We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with history”
Review of Hotel de Guise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de Guise
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Morlaix, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hotel with history”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The first thing you notice upon entering is the grand stairwell. Of course you should be aware that you will be climbing those stairs with your suitcases so hopefully they put you on the first floor. The next thing you notice is the charming courtyard which is nice to sit in in the evening after a long day sightseeing the beautiful ornate city of Nancy. The room was well appointed though (considering the price- 90 euros per night- yikes!) there were a few things lacking. A full-length mirror would have been nice, I ended up standing on chair in the room to see my outfit. A shower nozzle that wasn`t hand held would also have been handy (no pun intended), really it makes for an awkward bathing experience. The floors were real wood and creaked loudly every time I moved, I felt sorry for the people below me! But the overall hotel experience was wonderful and left me feeling like I was living in a bygone era.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    179
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
45
144
30
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is located in a narrow street, not far from the historic center of Nancy (beware the one-way streets !). It is basically a nobleman's (or rather a noble woman's) townhouse which has been transformed into a hotel some time ago : the worn steps of the staircase are memories of a glorious past and the general feeling of the place is truly authentic.
The rooms are OK, if rather basic; the lighting is poor (don't expect to read in your bed unless you're able to provide your own illumination); the bathroom had a smallish shower stall, but the plumbing was modern (not always the case in french hotels...), but it took a long time to get hot water from the tap or to the shower (second floor issue ?). Still, the price is really attractive, and you get more than what you pay for.
The continental breakfast was a major letdown: no creativity, just your basic french breakfast, low on proteins, high on industrial-quality sugars and fats.
There is no parking on the premises, but it is rather easy to find street parking close by (if you get there on a Sunday evening).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed two nights the Hotel de Guise in one of the older rooms which was just fine although peeked at some of the renovated rooms which for a longer stay might be worth the extra price. The continental breakfast was terrific (except for the coffee which is typically not very good in France, especially as compared to Italy), complete with cheese and yogurt (upon request). The staff was extremely friendly although not very helpful for restaurant recommendations apart from suggesting any of the restaurants on the "rue des Gourmands" - really the "rue des marichaux." I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The decision is whether you want to save $$$ and have one of the older rooms - more atmosphere, few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is very characterful and has an excellent location, just a few minutes' walk from the centre of the city. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. My wife felt that the room was dated whereas I saw it as having character. The bathroom was equipped with a bath with shower attachment, but no shower curtain or screen, which seemed a strange omission. Due to the lack of shower screen I decided to have baths which was actually a nice novelty. I don't normally feel like having a bath in a hotel room, but this one was so clean that I had no qualms at all. The bath was very nice and the water hot, but the tub was on the small side. One nice touch in the hotel was the vases of fresh flowers which were ubiquitous in the communal areas. This was very pleasant and gave the hotel a nice atmosphere. The hotel is unprepossessing from the exterior but very nice once you get inside. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our second floor rooms were a bit worn and tired. The hotel has a great location, though - easy walk to the train station, main shopping area, and Plaza Stanislas. I gather from other reviews the rooms on the ground floor have been renovated... so you might ask for one of those. The common areas were very nice, though too cold to use during our December visit. The front desk/breakfast area is heated and we did go down there one night to do some internet work. The internet signal from our second floor rooms was borderline unusable.

We parked in Cours Leopold and left the car there during our entire two day stay. It was easy to roll our bags the 3 or 4 blocks to the hotel. There's not much traffic (pedestrian or vehicle) on those streets. The parking lot was virtually empty when we arrived on the weekend, but I noticed it was pretty full around noon on the weekday when we left.

All in all, it was a satisfactory place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bud4977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel de Guise is like two hotels in one. There are the very modern rooms on the ground floor courtyard and then there are the historic rooms in the building. We chose the modern room, no stairs. Good size room, great bed and linens, super bathroom. The shower was so incredible, I could have stayed under the huge shower head for hours. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We parked on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ground floor courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Centrally located near La Pepinière parc and in walking distance to most of the old buildings in Nancy. Very friendly staff giving hints and information. Open car parking is in Cours Léopold approx. 200m from the hotel. The room we had for three was basic, though clean and with everything you need for a short stay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Car parking Cours Léopold is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spottster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Crystal
0.5 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Prelats
Hotel des Prelats
#9 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Haussonville
Hotel d'Haussonville
#5 of 40 in Nancy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Reine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Guise

Property: Hotel de Guise
Address: 18 rue de Guise, 54000, Nancy, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Guise 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Guise is an XVIIIth century seignorial house. Marquis de Jouffroy and Countess de Bressey ordered its construction in 1752. Countess de Bressey is remembered in our local history as king Stanislas's favourite. The original foundations of the house date back from a 1600 abbey - see room "Stanislas" or Breakfast lounge on the ground floor. In that room, characteristic elements of the Louis XIII period can be seen: ceiling " a la francaise": exposed wooden beams and painted lily flowers a monumental fireplace with a stone paved chimney-piece The hotel has 50 rooms in total with 9 superior room (situated in the ground floor and renovated in 2010)and 13 comfort rooms (situated in the 3rd floor and renovated in 2015) The hotel is built in a U shape around a court recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Guise Hotel
De Guise Nancy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing