We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, personal and delightful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Arsenal

L'Arsenal
Ranked #33 of 545 Restaurants in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Small, personal and delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

A great restaurant that is small but personal. Don't be in a hurry as the service has only one steady speed, but it is very personal and friendly. The menu is somewhat limited, but the food is prepared to order and everything is fresh. We had the shrimp and crab ravioli for an appetizer and it was fantastic. For the main course we tried the Partide (Guinea Fowl) and the lamb and both of those dishes were very nicely prepared and delicious as well. One thing to note on the lamb is that it has a strong lamb flavor, which is a good thing. As a lamb lover it is extremely disappointing to order lamb and then have it be devoid of the flavor that makes lamb what it is. Top all of this off with a decent wine list at reasonable prices, and L'arsenal offers a great evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    73
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“L'Arsenal - Right on Target!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

What can I say? This experience was a total treat from beautiful table linens, lots of little thoughtful details and accents, a varied menu with wine suggestions (by the glass and reasonably priced in my mind) for each food selection, attentive, professional service and delicious food! There were lovely little 'extras' before the meal, in between the courses and at the end.
We screwed up the courage to have pigeonneau roti (yes - that is pigeon!), done rare are suggested - it was the evening special on the men and to our great surprise it was excellent. Who knew?
The people involved at this restaurant seem to love what they are doing and it is evident in the way we felt about our evening there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iwantotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Top class and yet not too expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Situated in a quiet square 10 minute's walk from Stanislas Place and near the Duke of Lorraine's palace, this delightful restaurant is strongly recommended. The welcome is warm and the room is spacious so one does not feel crowded. A great plus: there is no background musak. Service was fast and courteous. The food was absolutely wonderful: each dish seemed perfect. Try the scallops in saffron sauce. The wine suggested for each course (not obligatory, of course) is very reasonably priced (5 euro) and is of superb quality. A lot of thought has gone into the whole meal and we left feeling that it was as near ideal as can be. Surely, it must be one of the best places to eat in Nancy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

One is greeted warmly at L'Arsenal and the evening happily continues in that vein. The room is relaxing and attractive, the staff is very helpful and charming, and the food and wine outstanding. This was one of the best meals we had during our recent 2 1/2 weeks in France. We would go back in a flash!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThMoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virton, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a lovely place to eat! A smallish restaurant where you don't have to shout to make yourself heard, with ample room for all the tables so you are not eating from your neighbour's plate.

Perhaps one reason for the relative quiet in the restaurant is simply the quality of the food and wine -- people stop talking to enjoy what is in their plate and glass. The menu is relatively short -- perhaps five main courses and a suggestion dish of the day on the blackboard -- but includes fish and meat. I think it changes weekly (but you can check it out on the website beforehand).

One of our party had a lactose intolerance and the owner was happy to check with the chef about her menu choice to make sure she would have no problems (the dish was tweaked a bit for her) and was a nice touch.

The prices are reasonable and represent excellent value for menu. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jpritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arsenal also viewed

Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
Nancy, Meurthe-et-Moselle
 

Been to L'Arsenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing