We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet”
Review of Hotel AKENA HF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel AKENA HF
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
South of the border
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very quiet family run hotel in need of some updating, the breakfast room in clean as is the rest of the hotel; with plenty of (gravel) parking area available.
The hotel is handy for the town and restaurants etc, and is in a back street which lends itself to being quiet.
The only minor point is that the carpoet on the spiral staircase is in desperate need of renewing, theadbare in places and badly worn in others; despite that I'd stay there again

Room Tip: Didn't see.use a fitness room pool etc. My room was average in size and OK for a solo traveller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
35
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Driving through France onholiday we wanted a budget hotel in whihc to stay, about half way between Calais and our destinatrion in Spain. Limoges seemed the right sort of place and Hotel Familia ticked the rest of the boxes. It costs €5 to park here, but given the small size of the parking area, our intention to start early and the availability of a space in the road just outside, we saved the money. The receptionist was marvelous, especially given her limited grasp of English and mine of French! She could not have been more helpful. We gave the €7/person breakfast a miss.

Our room was small, basic (no door on the wardrobe, one chair, no complimentary anythings), clean and we found the bed comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and handwash/shampoo and the (English-type) toilet worked fine. What more do you expect from a budget hotel?

But actually, this deserves a bit more. It is well located, close the the station, to the old town (worth a visit if you are there) and to the more modern parts of Limoges. It is quite easy to find and once you reach the end of the one-way rue du General du Bessol, you find yourself in one of the arterial roads from which you can go almost any direction with relative ease (if the numerous traffic lights of Limoges decide to favour you).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Familia is definitely a budget hotel - €65 for one night for a family room. So perhaps I shouldn't have expected too much. Young man on reception said 2 words to us during our stay - 'room 6' - that was it, didn't ask if we wanted breakfast, not another word. He wasn't interested in us. This 'great service' all the other reviews state was non-existent for us. The lobby is very nice, then you get to the stained carpet on the staircase, more stained carpet in the very small family room, however the room was very clean besides the carpet. The room was VERY basic, but as I said, we only paid €65. The location is a bit ropey. People screaming at each other/ singing in the street at all hours, and at the far end of the street it really does look quite grim with a fair few unsavoury characters lurking about. We liked Limoges as a stopover on our travels around France but wouldn't stay at Hotel Familia again. I need a little bit of friendliness & a little more luxury than that!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in Limoges. We thought the owner and other staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very small but adequate. Beds comfortable. The French doors opened onto a narrow ally-like space with dirty white walls and litter. This could be so much nicer if painted and two chairs and a table were set outside. Even some pot plants! Breakfast was typical French Continental breakfast, but good. Wifi in our room was non existent, and we had to sit in the lounge to get a signal. The shower curtain was too short and consequently the floor of the bathroom was flooded. The hotel has parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with space and good wifi reception if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vayrac, France
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is the third hotel my wife and I have stayed in in Limoges in the past 8 months. We had to catch a train to Paris the next day; so we decided to stay at Hotel Familia, which is just a 5-minute walk to the station (itself one of Limoges' main attractions). The hotel has been recently renovated. Our room, overlooking a small courtyard, was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were very helpful: we had difficulty accessing the net and the receptionist spent some time trying to find the cause of the problem (with success in the end!). We had only two complaints. The restaurant that the receptionist recommended us to go to for dinner - La Baleine Bleu - was very poor (bland, badly-cooked food; slow and uncaring service). We also found the hotel breakfast a bit disappointing. Surely, the croissants and bread could have been fresher? But overall this was very good value at €81 for two including breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Simple - spotlessly clean comfortable room with good bathroom and a fair breakfast by French standards but the thing that sets Hotel Familia apart are all the staff who could not be more smiley, friendly, welcoming and helpful! - I spent two very wet days in Limoges (which was enough to see all the sights) and they were quite happy to let me stay in the lounge with a never ending supply of free coffee until my evening flight

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorttriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

While on a visit to Limoges, France, my wife and I booked three nights at the Hotel Familia. We arrived at about 2pm on Sunday, and we're amazed (and shocked) that the hotel was locked and that there was no one at the desk until 6 pm. With four hours to kill, we proceeded to walk around the "culturally diverse" neighborhood. There was a beautiful park nearby, but the ambience was lowered a bit by the number of female street walkers, apparently open for business on a Sunday afternoon. When the hotel finally opened for business after 6 pm, we found that our room was small, but very clean, and that the hotel had obviously had a rehab within recent years. The Hotel Familia is located relatively close to the train station, and is centrally located within the city. When the front desk is open (8 to noon, and 5 to 9pm during the week) the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is quite nice. I found the bed to be on the hard side, but the clean and relatively safe environment was a real plus for the price. Wifi was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck_F65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
0.6 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#5 of 44 in Limoges
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Richelieu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#13 of 44 in Limoges
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
#11 of 44 in Limoges
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AKENA HF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AKENA HF

Property: Hotel AKENA HF
Address: 16 rue du General du Bessol, Limoges, France (Formerly Hotel HF)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AKENA HF 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AKENA Hotel (ex hotel HF) is in the heart of Limoges 2 min walk from the station Benedictines and 5min walk from the town center and its shops. The hotel offers for your leisure or business stay: Single Room, Double Room (140cm), Twin Room (2 beds of 90cm), Triple or Quadruple Room, located between train station, downtown buses and taxis. It is in a quiet and friendly environment that we will welcome you with a special welcome and for your stay. Akena Hotel offers various services to enhance your stay: Reception: Monday - Friday: 6.30am to 12.30pm and 3.00pm to 10.00pm Saturday - Sunday: 7.30am to 12.30pm and 5.00pm to 10.00pm (and holidays) Your room is available from 3.00pm and must be vacated by 11.00am Internet WIFI Free thanks a Hot Spot network that spreads throughout the hotel and in each room Courtyard TNT Private taxi Luggage request Fax and Copy Service tray dinners in partnership with a neighboring restaurant (except Sunday evening) Many restaurants and brasseries walking distance within 500m extra Pets allowed (extra) Non-Smoking Rooms Parking: Private 9 vehicles (extra) + Free public parking nearby and the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel AKENA HF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing