We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh so French!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We absolutely loved our room in the Annex. It was so well decorated and cozy. Would have rated it a 5 but no elevators does make it a challenge if you have luggage and you are on the 3rd floor. The cathedral view is gorgeous at night.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CEGDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 367 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is not perfect, but the wonderful French decor and supremely helpful staff make up for any imperfections. Our welcome was extremely warm and despite our being younger than madame, she insisted on trying to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs. Sense prevailed after our protestations and a young waiter from the restaurant eventually took the heaviest bags. The staircases are wooden and quite uneven, so a warning to those who are not as young as they were or, as in the case of my daughter, have just had a cast off a broken limb!
We stayed here one night each way to and from Austria, as Metz is half way. Our first night bedroom was a simple but comfortable twin room on the top floor with a wonderful view of the beautiful cathedral and perfectly adequate bathroom. This is a 3 star hotel, so don't expect luxury. Our second night stay was in a double bedroom on the first floor and a single bedroom on the second. No view of the cathedral, but lovely French decor, antique furniture and rugs. The double room had a sitting room and 2 televisions and was very prettily decorated with 'toile de jouy' fabric.
The single room was 'small but perfectly formed' and again very prettily decorated in blues. All three rooms are typically French in style and feel, which is such a welcome change from the synthetic uniformity of modern hotels.
Breakfast buffet selection gave a good choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheese, pastries, cakes and croissants, with fresh orange juice. Although on our second stay the array had been somewhat depleted by a tour group of German people who got in before us and there was not a great choice of bread, one slice of ham and no proper yoghurt left. However, because on the first day, the coffee machine wasn't working, and because of the lack of choice on the second occasion, we had a breakfast cost discounted each time, which was given voluntarily as we had not commented on either of these events. Bottled water was offered freely both before retiring and for both our onward journeys. Both younger people at reception were extremely helpful with directions to the restaurants we were going to and for our exit out of the town, which wasn't that easy. There is a covered public carpark a stone's throw from the hotel and all in all it is an excellent place to stay in Metz, which is a magnificent town. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms of the Cathedral is lovely, but the rooms at the back are just as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagIul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed two nights in a room overlooking the cathedral. The room was spacious, furnished with antiques, and the hotel is like staying in your rich aunt's old mansion. The staff was among the most helpful and pleasant I've ever met - they made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was outstanding: at least 10 types of fruit and excellent coffee and pastries. They even had my favourite yogurt.

Now for the less-than excellent: our bed was so hard the first night I dreamt I was in prison! Fortunately, after I mentioned it to the clerk in the morning (excellent staff!) they were able to put a mattress pad on the bed which made it much more comfortable the second night. Also, the Wi-Fi was very spotty and kept disconnecting in our room. The manager wondered why we spent so much time in a bench in the lobby :) Still, a well-deserved 4 out of five. I would go back (and ask for a softer bed!)

Room Tip: We loved the view of the Cathedral, but the street is noisy. We were able to close our window at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on a work trip, the rooms are very old but comfortable and you really feel like your in France! We had a room on the top floor at the front of the hotel and had the best views of the Cathedral (especially when its lit up at night!). In the morning we didnt have breakfast but went just over the road where there was a great market with lots of fresh meat and fruit/veg.

I wouldnt normally stay in a hotel like this as I prefer more modern hotels but it did the job for one night and there were no problems or complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for amazing views of the Cathedral opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived in Metz on the 27th December to our pre-booked hotel: The Hotel de la Cathedral.
Reports on this hotel had been positive so we had decided to make it our overnight stop.
Not always easy to find a decent stop over at this time of the year but all of our e-mails had been answer promptly.

Everything went smoothly and we even found a place to park in the underground car park across the road from the hotel.

Our room was exactly as described and was clean and warm with a perfect view of the Cathedral opposite. All good.

Breakfast next morning was first class with a great selection of fresh fruits, freshly squeezed (real!) orange juice and an impressive choice of cakes and pastries. The hotel manager was one of the most friendly and helpful guys I have met and believe me I have met some managers that don't deserve to stand in his shadow.

All in all a good experience and reasonable cost. Try it.

Room Tip: Rooms are all double glazed but if you want the view at the front expect a little noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEssexPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Hotel de la Cathedrale deserves its positive reviews! The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and a very good value. Lunch was also great in their couscous restaurant. Our room was large and comfortable, with a beautiful view of the cathedral. It was also quiet. The hotel's location is excellent for wandering around Metz, which is an appealing city that deserves to be better known. It is also close to many restaurants, shops, etc. This hotel is an excellent choice and an incredible value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AvidTraveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were travelling eastwards towards the wine and food trail and booked a one night stopover in Metz at this lovely hotel.
We wished we had stayed longer such was the charm and beauty of this town.We had a magnificent 1st floor room facing the cathedral which was spacious and beautifully appointed.
We woke the following morning to see the cathedral bathed in a suspended mist which was so lovely.
Sunlight soon broke through as we went downstairs in to the breakfast room.We were greeted with a sensational assortment of quality breakfast offerings. We had to take photos - it was such a visual feast!!!!
This town has a lot to offer and is certainly worth visiting for a few days

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank snooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#2 of 30 in Metz
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#9 of 30 in Metz
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#3 of 30 in Metz
720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#5 of 30 in Metz
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Address: 25 Place de Chambre, 57000, Metz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: $103 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Metz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing