We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tour Sainte Cecile
Ranked #4 of 26 Albi B&B and Inns
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I would rate the Chambres d’Hôtes Tour Sainte Cecile excellent (even outstanding) because of the property itself, the location and the host. In our years of travel, this has to be ranked as one of our most unique and enjoyable experiences because you really felt like you were swept back to the 16th century with the brick residence and its setting in the old city.

We stayed in the spacious and elegant Suite Sainte Cecile which was on the main level. The suite was elegantly decorated with more high-end, period furniture, tapestries and high beamed ceilings. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. The bathroom situation was bizarre in that each function (sink, shower and toilet) was squired away into a different area. I guess I just accepted the fact that the home was not originally built with modern bathrooms in mind. While okay, I think the views were better from some of the other rooms.

I spent some time talking to Bertrand, a very kind and accommodating host who was originally an optician. Bertrand who is single inherited the family place from his father, a famous eye surgeon who treated celebrities including the Pope. Several years ago he decided to turn it into a B&B. Bertand’s sense of humor cracked me up. Once I realized that he is absolutely the French equivalent of Mr. Bean, I was able to engage him in some very amusing dialog.

A note of caution, if you are not adventuresome, this place is not for you. Access is extremely challenging, particularly if you have large suitcases which we did for a month’s vacation. Because there is no car access, you must park some ways away in the Cathedral car park. (Make sure you park in the free spaces.) Within the building, you will have to navigate through narrow corridors and numerous steps. But for me, these challenges were well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CADaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

On a driving tour of southern France, we stayed at La Tour St Cecille, Albi, France
October 2013.
It will probably be an experience I will never forget.
Steve reserved the Tower Room without my knowledge. Let me say, that the room is amazing, romantic, and the view of all the rooftops and the pigeons of the city is truly unique.
However, if you are not comfortable with tight, enclosed spaces (40 narrow, spiral stone steps- no railing, leading to the Tower room), this may not be your cup of tea. No space to even carry up an overnight bag. I admit there were some tears on the way up and down, and Bertrand even volunteered his bedroom, if I couldn't make it (He was at full occupancy that nite.) The story of Rapunzel was on my mind as I gazed out at the city. How long would it take to grow my hair to be rescued from my castle tower!! We survived. Farmers Market in the City was fun as well as the Musee Toulouse Lautrec, Bertrand's breakfast, and the largest brick Cathedral in the world! An adventure in travel!

Room Tip: Other rooms are more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Bertrand is a very generous host! I cannot explain how generous he was let other guests expect the same treatment. Bertrand's house was in a very beautiful building with character. We stayed at the Toulouse-Lautrec room, The room was bright, clean, modern and specious. The bed and pillows were comfortable as well. We were able to make coffee and tea in the room, that was very good. The shower water was excellent! My husband and I were amazed how Bertrand renovated the room to such a modern state and moving all the furniture into the room. Just unbelievable! Our room had 3 windows of the view of the rooftop of Albi's houses and the Cathedral Sainte-Cecile. The views were STUNNING! The location couldn't be better, close to the Cathedral and Toulouse-Lautra Museum. The little train (taking you to see Albi) is just at the square when you walk out the street. Staying at Bertrand's house was an memorable experience for our Albi trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelajolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for an anonymous efficiently run hotel with all the amenities, then stay well away from this establishment. The La Tour experience begins, and ends, with Bertrand. He was clearly born for this position and he does it wonderfully, from helping you to find a parking space to cooking wonderful custom breakfasts. And all the while providing a running commentary. And the rooms! Steeped in history and atmosphere, you feel as if you were the first to experience their secrets. A very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Co_CorkIrelandBilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Like so many other reviewers, we found this place simply fabulous. Location, comfort, the generosity and character of the host, Bertrand, are outstanding. Great beds! Walking distance to everywhere in town and easy to locate.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers2Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying at La Tour Sainte Cecile was the highlight of my holiday in France. Bertrand was a fabulous host and could not have been more helpful. To be honest we had some dreadful service in France but Bertrand from La Tour saved France's reputation, he is a delightful gentleman, helpful and courteous, The room was huge with a view to due for and the price...cheap! Stay here, I highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A lovely B & B in the very centre of historic Albi. Very tastefully furnished and comfortable. The view from the bedroom of the cathedral is breathtaking in the evening sunlight. The best of all is Bertrand, the owner, who is extremely charming, so helpful and generous. Absolutely fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sohotobrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.1 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
0.6 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#5 of 25 in Albi
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour Sainte Cecile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour Sainte Cecile

Property: La Tour Sainte Cecile
Address: 14 B rue Sainte Cecile, 81000, Albi, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tour Sainte Cecile 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Albi, some rooms have panoramic views of Albi Cathedral and city centre. Chambres d'Hotes la Tour Sainte-Cecile has uniquely-decorated guest rooms, which are all air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your La Tour Sainte Cecile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing