We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dissapointing stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Reserve
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A dissapointing stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just spent 4 weeks travelling through France staying at some good hotels and this was the only let down. Unless you book a suite the bedrooms are not large and very close together in the corridor so we were disturbed on 2 nights out of 4 by other guests. Also the hotel takes in groups which we didn't expect in a Relais whilst we were having tea on the terrace and then later in the evening they came into the restaurant and were so noisy we couldn't even talk to each other. As we had spent around 150euros on this meal I mentioned this to the owner on departure hoping she would offer a discount but she was very defensive and quite rude saying 'I have a business to run'. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Albi, better to stay in town and go out for some good meals there instead.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near another room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LorraineW388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    28
    24
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
109
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location of La Reserve on the River Tarn means that views are of the highest order, the grounds are superb. The hotel is open only from May to October and so there is no building work in progress whilst guests are hoping for a peaceful sojourn as happens in other hotels. The character of the place is delightful and the owner is never far away, keeping an eye on the hotel and grounds to ensure the high standards are maintained. I have only one word for the food - excellent. The menus change according to what is seasonal and the chef is top notch. A wide variety of rooms is available, smaller and cheaper to much more grand: unusual in a hotel of this size. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, tranquil stay in a hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms which are available, I was shown 3 rooms and it was absolutely no trouble for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieMcInstry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Peaceful, perfect location just outside Albi. Lovely, manicured grounds. Tasteful decor and comfortable rooms. The dinner was excellent - they have a wonderful chef that served a beautifully prepared and presented meal - worthy of a Michelin Star. The icing on the cake is the lovely, attractive, friendly and helpful team. They made our stay so enjoyable. One story sums it up - being unprepared Americans, we left on a Sunday and drove an hour in search of gas but all stations were closed or required a credit card with a chip. We returned to the hotel and the owner hopped in our car, drove us to a station and used her own card to fill up our tank. . . we would have been stuck without her gracious assistance. Highly recommended and we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooklyntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We could have stayed here for longer & felt totally relaxed. Simply gorgeous flowering pots & leafy trees surround the hotel dining terrace overlooking the pool & waters edge. Truly charming stay & the best medicine to revive after a busy travel schedule.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

First class all the way. Service, location, food, everything. My husband and I are very fussy but we absolutely loved it. The pool overlooking the lake is one of the many highlights. The beautifully maintained gardens was also amazing. When a helicopter landed on the lawn in front the of the lake, we thought we were dreaming. We didn't want to leave. Will be back...

Room Tip: Lake View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristieWSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful setting with a genuinely warm welcome and a caring team. Everything was lovely, the food, the views and the condition of the hotel. The lovely owner made sure we had a plan for how to get the very best out of the region. Albi is a beautiful city and the region has many interesting medieval villages and vineyards to explore.
Everything is Impeccably maintained and the attention to detail is impressive. All the staff were charming
Very French and some quirky ideas which you will have to discover yourself add to its charm
I will be back, with friends to chill, chat and enjoy some more of their fine Rose poolside
I view this as my special bolt hole, tank you to all the staff, you were all excellent
Great value E215 a night overlooking the river

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Makepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

During a three-week touring holiday in France this was easily our most enjoyable hotel.
On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly informal way, shown two excellent rooms at different prices with no pressure to take the more expensive one. The room was to the highest possible standard with everything sensibly designed and in perfect order.
The site on the Tarn is, of course, outstanding and our evening meal on the terrace was a delight with excellent friendly but efficient service and again with no attempt to force an expensive menu or wine on us.
To sum up this hotel is an absolute gem the staff are welcoming and friendly yet highly efficient and professional and the site is perfect, we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.7 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
0.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
1.0 mi away
Hotel Les Pasteliers
Hotel Les Pasteliers
#13 of 25 in Albi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: Route de Cordes, 81000, Albi, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — La Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Albi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing