and kept clean by the staff.

Room Tip: Be prepared to be directed, with map in hand, to the hotel's parking location. A fun challenge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here on two separate nights during our recent holiday, so we got to sample two different rooms. Both were spacious and quiet (both overlooking the courtyard). Both had air-conditioning that worked. The second room had an entrance lobby containing a large wardrobe, huge bedroom to one side and large bathroom to the other. The first room, a week earlier, was more standard, still a good size and with an en suite bathroom.

The receptionist was really pleasant and helpful. We left our cases while we looked around Albi on the day we were leaving and they were locked away behind reception. We ate in the hotel the first night and liked the unpretentious food. There was plenty of choice at breakfast and the lady serving it was really friendly.

I can't understand the person who said the hotel is not in the centre. You walk a short distance to the end of the street, cross a road and you are in the historical quarter. Couldn't be much nearer!

If we ever return to Albi we'll try to stay at Hotel Chiffre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the hotel is not in the city centre, but it's quite near as Albi is a small town. The room was spacious and clean; the wi fi was available but difficult to launch. The breackfast was not included and was pricey, considering it was the standard. The full breakfast was even more expensive; and it has 3 stars, after all. The parking is included, though, and free: this is quite a good thing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmary_lakeComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This quiet three star hotel (room115) was centrally located for all the walking and sight-seeing in Albi. The bed was very comfortable, and the bedroom had a desk,chair combo, extra thin chair, closet and very good air conditioning. It didn't appear the AC was working, but after 20 minutes or so , the room was cool with the door closed. There were two other separate rooms:1) a modern bathroom with a hairdryer, and stand-up shower and tub and 2) a toilet.The only complaint I might have is the rather musty/moldy smell in the bedroom, due I am sure, to lack of good shower ventilation.
The staff was very helpful, spoke English, was efficient and allowed us to have our picnic lunch in the garden.There is garage parking (need a map from the front desk to find) for 9Euros/day and Wi Fi for 2 Euros/day. Look for the hotel's brown sign to the right off the main road from the highway, or you will miss it.Rue Sere De Rivieres is a narrow street and there are many narrow, one way streets there.
The large outdoor restaurant across the main street from the hotel has live music and excellent food. We spent 4.5 hours there our last night.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the rose garden (115) was very quiet and away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights recently. Air con problems in 2 separate rooms resulted in poor sleep. No help from staff. 1 room smelt strongly of cigarettes though supposedly non smoking. Ate in sparsely decorated dingy restaurant as part of our package. Very poor food with no choices and over priced wine. Didn't stay planned 3rd night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
0.4 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Pasteliers
Hotel Les Pasteliers
#13 of 25 in Albi
196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Albi
Comfort Hotel Albi
#17 of 25 in Albi
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiffre

Address: 50 rue Sere-de-Rivieres, 81000, Albi, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Price Range: $80 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiffre 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chiffre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiffre Hotel Albi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing