We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal local city centre lunch”
Review of Ambroisie

Ambroisie
Ranked #2 of 250 Restaurants in Albi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal local city centre lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had lunch at the Ambroisie on 2 August 2011. Both Madame (front of house) and Monsieur (the chef) are charming hosts. We had a set menu which was very enjoyable and good value.

The restaurant is in a side street close to the cathedral. Anyone visiting Albi would enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jaysBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    71
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monflanquin, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food & feeling 'at home' !”
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This restaurant with the size and the relaxing intimacy (!) of a nicely decorated living room having just more than 10 tables was our great discovery during our stroll through Albi in order to find a good place to pass a romantic evening. And so we did! A warm welcome by the owners ('he' cooks, 'she' serves) who understand exactly what good food is about; fresh products, simply combined into a good recipe, and also presented in a creative way (my fresh tunafish salad was served in its blue can ;-) .. simply original!). Good wines and advice to accompany your meal: I had a lovely "blanc perlé", a dry white wine with a tiny little sparkle to go with my "Surprise de St. Malo" (fish). Simply not to miss in the old Albi village when you're there to visit this birth town of artist painter Henri de Toulouse Lautrec .

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank maynedeboulede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food & a warm welcome”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Imaginatively prepared meals served with graciousness and charm. The owners take great pride in their achievements. And very reasonably priced. Not to miss when in Albi !

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymond92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a delightful evening!”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Very cosy and friendly little restaurant, good food and very warm welcome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The food and the ambiance that we experienced in this restaurant were exquisite:
The entrees were extremely tasty and creative, the main dishes such as the duck confit and various tartes (quiches) were served with two vegetables, were all well prepared and seasoned.
Some desserts were unique and all were delicious.
The restaurant is a small family affair with a warm inviting atmosphere.
It was one of our best dining experiences in France;

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ltraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambroisie also viewed

 

Been to Ambroisie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing