We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Metz for our wedding anniversary and chose this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The room was beautiful! We loved the exposed beams in the ceiling, the room decor, the view of the cathederal from the window...it was wonderful. The staff was very friendly. We arrived late and had eaten on our way to Metz, so we did not get to eat in the hotel restaurant - but we plan to next time we go. We totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a cathederal view. Our room was top floor, cathederal view. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 364 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wonderful intimate hotel. Great location - across the road from the Cathedral, the marche couvert , and two minutes away from the tourist information office.
We stayed for two short stretches in both the hotel and the annex. Lovely rooms each unique in its own way. Breakfast is very good and served in a very nice atmosphere. Most important are the friendly and knowledgeable staff. This must be be the place to stay in Metz!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GDJ274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed here two or three times and always breathe a huge sigh of relief that it's just the same. Old, discrete, informal, quirky and friendly with a great Algerian restaurant at ground floor level (wonderful couscous and lamb brochettes). Staff are laid back and the annex particularly has some pretty unique spaces and rooms with a stunning view up to the Cathedral on the street side. Parking is taken care of by a (very tight) multi storey affair embedded in a suitable aged structure across the street - very convenient and cityscape neutral. Metz is curiously sleepy in the winter but there are some great restaurants but always remember the golden rules of eating in France - be at lunch by 12.15 and sit down to dinner by 8 at the latest.

Room Tip: Cathedral side is very beautiful - dont go for floors above first in the annex if in poor health or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the street, this hotel looks rather ordinary in a row of townhouses facing the Cathedral of Metz. However, once you step inside your room, you will be delighted by the beamed ceiling, the charming decor and the totally modern conveniences that surround you. Our room had a lovely view of the Cathedral, a totally renovated bathroom with bath and a separate WC. Double paned windows made for a tranquil sleep. Breakfast included a table full of fresh seasonal fruits in addition to homemade tarts, freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of breads, cheeses and cold cuts. The staff could not have been nicer as this is a family managed hotel and it shows. Said, the manager, went above and beyond in helping us with various issues that arose during our stay. Do not hesitate to stay here as it does not get much better!

Room Tip: Rooms 208 and 308 in the annex are large and lovely & have stunning views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It hardly seems needed to recommend this hotel once again. We stayed in the annex with rooms facing the cathedral and were delighted (hand-held shower notwithstanding -- see next review). Beamed ceilings, hardwood floors, great staff. Only place I'd stay in Metz; which, by the way, has its own sights and could be used as a base to explore a larger region. Very very nice town.

Room Tip: View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were with our adult children and had two "Cathedrale view" rooms at "the top" of the annex - 3rd floor. For the last night of our stay, those rooms weren't available and we moved to the "non view" rooms on the 3rd floor. The "Cathedrale View" rooms were definitely nicer and worth the small surcharge over the "non-view" rooms. As is pointed out by the hotel when you book, there are a fair bit of stairs to climb to get to these rooms. We were happy with the annex choice - it's literally right next door to the hotel and feels like it's part of the hotel, really. The annex rooms ooze with charm.

Some of these rooms do not have a shower (e.g. it was a tub with hand shower only). As I recall, it was the nicer "view" rooms that did not. So you might want to ask about that if it's important to you.

The cathedral underground parking lot entrance is kinda "catty corner" to the hotel and is a narrow, square entrance located in the middle of a wall of the building that houses the Covered Market. There's a big "P" sign showing the number of spaces left. We had a bigger vehicle (Opel Crossover) and it was kinda tight in there, but manageable. It took me a couple of back and forths to get into a spot (with my wife acting as the "outside the car" advisor). We left the car there during our entire stay (e.g. several days). The GPS coordinates of the parking lot entrance are 49.120113,6.174354

The hotel is located a half a block away from that entrance - at the downhill bottom of that street.

Breakfast was a cold buffet, but very good/large and reasonably priced. Kinda spoiled us for later places we would stay on our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bud4977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the place to stay if you want a friendly, clean hotel in a great location at a good price. The lack of an elevator in the main hotel was not a problem for us since we travel without big suitcases. Our room on the second floor had a wonderful view of the cathedral. The slight drawback was that the cathedral lights prevented the room from becoming as dark as I would have liked, but otherwise the room was comfortable, and the English speaking hotel staff is very helpful. A perfect base from which to explore the charming city of Metz.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_Kay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#2 of 30 in Metz
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#3 of 30 in Metz
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#9 of 30 in Metz
928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Metz Centre Cathedrale
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cathedrale

Address: 25 Place de Chambre, 57000, Metz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: $104 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cathedrale Metz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing