We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Exceptionally friendly & helpful staff. Very good room [52] on the 5th floor at the end of the corridor so very quiet - both from street noise or an adjoining room. Our corridor had automatic lighting which came on as one exited the lift or room. Very good breakfast [8.50 euros] with fresh fruit, yoghourt & lots of the bits & pieces favoured by German guests, although we'd have preferred half a baguette to a roll. Excellent location, just 6 minutes walk from the station & 20 from the cathedral. We arrived by train & walked everywhere - we're 70+.
We stayed 5 nights & enjoyed Metz, helped by a wonderful exhibition {1917] at the Pompidou Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

we spent one night at this nice essential but nice hotel.
friendly staff at reception is a very good welcome. clean decent room with a good quality breakfast. we could not park our big car in their garage but we found a free space just outside the front door
not impressed about Metz but this is a different subject

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TittiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Price was right, bedding comfy, wi-fi worked great. The staff was pleasant and friendly and advised us of a well-priced restaurant nearby. Spain beat Italy in a soccer match that night and we were awoken to horns blaring in the square....don't stay on the street side!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel has everything and it's within five minutes walk away from the train station. Despite its convenient location, it's actually very quiet. That being said, the sound insulation between the rooms are woeful though but there's nothing can be done about that. The corridors are not lit most of the time and that's an issue in winter time. Due to cost cutting, skylight is used abundantly to the detriment of guests. In Australasia, this will not be allowed under fire safety code. Depending where you are in the building, wi-fi may not be up to scratch (mine is hovering between one to two strength the whole time I stayed there). The hotel is family run and the owner is very helpful. Mostly, he speaks excellent English too. The decor is rather outdated (trapped in the time capsule of the 60's). The heater is from the yesteryear and so, it's of the large radiator type. Halfway through the night, I turned it to zilch or else, I was to become a toasted sandwich the following day but I got severely dehydrated though! That being said, I can't complain much because of the amount that I pay & also, the bed is firm & the room is clean. The bathroom & the toilet are also separate too! Commendable stay

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I stayed here several nights and it was perfect! The owners spoke english and were very friendly and helpful! The room was clean and recently updated. The location was on quiet street not far from the train station. This was the best hotel I stayed at in my two week vacation. It was good value for the cost I thought. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is close to the train station but not too close. It was a 15 min walk to most of Metz' attractions. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and quite, you could leave the window open for fresh air (no A/C) and not be disturbed by traffic noise. And free wifi that stays logged on.

Room Tip: Booked through Priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schellter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We planned on a one night stay in Metz and chose this hotel mostly as it seemed convenient to reach by car. We found it to be a pleasant but very simple hotel situated in a quiet street about a few minutes (three streets) easy walk from the train station were we parked the car for11 euros per 24 hours. The room was small but can't expect too much for the price. Very friendly helpful staff. We did not take the breakfast which required booking in advance. Like most of the 2-3 star hotels in Europe this one had no air conditioning either and it was hot day and hot in the room. Opening the door to the front street proved too noisy for us. Its easy to walk from the hotel into Metz center. Lots of good pattiseries around the area and a marche to shop for food. WiFi was free. From the hotel we walked to the Pompidu center which is about 20 min. walk.

Room Tip: Its a plain hotel if you are OK with it, book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#2 of 30 in Metz
349 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
0.3 mi away
Campanile Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Citadelle Metz - MGallery By Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#5 of 30 in Metz
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Metz Centre
Mercure Metz Centre
#3 of 30 in Metz
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare

Address: 14 rue Pasteur, 57000, Metz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: $64 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get rested and ready for anything at the Comfort Hotel® Cecil Metz Gare. Our non-smoking Metz, FR hotel is in the center of Metz a few steps away from the Gare de Metz ville (train station). Nearby attractions include: - The Temple of Neuf - Pompidou Center - Walygator Park - Amneville Zoo - St. Stephen’s Cathedral Whether you are staying for leisure or visiting for work, our pet-friendly hotel in Metz offers amenities you can count on like free WiFi and a free daily newspaper. Pause and enjoy relaxation in your cozy, charming guest room, which offers amenities like a flat-screen TV, hair dryer and work area. Behind every great day is a great night at the Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare. Metz hotels will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Rested, set, go–book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Hotel Cecil Metz Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing