We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and friendly right in town”
Review of Hotel AKENA HF

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel AKENA HF
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Affordable and friendly right in town”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel following other reviews and was pleased to get a taste of regional France in lovely Limoges. The purpose of this stop was to visit the nearby memorial village of Oradour sur Glane. There were 3 of us in a family room and it was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portlangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
33
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Two weary and frazzled travellers arrived here to find this place was just what was needed! A lovely clean and calm space to lay their weary heads. Lovely restaurant recommended for dinner. Will stay again on return journey!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was on the way to the Pyrenees and through Trip Advisor I stopped over night at this hotel. It was highly recommended by trip advisor. It is clean, well run and perfect for the one night. The price is reasonable. Breakfast is Eur 7.0 per person. It is fresh, plentiful and a continental Breakfast. The lady at reception is excellent, and know what the client wants. She has everything at her fingure tips, maps of the city, places to visit and is able to recomment good restaurants. It is close to the station and the parks, and is in the middle of Limoge. I went for a stroll in the morning and enjoyed it very much The surrounding area has some migrant community, which lowers the tone of the area. Otherwise simply perfect. There is even a garage across the road if the car needs fixing if you are on a long drive like me.

Room Tip: Be nice and chatty to the manager. She will look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Friendlyface097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Clean room with bathroom. room was fine and spacious and the location was good. the receptionist was helpful. in general hotel was fine but we did have to park the car purposely at the other end of the road just because we get the gangs / crowds of people at the other end were intimidating to walk past. not the hotels fault but possibly to its detriment. free parking was a bonus. can't comment on breakfast as we opted not to have it. but looked nicely set out. would stay here again if in limoge for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie_Leicester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cirencester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

what a great hotel,room and. breakfast very good location was perfect .we were travelling with elderly couple one partially sighted so was very important to be close to restaurants and centre. young lady nadia on the reception could nt do enough for us and recommended excellent restaurant called La Vache au plafond. the cow on the ceiling. very unusual interior decor large plastic cow and other farm animals on ceiling hanging down . food very good had the plat du jour good value

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

A small hotel situated in close proximity to the Train Station. The room was small but very clean. Breakfast was an extra 7 euros and was good - croissants, pain au chocolate, cereals, yoghurt, toast, jams etc.
It is family run and the propriator was very very helpful and informative. There is a supermarket just down the street and around the corner!! At the other end of the street is a public park - delightful in the day but be careful at night......on our way to a restaurant we walked past several -and somewhat raddled- 'ladies of the night'.
I digress - the Hotel is fine. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask to overlook the Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnsorrento2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I found this hotel to be very clean and quiet and our room looked out onto the private courtyard. The room was a bit small yet quite adequate. The breakfast was very good. This hotel is just a very short drive from the old center and if you're traveling by train the station is very close by. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegansRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limoges hotels
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Saint Martial
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#26 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Richelieu
0.4 mi away
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
B&B Hotel Limoges Gare
#12 of 44 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel AKENA HF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel AKENA HF

Property: Hotel AKENA HF
Address: 16 rue du General du Bessol, Limoges, France (Formerly Hotel HF)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel AKENA HF 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AKENA Hotel (ex hotel HF) is in the heart of Limoges 2 min walk from the station Benedictines and 5min walk from the town center and its shops. The hotel offers for your leisure or business stay: Single Room, Double Room (140cm), Twin Room (2 beds of 90cm), Triple or Quadruple Room, located between train station, downtown buses and taxis. It is in a quiet and friendly environment that we will welcome you with a special welcome and for your stay. Akena Hotel offers various services to enhance your stay: Reception: Monday - Friday: 6.30am to 12.30pm and 3.00pm to 10.00pm Saturday - Sunday: 7.30am to 12.30pm and 5.00pm to 10.00pm (and holidays) Your room is available from 3.00pm and must be vacated by 11.00am Internet WIFI Free thanks a Hot Spot network that spreads throughout the hotel and in each room Courtyard TNT Private taxi Luggage request Fax and Copy Service tray dinners in partnership with a neighboring restaurant (except Sunday evening) Many restaurants and brasseries walking distance within 500m extra Pets allowed (extra) Non-Smoking Rooms Parking: Private 9 vehicles (extra) + Free public parking nearby and the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel AKENA HF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing