We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Hotel Orchidees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Orchidees
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A very nice and clean hotel with very friendly staff, especially when trying to speak a little french. The restaurant is very recommendable (dinner only) with excellent food and wines. Plenty of car park space in front of the hotel. A car, however, is necessary to visit the battle field and/or the city of Verdun. On request, a very nice and rich lunch picnic box is provided at a reasonable price. Should I visit Verdun again I definitely know where to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orchidees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice, convenient hotel and very well located for the battle sites. The people at the hotel were lovely and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mittensam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Its not a four star hotel and this is reflected in the price but what it does, it does very well indeed. The double and twin rooms are probably on the small side but we had a family room with the children and it was very large and comfortable. Its close to Verdun and, being on the eastern side of the town, is actually closer to the battlefields sites than the town itself is. The owners are friendly and helpful. For kids there are various outdoor games - a petanque area, a trampoline (better for younger ones than teens), a swingset.
The minuses - unfortunately while we were there, there was a problem with the filtration for the pool so it was unusable - which was a huge disappointment as it was one of the reasons why we had chosen this hotel. Breakfast - very limited choice - no hot options and very small choice on fruit, pastries, yoghurts etc. When items ran out (milk, croissants etc) the staff were willing to replace them but they took some running to earth - there was usually no members of the hotel staff in the breakfast room.
THe pluses - the rooms were clean, the location was great, free car parking onsite - and we ate in the hotel restaurant one night and were comletely surprised at the quality - it was really very good indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-Grand-Sophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nice and clean hotel. Friendly staff, good food.
Nice they have their own bar, so you can drink something before or after dinner. Even outside when the weather is good. Easy access to Verdun battle sites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgiumWim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is located in the industrial zone bit out of Verdun. But, once inside, you do not feel like in industrial zone. You see green garden with some chairs to sit and some children toys. Rooms are simple, but clean and bathroom is nice. Very positive surprise was restaurant - dinner for very tasty, service friendly, choice good. Don´t be afraid to eat there, Breakfast was also good.
In case of cold weather be prepared for cold in the hall between rooms and reception and that you will have to be patient until the heating in the room makes it warmer.
Parking is in front of the hotel for free. War monuments are closed, so as the city, but not walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

A car is quite essential for this hotel, as it's a bit out of the Verdun town centre. It's signposted on the right as you drive up on D112 towards the Verdun memorial (assuming you're in town for WW1 sites). Once you get there, you forget it's in the middle of an industrial estate and it feels like any basic hotel and there is a lot of greenery around. From the hotel it's only about a five minutes drive further up to the memorial and other sites.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly and speak basic English, but knowing some French would be helpful (although we survived without). There is a small bar and a bigger restaurant, and our dinner was very nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast is self-serving and quite substantial as well in French terms.

Rooms are quite basic and small, but they'll do the job after being on the move all day. But they are not really made for spending too much time in. Overall, the hotel offered good value for the price we payed (58 euros) and we had a very pleasant stay in Verdun.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in September whilst visiting the battlefields around Verdun.

Although situated on an industrial estate the hotel was clean and the gardens were well cared for. The room was basic - reminded me of an Ibis- but had everything you needed for a short stay. The bed was very low and soft (which took a little getting used to!) and the bathroom was pre-moulded like you get on houseboats.

The hotel was easy to find and there is plenty of car parking; it is extremely handy for the battlefields and only a short drive into the centre of Verdun.

We had opted for a demi-pension rate because of the hotel being out of town; the food was adequate but no more than that; Wednesday was obviously the chef's night off and the meal was really quite poor on that occasion. Service was patchy - the one waitress was determined not to catch anyone's eye once you had been served; getting coffee was impossible in the restaurant after dinner - we had to decamp to the bar area which was a sofa under a large plasma TV!

The breakfasts were good - a logically laid out buffet with lots of selection. One criticism would be, however, that if you were a late breakfaster you were joined by various members of the staff who stopped for coffee, a chat and reading the newspapers in the Breakfast Room.

In summary, the Orchidees was fit for purpose for this trip - but don't expect any frills and, if you can, eat elsewhere, especially on Wednesdays!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuggleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verdun hotels
1.5 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
211 reviews
6.3 mi away
Le Village Gaulois
Le Village Gaulois
#5 of 10 in Verdun
154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Tigre
Hotel du Tigre
#4 of 10 in Verdun
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
HOTEL B&B VERDUN
#3 of 10 in Verdun
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Colombes
Hotel Les Colombes
#9 of 10 in Verdun
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Verdun
Ibis Budget Verdun
#7 of 10 in Verdun
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidees

Address: Rue Robert Schuman, 55100 Verdun, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Verdun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Verdun
Price Range: $88 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orchidees 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orchidees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing