We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay in Albi ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie Saint-Antoine

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Why stay in Albi ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This poor quality hotel is reported to be the best in Albi. We can't imagine what the lesser ones are like ! Saint Antoine is very run down and shocked us from the entrance already as
the miserable place it turned out to be indeed. Furniture and decor are basic 1960 's, it is a very unwelcoming place in spite of the kind and very helpful reception ladies. Very much overpriced and maybe 3 stars, certainly not 4. No restaurant. The management, we guess, is cutting corners to make as much money as possible. We all know that such attitude does not work for very long in the hotel business.
If hotels are so bad, why stay in Albi ? You can see the town, the Cathedral and Lautrec museum within one Day and don't need to spend the night there at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    24
    12
    0
See reviews for
23
67
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have had a lovely room on the gardeside, not that we acn see the garden because the room was on third floor with a small window... but it was just too originla a wall was totally covered with big fishes so exotic!
Breakfast was really nice with home-made cake and home-made yoghourt, really delicious and the view on the garden in the breakfast room with the sun rising... a pleasure!
Ladies at the reception desk are very helpfull in choice of restaurant for evening and Albi is a really lovely city, our stay was too short we will come back !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Those who ever visited the great Cathar Albi know how positively fascinating that experience can be.
Those who will ever stay at this 4 Star (!!!) Hostellerie we wish more luck than was accorded to us.
While outside of the old historic area, this was no problem as a few minute walk will do the job.
Otherwise, this is what we got for one night price of 195 Euros, parking extra.

* Junior suite that is somewhat large than averager room with protruding bathroom wall giving it an appearance of something resembling "suite". Oh yes, there was a love seat sofa to be fair.
* Two burned out lightbulbs in the room, one in bathroom.
* Separate toilet cubicle within the bathroom itself behind its own door. there was a light fixture and a fan in there albeit with no means of activating these in absence of any switch.

On the positive, the pretty and friendly young lady at the reception was great, even valiantly offering to help with our luggage as there was nobody else in sight in this 4 Star hotel.

No breakfast either and even though the retaurant and bar on premises looked nice, these were open and available, get this, to organized groups only!!!

Great city, though!

Peter B. Toronto

Room Tip: Perhaps be more persistent than we were in our selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here while on an escorted bus tour. My favorite hotel of the trip, although other tour members did not have a room as big and nice as ours.
Large separate sitting room with couch, table, 2 chairs, antique dresser, art work, great lighting, and a TV. Sliding panel doors opened into the roomy bedroom, with great bed and 2nd TV in bedroom. Large bathroom. Windows in sitting area and bedroom opened onto the garden area. Remote control closed and opened outside shutters.

Decor of room was like an English garden motif, very cheery, not garish. Spotlessly clean. There was even a separate entry area with a good sized closet. Plenty of room for 2 large suitcases. Robes were in the closet. Good lighting and convenient light switches everywhere in room.

The public areas of the hotel were very nice - lots of art and comfortable sitting areas. I wish we had stayed another couple nights there. I didn't want to leave! Great location - just walk right into old town Albi.
Dinner was included at the hotel and it was just ok. But I don't like duck and I'm kinda finicky, so others may not agree with me as to dinner.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and I drove around France for 5 weeks staying 1 or 2 nights in each Hotel.
We loved this Hotel the best. We had a loverly room with a Floral theme - we heard from other guests that each room has a different theme.
The evening food was excellent. The French idea of Breakfast is interesting.
It was the only hotel we stayed in that we felt "at home". We loved the Lounge/reading room looking out on a beautiful small garden. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the hotel so it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank downunderup60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Located in the historic center and only a few blocks from the square with Saint-Cecile Cathedral (exterior formidable, interior breath-taking!) and the Toulouse-Lautrec Museum (closed Tuesdays). Convenient secure parking accessed from the parallel street behind the front entrance of the hotel - 7euro. With luck, a parking space opened at the front entrance of the hotel. Able to run in and the gentleman at the reception desk came to help unload the luggage, then took the car to the parking lot! Didn't have breakfast, an extra 18euro - too expensive! Hotel room was modern, comfortable and reasonably priced (traditional room; 'privilege' rooms higher cost). Very nice sitting area on the ground floor off the lobby that looks out to the large lawn and garden area in the back. A path leads to the parking area. Albi definitely warranted more than a one night stay, and would be a good base to explore the hill towns nearby. Will definitely return and plan to stay at the Saint-Antoine again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ready2travel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Dull,old noisy, no view except of roof and air conditioners. Noisy and creaky. Few amenities. 18 euro breakfast for little. Good for3-star and 40 euro reduction in rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.2 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 25 in Albi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Albi Bastides
0.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#6 of 25 in Albi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
0.6 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint-Antoine

Property: Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Address: 17 rue Saint Antoine, 81000, Albi, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Saint-Antoine 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet place in the town center of Albi, the Hotel Saint Antoine is hold for 5 generations by the Rieux family and offers calm and comfort at 5 min from the Cathedral Sainte Cecile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Antoine Albi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing