We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant experience!”
Review of L'Excelsior

L'Excelsior
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
L'Excelsior is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 549 Restaurants in Nancy
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Excelsior, the flagship of the School of Nancy, never experiences a quiet moment. Carrying the crown of Nancy's finest historic brasserie, it offers French cuisine bursting with flavours against a stunning Art Nouveau backdrop, located just opposite the train station.
York
Level Contributor
315 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The L'Excelsior is an enormous art nouveau restaurant near the railway station. We ate here a couple of years ago on a rainy mid-week evening in January and just managed to get a seat thanks to the efficiency of the Maitre d' who had complete control of the restaurant despite it being absolutely packed out. This time we booked via the website - again the restaurant was very busy with all the tables having reserved labels on them. We were seated by a pleasant efficient waitress and given the menus to browse over. One of the reasons for returning was that my wife wanted the lobster again as it was so good on our first visit, I ordered the fillet steak. The food arrived and it was as fantastically good as before - wonderful. We followed the mains with dessert, both having the millefeuille and finished off with coffee which came with a variety of sweet nibbles. The service was very good and it was wonderful to watch the way the Maitre d' set a table and topped up your wine glasses.

The L'Exclesior is not just a restaurant, it's an experience in itself - not cheap but well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    710
    268
    109
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“nice ambiance”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Excelsior is located near to the railway station in an art nouveau building. Its rectangular art nouveau dining room, or should I say: dining hall, has very generous dimensions, the rear wall being equipped with an admirable mirror surface up to the about five (or even more) meter high ceiling, making the room even more spacious to the eye. On two sides there are window fronts to the street. The usual semi-high dividers create an attractive ambiance for the guest tables.

I ate out at the Excelsior on four occasions. For the first time I was invited for lunch two years ago; for a second time I was there again in July 2013, during a congress I attended in Nancy. I started alone for lunch, in the evening I invited a group of five friends for dinner. The last time I was out for lunch with my wife.

The waiters and waitresses are very attentive, service is relatively prompt. The menu itself is not too rich, a speciality of the house seems to be seafood – I am not too fond of, especially during the summer. You will find the usual meat dishes, too, sometimes under quite resourceful and creative names. Quality and taste of the food is good in general, but not exceptional. All in all, it is brasserie level. The prices correspond to the ambiance, though, that is to say that they are not too low. Since this brasserie is always pretty crowded, for more than two persons reservation should be appropriate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good traditional Brasserie in great building”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Contrary to what some reviewers have found, we had a very good meal here on a summer Friday evening. Warm welcome and helpful staff. We had a good fee aperitif courtesy of our hotel (Suite Novotel) whose Reception staff gave us a voucher when we told them where we were going. Food was good (including a delicious chocolate dessert) and there's a really good wine list with a lot available in half litre carafes. The building is worth a visit alone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brusque but not brisk”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a disappointing experience. The building is undeniably beautiful and great art nouveau and everything promised well. The reality however was of impatient waiters who seemed to want clients to leave as soon as possible. We went for lunch realising that it would not be cheap but did expect to be able to relax to enjoy the surroundings. It was not a relaxing experience and the food was mediocre and absurdly expensive compared with the quality. For those familiar with Paris it had the freneticism of Le Chartier (always good fun) and should have had the style of Le Train Bleu. It did not. Between the three of us we spent almost 200 euros but the lasting memory is of very average food, aggressive service and generally an unwelcoming event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Go for the "theatre" not for the food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

L'Excelsior is pure theatre. The magnificent art nouveau building, the bustling staff with their long aprons and trays held high, the general ambience and buzz are all great fun, but our food was worse than average at above average prices, and the service on the slow side. On balance I'd still recommend it for the experience, just not for the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Excelsior also viewed

 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 

Been to L'Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing