We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel as part of an Insight Vacations tour of France
A real disappointment as it was all facade, nothing to inspire at all. The pluses were its cleanliness, its staff and the Pillows and Bed, all 10/10. Infact the staff were outstanding!
Against it was a lot...
The air conditioning did not work and was not able to be fixed.
The room was very small and quite hot.
No safe in the room.
No mini bar in the room.
One very tiny elevator.
The shower (over the bath) was hand held only
Breakfast was awful. Everything cold, unappetising and a very poor selection.
And this Hotel claims to be a 4 star!!!!!!!
I would rate it 5/10 and would never stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Everything was very good at this well-located, familly-owned hotel in Albi, France where I stayed for 3 nights. The owner was not only extremely accommodating (1 person in our group had very special needs) but very gracious. The employees at the front desk (I wish I remembered her name) were amazingly helpful to our group. The breakfast buffet has a wide assortment and is very good. Each room is different--mine was spacious, lovely and quiet (with an extra inner door). The push-button shutter keeps the light out. There was a large magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Outside the well-furnished reception area is a garden with tables and chairs--a perfect place to enjoy wine and hors d'oeuvres.

Room Tip: Each room is different, so you should specify your particular needs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Right from the start we were made most welcome. The car park (which is accessed from the road at the rear) is large and secure and you can walk through the garden to the rear door of the hotel.
We had a Junior Privilege suite (Room 30) which was rather compact. It had a room divider between the double bed and a sitting area, off which there was a single bed in a curtained-off recess. The tv swivelled so that it could be seen from either area but there was no digital service so no channels in English. The décor was a little bit tired looking and the rug was in need of a clean. The lighting was poor and in order to read in bed I had to remove the black lampshades from the bedside lamps.
There was a good selection of food for breakfast and it was reasonably priced.
The hotel is located very near to the old town so makes an excellent base for exploring the delights of Albi.
Our minor criticisms would not stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandAHarpendenEnglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a small, private, well maintained and tastefully renovated hotel. It is unpretentious in style and located in a quiet area. It has a delightful small garden out the back leading to the car park. Our room was large, tastefully furnished and very clean. The bed was a comfortable and queen size. The bathroom has a bidet in front of the toilet so space was a little restricted. The shower and bath are combined as they were in many French hotels. The breakfast provided a very good choice of standard breakfast fare. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The public areas of the hotel provided excellent locations to sit down and chill out with a drink and book of your choice. The garden area and various sitting areas were tastefully furnished and decorated. The hotel is in a very good location in the centre of the city and a short walk from the old city area.

Room Tip: Street or courtyard view rooms are both good.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were reluctant to check in because of a few poor reviews. I don't know what they are talking about. The Hotel is well situated with great staff very nice rooms a good breakfast. What else do you need when you are travelling. We were very tired when we got here so we chled out in the small garden for an hour is so with a drink. Heaven. I would come back here anytime if I were to visit Albi again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was surprised to read some mixed reviews about this place- We found it very good and I am fussy about where I stay- If I don't like it, I say so.

We stayed at this hotel as part of an escorted bus trip through France. besides our group it seems to be favoured by business travellers as well.

Its a fairly unpretentious looking place and down a quiet street but it has been throughly renovated after being an old monastry some hundreds of years ago and later a hospital so it has a bit of history to it.

It has a nice garden setting out the back where you can sit and have a beer, wine or coffee . We did all of these things during our stay.

We found the staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful.

Our room was smallish but tastefully furnished. The bathroom has a bidet in front of the toilet so a bit tight here.The shower and bath are combined with a shower hose only with no wall fitting to lock it into - I didn't really like this setup but overall it was not a great hassle, just a bit tricky to have a good shower. The bed was a comfortable Queen size.

The hotel is in a very good location in the centre of the city and there is no street noise from our room. Breakfast was included for us but 15 euro if you are a walk in guest.

Wi Fi is available and free. A beer is 6 euro in the small downstairs bar.

Breakfast was good with juices, tea, coffee, breakfast cereal, smoked salmon, variety of meats, bacon and a varierty of eggs.

There is no room safe and a safety box is available downstairs. Also no mini bar.

I would certainly stay here again as the place does have a nice feel to it, especially out in the garden area.


I would say its a good 3 star hotel and worth an 8.5/10 for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This poor quality hotel is reported to be the best in Albi. We can't imagine what the lesser ones are like ! Saint Antoine is very run down and shocked us from the entrance already as
the miserable place it turned out to be indeed. Furniture and decor are basic 1960 's, it is a very unwelcoming place in spite of the kind and very helpful reception ladies. Very much overpriced and maybe 3 stars, certainly not 4. No restaurant. The management, we guess, is cutting corners to make as much money as possible. We all know that such attitude does not work for very long in the hotel business.
If hotels are so bad, why stay in Albi ? You can see the town, the Cathedral and Lautrec museum within one Day and don't need to spend the night there at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.2 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relais et Chateaux La Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Antoine

Address: 17 rue Saint Antoine, 81000, Albi, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albi
Price Range: $116 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Saint-Antoine 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in the town center of Albi, the Hotel Saint Antoine is hold for 5 generations by the Rieux family and offers calm and comfort at 5 min from the Cathedral Sainte Cecile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Antoine Albi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing