We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel des Prelats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Prelats
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Perthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in great location”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews commenting on the small rooms and,yes, our room was small but it was very pretty and well appointed with a very nice modern bathroom. Perfectly adequate for a one or two night stay. Just don't bring in too many suitcases. We were quite aware of people in neighbouring rooms but otherwise it was very quiet. Reception staff could not have been more helpful and spoke good English. Location is good and close to Stanislav Square which is spectacular.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    186
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
27
168
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel Prelats was a wonderful experience. We stayed in one of the better rooms, Prelats. It was definitely European, no wash cloths but wonderful bed and great location. A short 2 blocks to Stanislaus Square and the travel bureau office. Close to many of the restaurants on our list and right near the light rail. ONe interesting thing which i found unusual, but maybe I am old fashioned, in one of the Prelats rooms the tub is in the bedroom and in the other it is closed but with a few windows (for a peek at your beloved i suppose). The staff were very nice and helpful and spoke good English. Nancy was wonderful with great art neuveaux buildings. We rented a car from Eurocar and drove to Verdun and Metz and back in one not very difficult day.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJKStLouisMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On a business trip to Nancy with colleagues - the organisers of the conference had booked this for us and they made an excellent choice. Right in the heart of the old city centre, next door to the cathedral and only a short stroll to many excellent restaurants and sights.
The only downside was the small rooms - probably as we were on a discounted block booking. Up on the third floor overlooking the square below, comfortable bed but creaky wooden floow boards befitting the age of the place.
Positives were free WiFi - why do so many hotels charge exorbitant rates for this? Friendly staff and location.
Negatives were the lack of coffee making facilities in the room and lack of a bar / lounge.
Breakfast was typically French - coffee and miniature croissants.

I would certainly go back and pay more for a larger room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A hotel in a great location close to the Square Stanislav. Whilst the rooms are relatively small they are charming and comfortable.

There is a cheap multi-storey car-park in rue Maurice Barres just opposite the hotel.

Overall ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Westside
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great location to main square. An easy walk from the train station, or tram if your lazy, is right across the street. Great views from our room. Bed was very comfortable. Hot shower with great power. Clean room.

"Double" rooms are rather small. A pretty tight fit, but manageable. Wifi was weak, hit or miss, and on the 3rd floor I could not even get it. They will try to charge you for breakfast even if you don't ask for it or reserve it. I saw them do this to several people including us, but my email showed I did not ask for breakfast. Can be some serious street noise on weekends, I even had to yell at some people to shut up. Check in seems kind of late so we had to find something to do to wait.

We did all reservations via email and it went smooth and easy and they speak English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Run2TheTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is easy to find and well located. Free parking is possible outside from 6pm to 9p, or in a multi story for 7 Euros overnight. the hotel was 'complet' when we arrived late afternoon, so booking is advised

Rooms are 'compact' but fine, with new showers. Breakfast is a bit pricy at 10E each, a cafe equivalent would be half, but less convenient. Service/reception is smiley and competent.

With no restaurant, the greatest draw is the wealth of easy to walk restaurants, the best of which is the Michelin noted 'Petits Gobelins', 3 courses , wine and coffee for 110E for 2. Our best meal in France this year. And afterwards walk up to Place Stanislas, the prettiest square in Europe - reallly - for a free 'son et lumiere' at 10pm- check this time with reception.

We stayed coming back and had time for lunch in St Omer before the 5pm Chunnel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a really nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the location was superb. I'd definetly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Nancy. it's full of charm, character and personality.

Room Tip: My room was ok for 1 but 2 people might find it a bit cramped. Might be worth asking for a larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#4 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#5 of 40 in Nancy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Prelats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Prelats

Property: Hotel des Prelats
Address: 56 Place Monseigneur Ruch, 54000, Nancy, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Prelats 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About 100m far from the Stanislas Place, in an old Episcopal house dated of 1609 where the primate of Lorraine lived, built between the Cathedral and the flower garden of the Nuns of the union, you will find the charm of yesteryear in those tester beds comparable with Prelates' cubicles in each room.Charming hotel decorated with simple, noble and warm material, get carried away by silence in a residence with a lot of character and with a modern convenience combining waxed furniture and walls impregnated with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Prelats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing