We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fine for a flying visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine for a flying visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We turned up on spec for one night, having failed to find a room in smaller towns near to Limoges. The hotel has a car park, was easy to access and suited us for a quick stopover. Our room was on the second floor, very spacious with modern furnishings and was very clean. The breakfast buffet was fine. It was rather pricey (110 Euros I think), but then we didn't book in advance and were grateful for a bed by the time we found this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
33
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The railway station is described as 'probably the most beautiful in France' and is certainly worth a visit. The Jean D-Arc is only a few minutes walk down the road from the station, so very handy but you do have to accept the downside of staying across the road from the main tracks. Basic hotel, very clean with friendly staff. No restaurant, but we can highly recommend the Bistrot Jourdain further up the street (On the corner by the war memorial). Fire instructions printed in the room were to use the stairs if safe, or otherwise stay in your room by a window to await rescue by the fire brigade. This did not fill us with confidence as we were on the 5th floor (Amazed that it's not compulsory to have a second means of escape on such a tall old building). As we were in a party of 26 the extremely tiny lift was a bit of a problem at check-in (Capacity 2 people plus luggage). For both these reasons recommend insisting on a room on floor 3 or lower.

Room Tip: Not a good hotel to stay at if railway noises are a concern. Rooms at the rear are quieter tho on h...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was arriving and leaving Limoges by train, so decided to stay at this hotel for its proximity to the station. It's just a couple of minutes walk from there, along a nice enough street, Limoges didn't seem to be particularly large as cities go, so you can get around on foot very easily from the hotel to anywhere you want to go. Check in was ultra fast - I just gave my name and was given the key. Up via a tiny lift to the correct floor, and all the rooms are on either side of a single corridor. I'd gone for a standard room, and it was very small, but absolutely fine if you're on your own and don't plan to stay for very long. I did see nicer, and much larger, rooms on the same floor, so the best piece of advice I can offier is that if there are two of you or you're tall, go for the better room with the bigger beds. Breakfast was fine and check out was fast and efficient. Overall nothing particularly stands out, but it was a clean, safe, and affordable place to stay if you're passing through or just in town for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

The outside of the hotel is unremarkable but inside you have all you need. Lovely big room beautifully decorated and good-sized bathroom. Car parking is a bonus in the centre of the city. Easy walking distance to both the old sections of Limoges and lots of bistros nearby (one just a few minutes away was so good we had to force ourselves to go anywhere else.) excellent breakfast and friendly staff. No aircon but the room had big windows opening onto the back of the hotel. despite being near the station we were not disturbed by any train noise.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

The outside of the hotel didn’t promise much but inside was a different story. My room was on the 2nd floor and was huge. It was a double and there was a sitting area as well. As it is located close to the train station, there was a bit of noise from the trains but with double glazing and double windows, that wasn’t an issue. The furniture was antique style and added a bit of glam to the room. There was more than enough storage space and a small refrigerator in the room as well. The bed was comfortable. I had a problem with the bathroom basin, but it was fixed by the night porter promptly. The bathroom wasn’t modern by any stretch but it was clean and the shower gave good pressure.
There was free WIFI access, which was a bonus.
The staff weren’t all fluent in English. I managed with my rusty French, sign language and a pen and paper.
There are some good restaurants next door but the staff gave a great suggestion for dinner options.
Breakfast was plentiful although it cost extra on top of the room cost.
I had a peek into some of the other rooms on my floor and I think I got the nicest room.
The hotel was convenient for the train station and a short walk to the main town and there is limited parking but arrange before arrival.

  • Liked — Huge room and location
  • Disliked — Bathroom needed updating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZenTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#8 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Citotel Orleans Lion d'Or
Citotel Orleans Lion d'Or
#17 of 44 in Limoges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
0.2 mi away
Hotel AKENA HF
Hotel AKENA HF
#10 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jeanne d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Property: Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Address: 17 avenue du General de Gaulle, 87000 Limoges, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jeanne d'Arc 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jeanne d'Arc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing