We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the house of one of the Kings 'favourites'”
Review of Hotel de Guise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Guise
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Staying in the house of one of the Kings 'favourites'”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well, perhaps you and I wouldn't want to be the favourite of King Stanislas in those times, but hey, the Hotel the Guise - where this favourite lived - is a wonderful place to stay: in the oldest part of Nancy, a charming and beautiful city in the Alsace region. Don't go for too cheap though or you'll end up in one of the smaller and not jet updated rooms, a huge contrast with the grand staircase and the overall beautiful city palace this hotel is. Very friendly staff, a gorgeous breakfast and a noiseless room await you there. Do note the parking spaces in the streets around the hotel are for 2 hrs. parking max. so find a parking nearby: say, near the Place Stanislas, a five minutes walk from the hotel and yes, the most beautiful square in Western Europe. A very fine place to enjoy a couple of days in this rather unknown but beautiful French city.

Room Tip: All rooms will provide you a quiet night, but spend a bit more to get a 'grander' sort of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deguise, Gérant at Hotel de Guise, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guests,

thanks a lot for your review about our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you spent a nice stay in our hotel.
You've noticed that there are classic rooms and renovated rooms wich are a litlle bit bigger than the others.
You must know that we'll start refreshing those classic room during this year to make our hotel progress in its offer.
As you said, we're situated in the city center, in the heart of the old part of Nancy, 10 minutes walk far from the Stanislas Place with 70 restaurants 300 meters around the hotel.
We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Christophe MARION
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    191
    64
    18
    3
See reviews for
47
151
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellently placed and within easy walking distance of the principal tourist destinations in the city. The 18th century building is elegant with a great staircase to sweep down. On arrival we found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful with maps, advice on parking and local restaurants. We had a room on the ground floor which was clean, spacious, tastefully furnished and comfortable. The lack of restaurant is no problem as there are so many, to suit all tastes, within walking distance. Take an aperitif on the edge of Place Stanislas and watch the world go by. Breakfast is served in the lounge/reception area, good coffee.We had arrived in Nancy intending to spend one night and see the Place Stanislas wander around this lovely city and then move on. Having spent our one night here we decided to ask about availability for a second night and felt lucky that there was space. If you like Art Nouveau don't miss a visit to the Ecole de Nancy Museum which has a fabulous collection of glassware, furniture and objets d'art which are displayed in the former home of Jean-Baptiste Corbin. It is a little further out of the city and note that the other period house nearby the Villa Marjorelle is only open at weekends.

Room Tip: Junior suites have plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xylocarpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deguise, Gérant at Hotel de Guise, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

that was a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. We are very pleased by the fact that your stay was pleasant and that you spent a great moment in our hotel and Nancy as well. You have seen that ou hotel is changing a little bit and some hardworks have been made in consequance and some are planned for the beginning of 2014. We will be glad to show these changes when you will come back in Nancy. And I think it will be soon as you told me when you leaved the hotel.
Let me thank you again for all those good comments about us and all the staff and I hope to see you again.
With kind regards,

Christophe MARION
Hôtel de Guise Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay in this beautifull hotel, full of 18th century details.
It is located in the heart of the beautifully renovated old city of Nancy.
Our rooms were a bit small but otherwise very comfortable.
Service is very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast is fresh and French: du pain frais, café, jus d'orange, fruits, yaourt, etc.
The hotel does not have a restaurant but lot's of good restaurants are on walking distance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deguise, Gérant at Hotel de Guise, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guests,

thanks a lot for all these good reviews concerning our hotel.
As you noticed it, we're situated in the heart of the "Ville-Vieille", 500 meters far from the famous "Place Stanislas".300 meters All around, you have the choice between 70 restaurants to discover the taste of the french cuisine and especially from Lorraine.
We hope to see you again in our hotel and let you discover the renovated rooms we're planning to build in 2014.
With kind regards,

Christophe MARION
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked on hotels.com for 55 EUR, this was the only choice given. The room was nr 130 on the 1st floor in the non-renovated part, looked on the courtyard where people go out smoking. Above the room there were 2 rooms on the 2nd floor and the staircase, all on wooden base, and people were walking there all the time, at 2 am, at 8 am, the staircase leaving down was heard, too. The cleaning was upstairs very early and noisy too. The sound-proofing is absent. We basically had no sleep at all, and when we spoke to the receptionist, some type of a manager also came and told us: what do you want for this price!?? Very unprofessional and rude approach. No apology, no explanation. We said that the lower price in general means a smaller room, no AC, absence on the elevator - which is the case in all the hotel - but not a TOTAL absence of rest when you are put under the staircase! Do not take rooms 130 or 132 if you care to have some rest and still wish to go to this hotel. The receptionist also "recommended" to consider hotels like Ibis or Mercury, which we of course did. One of the worst stays we had in France.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms 130 or 132 if you care to have some rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travkikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deguise, Gérant at Hotel de Guise, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear guests,

thanks for your comments about our hotel. As I'm some type of a manager, I must give some details about your stay and answer properly because we had no chance to put a word when it was possible. It was difficult to express ourselves between every groans indeed.
First of all, the price of 55.00 Euros was the only choice on the Venere website. You could have directly contacted us to have the real availibilities in relation with your expectations. That does not mean that it is the only room available in the hotel. And if the room did not please you, you could have told the receptionnist when you arrived. There was several possibilities of changing the room. Notice that you also book the same day of your check-in. It is difficult to have the best rooms with late reservations, especially when the hotel is fully booked.
I recognize that the noise was a bad news but the family of 5 upstairs arrived late in the evening and leaved the hotel early as well. And I told you all my apologies for the non respect of these persons. But it seems that you have forget that because of the heatwave...
I think also that you did not understand that our hotel was under renovations and that we had to renovate lots of rooms and accomodations. That doesn't happen with a finger snap. It takes time and tahnks to the success of the renovated rooms, we know that we are on the right way.
And thanks to our popularity, we know that we are not just "some type of" something, but one of the best hotel in Nancy (notice that I've not written THE best) and one of the most recommanded by the quality of the reception, the value also.
As we are to continue our renovations during 2014, we will be pleased to show you what kind of renovations we are making in a 18th century house, in the heart of the UNESCO site of the old town of Nancy.
And at last, when you have a problem with a room in an hotel, don't hesitate to tell the person at reception, especially when there is a person 24h a day. The answer that you didn't want to embarass him or that you didn't want to change the room is absolutly ridiculous. It seems that you were not so embarassed during that night... It is always easy to complain when you haven't done and haven't told everything at that time to sold the problem...
By the way, in case of another complain in the future in another place : just speak quietly to express yourself and you will see that everything is better when we stay calm and composed.

Best regards,

Christophe MARION
"some type of" Hotel de Guise Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is excellent, if you want to be in the centre of Nancy, plus the fact that the staff are friendly and polite. The rooms at the back are quiet. An excellent breakfast.
My only cavil is that given it was July it would have been nice to have had air-conditioning rather than a fan. The room we had only had one window which was very high up and so even with the fan the room was hot and stuffy. Rooms looking into the central courtyard would be better.

Room Tip: The room we had only had one window which was very high up and so even with the fan the room was hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morlaix, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The first thing you notice upon entering is the grand stairwell. Of course you should be aware that you will be climbing those stairs with your suitcases so hopefully they put you on the first floor. The next thing you notice is the charming courtyard which is nice to sit in in the evening after a long day sightseeing the beautiful ornate city of Nancy. The room was well appointed though (considering the price- 90 euros per night- yikes!) there were a few things lacking. A full-length mirror would have been nice, I ended up standing on chair in the room to see my outfit. A shower nozzle that wasn`t hand held would also have been handy (no pun intended), really it makes for an awkward bathing experience. The floors were real wood and creaked loudly every time I moved, I felt sorry for the people below me! But the overall hotel experience was wonderful and left me feeling like I was living in a bygone era.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a narrow street, not far from the historic center of Nancy (beware the one-way streets !). It is basically a nobleman's (or rather a noble woman's) townhouse which has been transformed into a hotel some time ago : the worn steps of the staircase are memories of a glorious past and the general feeling of the place is truly authentic.
The rooms are OK, if rather basic; the lighting is poor (don't expect to read in your bed unless you're able to provide your own illumination); the bathroom had a smallish shower stall, but the plumbing was modern (not always the case in french hotels...), but it took a long time to get hot water from the tap or to the shower (second floor issue ?). Still, the price is really attractive, and you get more than what you pay for.
The continental breakfast was a major letdown: no creativity, just your basic french breakfast, low on proteins, high on industrial-quality sugars and fats.
There is no parking on the premises, but it is rather easy to find street parking close by (if you get there on a Sunday evening).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.5 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
2.4 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#1 of 40 in Nancy
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Prelats
Hotel des Prelats
#8 of 40 in Nancy
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Guise

Property: Hotel de Guise
Address: 18 rue de Guise, 54000, Nancy, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Guise 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Guise is an XVIIIth century seignorial house. Marquis de Jouffroy and Countess de Bressey ordered its construction in 1752. Countess de Bressey is remembered in our local history as king Stanislas's favourite. The original foundations of the house date back from a 1600 abbey - see room "Stanislas" or Breakfast lounge on the ground floor. In that room, characteristic elements of the Louis XIII period can be seen: ceiling " a la francaise": exposed wooden beams and painted lily flowers a monumental fireplace with a stone paved chimney-piece The hotel has 50 rooms in total with 9 superior room (situated in the ground floor and renovated in 2010)and 13 comfort rooms (situated in the 3rd floor and renovated in 2015) The hotel is built in a U shape around a court recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Guise Hotel
De Guise Nancy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing