We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Base for sightseeing”
Review of Hotel Les Colombes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Les Colombes
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A centrally based hotel, within walking distance of centre of lovely town, full of riverside bars and restaurants. Room was very small, but exceptionally clean; tiny bathroom but immaculately clean also. We were there for a few days' sightseeing, so were not spending time in room, so effectively, size did not matter! Continental breakfast kept us going until lunch.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room, but didn't spend time out there as we were either out or asleep; but it l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bas011656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a road trip round Europe and picked Verdun as a convenient stopover between Calais and Zurich.
Very convenient as just off the motorway and the hotel was easy to find. Room wasn't huge but it had everything we wanted and the staff were very nice and helpful.
A short (pleasant) walk into the main centre of Verdun which was lovely - very peaceful and relaxing. Our room overlooked the main road and when we opened the windows at night (as it was boiling and no air con) we did hear one noisy group about 2am but they passed by pretty quick. Breakfast was included and was excellent - very typically French!
A big plus for us was the secure underground garage where we could leave our car, Plus it had an amazing old 2CV in the corner!
Ultimately you get what you pay for - we could have stayed somewhere else and paid more for air con & a big room. We chose not to and we're happy with what we got!

Room Tip: If you think you're going to want to sleep with the window open (i.e. when it's hot) you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieB816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very basic facilities, with tiny rooms and smaller en-suites. Breakfast consists of a pre-prepared plate of bread, croissant, madelein, coffee, butter and jam. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but is only a short walk from the riverside area of Verdun.

On the plus-side - there is garage parking (at a €6 charge) although we got a deal for three motorcycles.

I think we paid an all-up cost of €43 for a double-room, bike parking and breakfast - which is good if you are just looking for an overnight stop in the centre of Verdun. I wouldn't want to stay there for a week, however.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel in a double room during a cycling trip in the area.
Hotel room was basic but spotlessly clean with a lovelly warm shower with lots of power which was just what we needed after a long day on the saddle. Hotel is very quiet so we got a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was also included in the cost of the room and cosisted of the usual continental mix of cereal, hams, cheese and baguettes. More than satisfactory for the price we paid.
Overall, my one nights stay for the cost involved was pleasant and I can't complain.

Room Tip: There are hotel rooms at the rear of the building which are really quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The service and location was the only highlight of this hotel. Not dirty but it certainly didn't feel clean. Yet what made this stay painful was the worthless excuse for a wifi. Might be okey for a one night stay. Might

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazingjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here during a motorcycle tour with four mates, for two nights. Hotel is clean and basic, but cheap! Secure parking available but is charged for as an extra ( I think E3 per night, which is cheap! ). Breakfast is good. This is not the Dorchester but it s clean, tidy and close to the town centre.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank steelytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here in early June with two friends on a biking tour. We used Verdun as an overnight stop over. I found it difficult to rate this hotel. In terms of the facilities, it would't warrant any more than three stars. The accomodation was fairly basic and our room was a tad on the small side, though comfortable and clean. However, in terms of value for money, it would get a deserved five stars - tremendous value for money! Including breakfast and overnight parking in the underground garage it cost us under £20 each. I wouldn't take my wife here for our wedding anniversary but I would have no problem recommending it as an inexpensive stopover if travelling through France.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noctonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verdun hotels
1.3 mi away
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
#3 of 10 in Verdun
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Verdun
Ibis Budget Verdun
#6 of 10 in Verdun
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Paul
Le Saint Paul
#8 of 10 in Verdun
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Tigre
Hotel du Tigre
#4 of 10 in Verdun
334 reviews
5.0 mi away
Le Village Gaulois
Le Village Gaulois
#5 of 10 in Verdun
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Colombes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Colombes

Address: 9 avenue Garibaldi, 55100 Verdun, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Verdun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Price Range: $60 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Les Colombes 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Les Colombes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Colombes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing