We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delusions of grandeur”
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Reviewed July 26, 2007

Hotel is in a lovely setting in Metz. The city itself has some nice areas and could be a lot more interesting when the new Pompidieu centre opens, for most people though it is a conevenient stop off on the long drive south.

First impressions of the hotel were spoilt as they had no record of our reservation. Suprisingly but fortunately the hotel was not full and so this was no problem.

We were given a "charm" room but without the requested a/c. We were told these deluxe rooms didn't have a/c. The room we eventually got was nice and clean with a comfy bed but it was a hassle. The original room despite the price premium was tired and lacking in any atmosphere

Car park is not a problem but it looks dark and foreboding when you first enter. It is free for hotel guests and was convenient.

After previous reviews we didnt bother with the restaurant, and neither did many others by the look of it. The pizza place that is also part of the com[plex was busy.

Overall a convenient stop over but a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2007

The hotel was wonderful. Very nice staff, beautiful room with yacuzzi. The location is ideal. The restaurant, however, was a shame!! We had read a negative review of an English guest, but we hoped that the food would be better, this time. On the contrary: vegetables and potatoes cooked too long ( no taste at all ), grilled fish dry......We told them that we were disappointed and that there was already a negative opinion of their restaurant on internet.

Gerrit and Joke ( the Netherlands)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank altmezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

On the plus side, the hotel is centrally located and has a great entrance hall and excellent reception staff - very friendly and helpful. There is free parking round the corner but not if you have a big car! The room was disappointingly small. The biggest disappointment though was the "Restaurant du Pont St Marcel" which is beautifully located and I believe connected with the hotel (you can charge your meal to your room although you have to go outside and round the corner to get to it). We have eaten a lot in France and love the food which is usually guaranteed to be delicious and high quality wherever you go, but this is the first time we have had to leave a French restaurant during a meal. The lettuce was slimy and well past its sell by date, food was mostly tinned or tasteless, or worse still we had to spit some out, and so we paid for what we had had and politely left. We sensed that the waitress and the receptionist were not surprised at our complaint.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

What a beautiful place to stay! This was a professionally run, clean and welcoming place to have stayed 5 nights. It was a delight to have found this place and we would recommend it, the attatched restaurant and bar to anybody. Fully disabled accessible.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2006

Excellent hotel, high standard in terms of style, decoration, comfort and cleanliness. Right in the town centre in a nice old building. The high standard I experienced there was a real surprise as I had booked last minute for a business trip and did not spend much time selecting the hotel. However I was delighted with the excellent service and comfort. My only concern would be that the room was a bit small, but they may have given me a smaller room as I was on my own. I also recommend their restaurant just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Michel-B-62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DOMETZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metz hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Metz Technopole
0.8 mi away
Alerion Hotel
Alerion Hotel
#19 of 30 in Metz
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Metz Centre
Novotel Metz Centre
#10 of 30 in Metz
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Mondon
Hotel Le Mondon
#2 of 30 in Metz
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#5 of 30 in Metz
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Metz Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: Entree 1 1 rue du Pont Saint Marcel, 57000, Metz, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range: $76 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing