We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel, Friendly staff and very reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citotel Cecil Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Metz
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good Hotel, Friendly staff and very reasonable”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Cecil Hotel was a definite keeper. The hotel was very well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The cost is extremely reasonable as well. The only thing that kept it from being excellent was the location. It was in a nice part of town, just a little outside the city center. It was a 20 minute walk to the center of the old town and the cathedral. The walk was very pleasant and the bus was very easy and the bus stop was half a block from the hotel, so it was easy to get to the center of the city, however, you didn't walk right out the front door and there it was. Although the hotel is very conveniently located a very short walk from the train station. The closest bakery was about 10 minutes away. In France you are usually never more than 2 minutes from the closest corner bakery. But again the walk was pleasant. I would recommend the Cecil Hotel to anyone traveling to Metz, France. Very good exerience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_machen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    99
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
67
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazerswoude Rijndijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Cécil’ Hotel is managed be very friendly owners. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed the fast internet connection. The hotel offers an inside parking where we parked our care and bicycles safely. Room Nr. 46 was OK. The Cécil’ Hotel is situated close to the city centre and the railway station is very near. Not only in the old town of Metz, but also in the direct surroundings of the hotel are bars and restaurants. When we like to stay in Metz again, we will book a room at the Cécil’ Hotel.

Room Tip: Discuss your preferences with the owners and you will get the most suitable room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

If I could, I think I'd give the place a 2.5 review score. We had a 3 person room, with two double beds and we could barely walk around them the room was soooo tiny. The shower was fine and it was clean in the bathroom as well as the room. In the bathroom, all the soaps were kept in dispensers on the wall, so it felt a little dorm-ish / cheap. The location was fine, about 10-15 minute walk to downtown Metz and about 10 minute walk to the Pompideu museum (main reason to go to Metz in my opinion). The price was right for what we got, I just wouldn't go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakyCreekan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is alright for cheaper hotel and if you need somewhere reasonably central in Metz. The main plus is the staff are very friendly and helpful and there is 24 hour reception. The reception is alright and there is an amount of the usual leaflets with information, leather chairs to sit in and off this the breakfast area. Our room, 3 on the first floor, was basic and perhaps a little worn. Fittings are not of a modern standard. The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is again simple and not all that modern. But note that everything is very clean. No tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer. Digital TV though. Breakfast is an additional €8 and the usual fare of coffee, rolls, cheese and cold meats. Again helpful staff and all very clean. There is a garage for parking at an additional €9 per night. It is very narrow and I only just got my Kia Ceed in. If you email the hotel in advance they will happily reserve a space. The hotel is located very near the station. It is also in the business are so not many cages and restaurants. The city centre is 10 minutes walk away where more is to be found. Overall it is an OK hotel and worth considering. Not luxurious but acceptable for the cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickWass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fairly basic. I know it's only a 2 star but even so the rooms and bathrooms felt 'unloved' and were quite poorly equipped. If you are looking for an inoffensive stop over though, it will do the trick. Quite a long walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Exceptionally friendly & helpful staff. Very good room [52] on the 5th floor at the end of the corridor so very quiet - both from street noise or an adjoining room. Our corridor had automatic lighting which came on as one exited the lift or room. Very good breakfast [8.50 euros] with fresh fruit, yoghourt & lots of the bits & pieces favoured by German guests, although we'd have preferred half a baguette to a roll. Excellent location, just 6 minutes walk from the station & 20 from the cathedral. We arrived by train & walked everywhere - we're 70+.
We stayed 5 nights & enjoyed Metz, helped by a wonderful exhibition {1917] at the Pompidou Centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

we spent one night at this nice essential but nice hotel.
friendly staff at reception is a very good welcome. clean decent room with a good quality breakfast. we could not park our big car in their garage but we found a free space just outside the front door
not impressed about Metz but this is a different subject

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TittiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#1 of 30 in Metz
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#8 of 30 in Metz
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Metz Centre
Kyriad Metz Centre
#5 of 30 in Metz
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Metz Centre Cathedrale
0.3 mi away
Campanile Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Cecil Hotel

Property: Citotel Cecil Hotel
Address: 14 rue Pasteur, 57000, Metz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Cecil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Citotel Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing