We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We agree with "6foot2"..... it's Spartan..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Nancy
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We agree with "6foot2"..... it's Spartan..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

.... and finding it wasn't easy when driving in - even the GPS was confused. We found the front desk to vary widely, from very friendly and helpful to nasty and unhelpful. Apparently when we were there in July Ms. Nasty was in charge.

Another point: the web site said that breakfast was included. However, when we arrived, we learned that the free breakfast was NOT free, since we hadn't booked through their website. Rooms on the front face the noisy trolley tracks. Finally, there is no A/C.

Room Tip: rooms off the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Directeur général at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. Your opinion is very important to us. I am very sorry about the behavior of one of my employee, you can be sure that she was reprimended. However, I believe that it was a little misunderstanding about the breakfast. Actually the breakfast is included in our price no matter which way you book the room. What was not available for you, it was a luch box, which must be ordered the day before and which is offered for customers who reserve only on our website or by phone directly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    202
    81
    36
    11
See reviews for
54
179
42
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located (though very difficult to find at first...) close to the train station and at the city centre. The staff were polite and friendly and the rooms were quite spacious and clean and had a tv in it. The only downside is if your room faces the main square, then you will hear a lot of noise throughout the night or early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Directeur général at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. Me and my staff are very pleased that you enjoy your stay at our hotel. Hope see you soon in Nancy.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Coeur de City is a narrow hotel squeezed between shops on Rue Pierre Semard, which is on the Nancy tramway. The hotel is, therefore, difficult to find as you can't drive down the road on which it stands: we drove around the block several times before we found it. Parking in front of the hotel is not possible (tramway) and the hotel has no car park, though there is an underground car park just behind it. Overnight parking is cheap if you park after 7pm.
The rooms are small and bare - not even a table and chairs - and had the feeling of Spartan severity. Tea/coffee are provided but you have to get milk from Receptionist, who was very helpful. Like many French hotels, only one small bar of soap is provided in the bathroom - no shower gel or shampoo.The subterranean breakfast room only seats 19 at a time so you may have to share a table. The breakfast itself was good and plentiful. The best thing about the hotel is its central location - within easy walking distance of the railway station and Stanislas Square, which is superb, and a must-see.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to overlook the station and business area of the town, so there's not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6foot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Directeur général at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir or Madame,
thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you could not find the hotel, but as you said the hotel is in the central location of the city and you cannot park in front of it. Therefore the reception is open 24/24 so if you have had the difficulty to find us you could call and the staff have could explain the acces to the hotel. Regarding the space of the rooms we respect the European standards of 3 stars hotels and all rooms are furnished with modern and minimalist way. Even though we hope that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stay, and found the hotel in a great location, within very convenient walk from Nancy Rail Station. The reception staff were very pleasant and friendly. Our room on the 3rd floor looked out the back of the hotel, and the room was quite quiet. Reasonable size room, well kept, the double room we booked we received 2 twin beds pushed together, not sure whether this is the standard bedding for double? Bathroom was good size, shower recess was compact though, good enough water pressure and hot water. Good wifi in the room. The breakfast room in the basement is compact, and was fairly average for continental provisions, but adequate to start the day. Location is excellent, right across from a square and tram line runs down the street, plenty of cafes, sandwich places, the market place is close by as well, great food markets.
All the sights are easy walking distances, and plenty of restaurants around Place Stanislas. Nice bar/restaurant right next door to the hotel for drinks. Overall a very acceptable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteclissg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Responsable réception at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Merci d'avoir déposé un avis sur Tripadvisor.
Nous sommes content de savoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour dans notre établissement.

Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I suppose it depends on what room you get but our 3rd storey room looked out over a tree-filled square, with people and trams passing by.
We loved it. Close to everything, the hotel had style and presence. Breakfast, down in the cellar, was good, and the price was reasonable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Responsable réception at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Merci de nous avoir laissé ce commentaire favorable.

Cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights. The staff was very helpful, very polite, the room and the hotel was clean, the breakfast was good (cereal, bread, croissants, etc.) and the hotel is in a good location. The internet works fine and the hotel is quiet enough. A few things need improvement which I am sure the hotel will manage. Here are the suggestions:

1) I booked a room with a table and a chair so that I could do some work. However, the chair was a stool with no back and one can sit on the stool only for a short time before the back starts hurting. Please could there be a proper chair. The table could also have a little more depth.

2) Since most guests sleep on the side of the bed closest to the door, half the the mattress is more compressed than the other half - it is obvious if one lies on it. At home, one avoids this by turning over the mattress every month or so. Perhaps the staff can do the same.

3) The shower cubicle is small so the shower curtain sticks to one's body when taking a shower. Perhaps a hard plastic/glass door would work better - but that requires some expense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ude-prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Responsable réception at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé cet avis.
Nous vous précisons qu'une personne physique est disponible 24h/24 à la réception.
Vous pouviez lui faire part de cette gêne, il ferait le nécessaire.

Bien cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Modern hotel with clean rooms, excellent service and extremely helpful staff. The room included almost all facilities you need. Besides the snowing weather, the room's temperature was easily adjustable. The limited size of the bath tub was some problematic, as well as the wooden floor. Another disadvantage of the room was its size, even though it is considered as double. Simple breakfast but extremely good and convenient location. I had great sleep both nights I stayed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polymers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMARTINEAU, Directeur général at Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Mister Polymers,
thank you for your opinion about the hotel Coeur de City Nancy Stanislas.
The city of Nancy is situated in the most frosty departement in France, so it is always snowing during the winter months. The building in which the hotel is located was created in 1905 and the staff is trying to keep the modern style. If you are visting Nancy next time do not hesite to ask for a bigger room.
Hope seeing you soon at our hotel.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nancy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Guise
Hotel de Guise
#5 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Crystal
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Nancy Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Campanile Nancy Centre - Gare
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nancy Centre Gare et Congres
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Prelats
Hotel des Prelats
#9 of 40 in Nancy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture

Property: Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture
Address: 61 rue Pierre Semard, 54000, Nancy, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nancy
#8 Business Hotel in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas is a located near Place Stanislas in Nancy, France. Entirely renovated, the hotel is warm and modern, with an easy access by car or public transport. It also offers a HappyTime "Candy bar" every day at any time of the day, enjoy ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coeur de City Hotel Nancy Stanislas by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americain Hotel Nancy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing