We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, close to station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel AKENA HF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel AKENA HF
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
213 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good value, close to station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is the third hotel my wife and I have stayed in in Limoges in the past 8 months. We had to catch a train to Paris the next day; so we decided to stay at Hotel Familia, which is just a 5-minute walk to the station (itself one of Limoges' main attractions). The hotel has been recently renovated. Our room, overlooking a small courtyard, was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were very helpful: we had difficulty accessing the net and the receptionist spent some time trying to find the cause of the problem (with success in the end!). We had only two complaints. The restaurant that the receptionist recommended us to go to for dinner - La Baleine Bleu - was very poor (bland, badly-cooked food; slow and uncaring service). We also found the hotel breakfast a bit disappointing. Surely, the croissants and bread could have been fresher? But overall this was very good value at €81 for two including breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
32
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Simple - spotlessly clean comfortable room with good bathroom and a fair breakfast by French standards but the thing that sets Hotel Familia apart are all the staff who could not be more smiley, friendly, welcoming and helpful! - I spent two very wet days in Limoges (which was enough to see all the sights) and they were quite happy to let me stay in the lounge with a never ending supply of free coffee until my evening flight

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorttriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

While on a visit to Limoges, France, my wife and I booked three nights at the Hotel Familia. We arrived at about 2pm on Sunday, and we're amazed (and shocked) that the hotel was locked and that there was no one at the desk until 6 pm. With four hours to kill, we proceeded to walk around the "culturally diverse" neighborhood. There was a beautiful park nearby, but the ambience was lowered a bit by the number of female street walkers, apparently open for business on a Sunday afternoon. When the hotel finally opened for business after 6 pm, we found that our room was small, but very clean, and that the hotel had obviously had a rehab within recent years. The Hotel Familia is located relatively close to the train station, and is centrally located within the city. When the front desk is open (8 to noon, and 5 to 9pm during the week) the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is quite nice. I found the bed to be on the hard side, but the clean and relatively safe environment was a real plus for the price. Wifi was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck_F65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here en route from Lyon to La Rochelle, with the intent of visiting Oradour-sur-Glane. As we had taken the train, the location of Hotel Familia was ideal - about 5 minutes walk from the lovely Limoges railway station. We were very pleased to find a clean, quiet, family-run hotel. The rooms will likely seem small to the novice North American visitor, but are very reasonably priced and have all the amenities needed for a stop-over. The receptionist and staff are professional and very obliging. Breakfast (if purchased) is a plentiful French petit dejeuner.
The location of the hotel also made it perfect for us to pick up a rental car at the train station to continue our journey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel following other reviews and was pleased to get a taste of regional France in lovely Limoges. The purpose of this stop was to visit the nearby memorial village of Oradour sur Glane. There were 3 of us in a family room and it was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portlangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Two weary and frazzled travellers arrived here to find this place was just what was needed! A lovely clean and calm space to lay their weary heads. Lovely restaurant recommended for dinner. Will stay again on return journey!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was on the way to the Pyrenees and through Trip Advisor I stopped over night at this hotel. It was highly recommended by trip advisor. It is clean, well run and perfect for the one night. The price is reasonable. Breakfast is Eur 7.0 per person. It is fresh, plentiful and a continental Breakfast. The lady at reception is excellent, and know what the client wants. She has everything at her fingure tips, maps of the city, places to visit and is able to recomment good restaurants. It is close to the station and the parks, and is in the middle of Limoge. I went for a stroll in the morning and enjoyed it very much The surrounding area has some migrant community, which lowers the tone of the area. Otherwise simply perfect. There is even a garage across the road if the car needs fixing if you are on a long drive like me.

Room Tip: Be nice and chatty to the manager. She will look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Friendlyface097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#8 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Limoges Centre
Ibis Limoges Centre
#7 of 44 in Limoges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
#14 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AKENA HF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AKENA HF

Property: Hotel AKENA HF
Address: 16 rue du General du Bessol, Limoges, France (Formerly Hotel HF)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AKENA HF 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AKENA Hotel (ex hotel HF) is in the heart of Limoges 2 min walk from the station Benedictines and 5min walk from the town center and its shops. The hotel offers for your leisure or business stay: Single Room, Double Room (140cm), Twin Room (2 beds of 90cm), Triple or Quadruple Room, located between train station, downtown buses and taxis. It is in a quiet and friendly environment that we will welcome you with a special welcome and for your stay. Akena Hotel offers various services to enhance your stay: Reception: Monday - Friday: 6.30am to 12.30pm and 3.00pm to 10.00pm Saturday - Sunday: 7.30am to 12.30pm and 5.00pm to 10.00pm (and holidays) Your room is available from 3.00pm and must be vacated by 11.00am Internet WIFI Free thanks a Hot Spot network that spreads throughout the hotel and in each room Courtyard TNT Private taxi Luggage request Fax and Copy Service tray dinners in partnership with a neighboring restaurant (except Sunday evening) Many restaurants and brasseries walking distance within 500m extra Pets allowed (extra) Non-Smoking Rooms Parking: Private 9 vehicles (extra) + Free public parking nearby and the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel AKENA HF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing