We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
very nice cathedral with superb stained glasses

This building is surely worth a visit. The stained glasses are astonishing. Very nice statues at... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2021
jefkette
,
Brussels, Belgium
Spectacular Cathedral - Largest collection of Stained Glass in the World!

We visited Metz in May 2019 during our research for our upcoming book "Flavour with Benefits... read more

Reviewed December 9, 2020
charlesbH4893MP
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 2,868 reviews
  
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,868 results
Traveler rating
2,036
742
77
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,036
742
77
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass marc chagall gothic architecture worth a visit beautiful city impressive building cathedral france light interior gargoyles century candles jacques stone christmas organ
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,868 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019

The big attraction for me here were the stained-glass windows that Marc Chagall, of all people, contributed. If you've seen his other stained glass elsewhere, you can't miss them--those deep, glorious blues.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank HikerinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019 via mobile

Metz Cathedral is a must-see. There are many cathedrals in Europe, but due to its size and artistry, this is a stand-out. The roof is vertigo-inducingly high, and it is well maintained and clean. During our visit, we were fortunate enough to catch the choir practicing, and it was transcendent.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank bashupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019

We thought the cathedral was stunning despite all the scaffolding it was clad in when we visited - the interior is truly lovely - a wonderful historic religious building surrounded by a city centre which we found to be a little intimidating and edgy.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2019 via mobile

The Cathedral has the largest collection of stained glass in France! Beautiful, cathedral is in use and stayed for Mass it is in French. The massive pipe organ was played during mass and was beautiful. Beware of gypsy beggars outside posing as collection people of Church. Cathedral is undergoing outside renovation and cleaning from the pollution of cars and years of fossil fires.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank BBQPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

Fantastic stone work outside with intricate carvings. Huge space inside with many stained glass windows and vaulted ceilings. Immediately outside is a large indoor market which is well worth a visit. It includes meat, veg, fish, cheese, many types of teas, coffees.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews