We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Albi Bastides
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Albi
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed here (with friends) on the night of 14th July for the second year running. The rooms are not great, sandwiched into an old mill building, but the views are very good (so long as you look onto the river and Cathedral and, I think are probably best on the 3rd floor). The main reason for choosing this place was the excellent dinner (booked up a long way ahead). For 45 euros each we had a smashing 5 (or was it 6?) course meal, a fun "tricolour" cocktail and copious amounts of good quality wine included in the price. And, of course, the meal ended just as the 30 minute firework spectacular started up below the walls of the Bishop's Palace - right across the river from the hotel's terrace - one of the best possible view points. A great evening!
The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and there is ample car park space (in a very busy city). For those who don't know it, Albi has an enormous Cathedral (said to be the largest brick-build building in the world) with a stunning Rood Screen covered with depictions of the final judgement and the torments of hell, etc. (A grim reminder of the very horrible deaths that the many thousants of so-called Albigensian - Cathar - heretics suffered in the Thirteeth Century.) The aforesaid Bishop's Palace also houses THE collection of Toulouse-Lautrec' s art. Albi is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 766 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our stay here for one night was great. Yes the room was small but the view over the river was stunning. The restaurant was very good and the hotel is well situated for the short walk into the centre of Albi.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Having booked a standard double with view we were given a dark dingey double for 89euro that was totally unacceptable. Why did they not communicate with us via email. Feel I would book direct with hotel next time. Other room shown was twin with view for 99euro and although we wanted double bed view was amazing. So exhausted when we got there that we had supper in Le Moulin, their restaurant. Service impreccable and wine superb, food good too and the view......

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Very helpful staff all the way. Beautiful hotel from the outside with stunning views. Rooms are however small (even superior ones)and furniture looks dated but overall a very good value. Had late room service : service and food were excellent with a perfect wine selection. A good choice in Albi for a short stay.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

You wouldn't stay here for the rooms, which are very poor for the price. However the hotel is very close to city centre and the restaurant, overlooking the river and bridges, is excellent.
We had paid extra for a 'superior' room which overlooked the river; but it was so small you could not sit at the 'desk' as the 'double' bed (actually 2 singles pushed together) did not allow you enough room to get the chair out. There was no tea or coffee making equipment and we could get no hot water for a shower or bath before dinner. When I complained to the front desk I was told that many of the other guests had had a bath and I should wait an hour or so and then try again for hot water !
The previous night we had used a Kyriad in Clermont Ferrand - this was half the price of this Mercure, had a better, bigger room, loads of hot water, and also tea and coffee in the room.
On the plus side the hotel's situation allows you to walk to the cathedral and attractive old town in less than 10 minutes; the reception area, bar and restaurant are very pleasant and the dinner menu limited but excellent quality and value (3 course with wine for around 35 euro per head).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chocice60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

A two night stay (July 14/15 2007), pre-booked via the Accor Hotels 'site. Excellent riverside location offering views across the river of the old town and cathedral. Very good public areas, including the terrace where breakfast was taken along with full advantage of those views! Breakfast is good value and offers a choice of three prices ranging from 6 to 12 Euros, depending upon the choice from basic through to buffet service. Free hotel parking is available to guests. The only real downside is the bedroom size. As the Michelin Green guide observes, the rooms are functional.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toqueblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed for one night in June. Three star, and much more than an average Mercure shoe box. The hotel’s private parking led to a rather smart reception and bar, although there were the usual utilitarian upper corridors. The hotel is a converted mill on the other side of River Tarn from Albi's city centre. This is very much to its advantage and the river facing rooms have quite stunning views of the cathedral and Berbie Palace, the latter now the home of the magnificent Toulouse-Lautrec museum. The comfortable room we had was a little small and unusually shaped due to the constraints of the original building, but it wasn't a problem. We were fortunate in getting a river view. Some may be put off by the noise from the weir in the river but it didn't bother us and the window can always be closed! The view was memorable as shown in members' photos.

The hotel restaurant looked nice, but we didn’t have dinner there because its terrace was fully booked so we couldn’t be outside and enjoy the view. We did, though, have a lovely breakfast outside the next morning. The cathedral and surrounding restaurants are a pleasant stroll from the hotel, over the Pont Vieux, dating from AD 1035. A good place to stay in Albi, but if you want to eat outside at the hotel do make sure you reserve a table for the terrace in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albi hotels
0.5 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 26 in Albi
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Albi Centre le Theatro
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Albi le Cantepau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel d'Orleans
0.7 mi away
Relais et Chateaux La Reserve
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie Saint-Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Albi Bastides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Albi Bastides

Address: 41 B rue Porta, 81000, Albi, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Albi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albi
Price Range: $97 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Albi Bastides 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 rooms in the city centre near the Pont Neuf on the Tarn river banks. In watermill building dated 1770. 500 meters from the Berbie Palace and museums. 800 meters from Ste Cécile Cathedral. Bar, regional restaurant and 3 meeting rooms (30 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Albi Bastides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Albi Bastides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing