We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Value, Friendly and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Crystal
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Traveling between France and Germany on business, I chose this hotel based on location. I was pleasantly surprised with the competitive nightly rate for the comfort room. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Other than lack of parking, as I had to park my rental vehicle 2 blocks away underground, I was happy with everything. The breakfast was typical for that area, and included egg dishes, fresh fruit, cold meats and breads, and plenty of fresh juice. Overall I highly recommend this location and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLTRAVELER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Crystal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 525 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

A simple and unassuming three star hotel that is centrally located and has a very friendly staff. They helped with dinner reservations and allowed us to check out a little late. Breakfast offered a good selection and they have two parking spaces. What really sells this hotel, though, is the price. Nancy deserves a return visit and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The room was very clean, smelled nice & fresh, the bathroom is also very comfortable and the beds of very good quality. The room was also very well isolated once the window was closed. The most agreeable was the kindness of the receptionists. Eager to help and extremely friendly. Perfectly located, 10 minutes walking away from Place Stanislas. It was a very pleasant stay. We've had the chance to find a parking lot immediately.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked for two nights. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Pros:
- Very well located. Walking distance from main tourist attractions, shopping district, department store and very close to the station.
- Spotted a post office, bank and patisserie nearby
- Nice, clean room
- Friendly, accommodating staff
- Good wifi connection
- Lift!
- Good value.
- My room had this lovely little stool that you could sit on when you put your shoes on. I thought it was a nice touch.

Cons:
- Opposite a church where people would gather til early hours of the morning. Heard a lot of shouting.
- Rooms are quite old, but clean.
- Basic amenities.
- Walls were on the thin side, could hear conversations, doors and cleaning in progress.

Would go back.

Room Tip: The higher the better - further away from street noises and better view of the city.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had to attend a wedding in Nancy and we were looking for a suitable hotel: this had fulfilled all our requirement: excellent location, clean rooms, good sound isolation (even if located centrally - we did not hear any noisy at all), well working shower, garage available for parking, no crazy prices.
Staff was very friendly and useful! intially we booked via booking.com and then the reception told us if we book directly via hotel we get better price and we can book the private garage.

overall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: contact the reception to book a parking place. otherwise you will park in public garage.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vantooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

There are 2 great things about this hotel: 1. supportive reception staff (changed the room upon request), 2. Location - walking distance to Place Stanislas and other main attractions. The rest is unfortunately significantly below the standard of other Best Western hotels: very old and pretty accidental furniture, claustrophobically small rooms (I booked "comfort room" which was more expensive and was supposed to be bigger, than the "economic room") but the biggest surprise was the bathtub - I asked for another room twice when I saw the
bathroom - it was DISGUSTINGLY dirty!!! Unfortunately, I had to give up and stayed in the third offered room because all of the bathrooms were equally dirty... The hotel is overpriced, needs renovation, it has neither class nor style characteristic to BW (was wondering how come it is allowed to use the logo...). But first and most important need: to CLEAN the bathtubs!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ylpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Ylpc,

Thank you for your review. We listen to all feedbacks, positives and negatives, in order to improve the quality of our hotel.

At first I was really troubled about your comments concerning the problems of cleanliness you mentioned as we usually have really good returns on this aspect (8,6 out of 10 on the biggest online reservation website for your information). It could happen in one room, but it becomes more surprising in two or even three rooms. Then I realized that you were only talking of the bathtubs : neither the room, nor the sink or the WC had the right to have their own photos.
It seems you do not make the difference between "dirty" and "worn out". Yes, I agree that some of our bathtubs are old and need replacement, but they are not dirty ! The floor of the bathtub just shows fatigue... This explains why you found the same "problem" in 3 rooms as the bathtubs have the same age. I also agree that some of our rooms need refurbishment and I'm pleased to report that we are working on it.

About the size of the room, our Comfort rooms are medium-sized rooms (13 to 15 metres square). Maybe you could have told to the readers of this site that you also had the choice to book a Superior room or even a Junior Suite, additionally to the economic room. That would have been exhaustive.

I thank you for your concerns about our affiliation to the BW brand but I'm pleased to inform you that we have an annually audit by Best Western France (10 rooms verified each year, including the older ones) and we perfectly have the right to use the logo.

I thank you for your good comments about the reception staff.

To finish I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours faithfully,

Julien GATINOIS,
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is situated very close to the station, about 300 metres, but is very quiet. It is also within walking distance of Place Stanislas and other tourist sites. The rooms are clean, have coffee and tea making facilities and wi fi. Best of all there is a lift, a must have and something of a rarity in older hotels in Europe! The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.0 mi away
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
2.4 mi away
Novotel Nancy
Novotel Nancy
#1 of 2 in Laxou
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#4 of 40 in Nancy
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nancy Centre Gare et Congres
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Nancy Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Nancy Centre Place Stanislas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Crystal

Address: 5, Rue Chanzy, 54000, Nancy, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Crystal)
Location: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nancy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nancy
#6 Business Hotel in Nancy
Price Range: $81 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN HOTEL CRYSTAL is ideally located in the heart of Nancy.The establishment offers 58 cosy rooms, right in the heart of the city, a few minutes by foot from Place Stanislas, the TGV Train Station, cinemas, and the Palais des Congrès conference centre.An ideal location for exploring Nancy and its historical treasures, its old town, and its XVIIIth century architectural ensemble.We're here to serve you, to listen and help you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nancy
Best Western Crystal
Nancy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing