We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of La Maison d'Uzes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Maison d'Uzes
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Uzes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

this is one of the best restaurants in the Uzege area, I live in the area and it is the first meal I have enjoyed in Uzes for a few years now. It is served with such style, class and elegance. Delighted to have a beautiful Hotel like this on our doorstep, and looking forward to many more delicious outings there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaR093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna P, Gérant at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Madam, Our Chef Oscar Garcia and his staff are honored to have such an encouraging comment about the experience you had at La Maison d'Uzès. It is now up to us to keep it this way until your next visit to us which we are really looking forward to. Thank you. Best regards ; Anna from La Maison d'Uzès.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at La Maison d'Uzes, we received five star treatment.

We were greeted at the imposing wooden entrance by Arnaud the director. He arranged for our car to be parked in a secure underground car park, so we could forget about it and enjoy Uzes as "pietons"/on foot which is the best way.

Check in and the bags being delivered to our room was as if by magic.

We arrived on a Monday when the Hotel dining room is closed, so Arnauld offered to book is a restaurant. We chose to take a chance and he helpfully drew a route on a map for us to follow. We found a reasonable restaurant, les Terroirs. The town is noisy and fun during the evening, though I suspect it shuts down fairly early, for those of you of a late night disposition.

The hotel is in a beautiful old building which has been tastefully renovated and refurbished very recently. Not all the decoration will be to your taste as it does mix the new with the old.

Our room was on the top floor, the trois Lucernes, "the three windows", overlooking the roofs of this historic town. We chose to open the windows but there is very good ac. The room was very comfortable with great furnishing though not enormous. There was a mini iPad in the room, with access to the internet.

The bathroom was a truly spacious modern wet room, with a shower. The room is big enough to have a bath but doesn't.

Wifi is available in the rooms though one problem is you do need different passwords for different parts of the hotel.

The hotel has a very nice spa below the ground floor, although we never used it as we had too much else to do.

We had breakfast on the terrace with a choice of Continental or English. It is all brought to you , rather than the usual buffet.

Uzes and the surrounding area offer so much to see. The town itself is beautiful and so easy to walk round. It has great markets on a Wednesday and a Saturday. We went to the "small" one on the Wednesday. On the Tuesday we went to the Pont du Gard which is easy to access. After that we then went and drove round Gigondas, where we had a lovely lunch and tasted some wine.

On our second night, the Tuesday evening we had dinner in the restaurant. This was the fifth stop on our tour of France by car. The restaurant is a much needed top end addition to Uzes. Whilst not cheap, it is not overpriced compared to the other gastronomic restaurants we visited in France.

We chose the tasting menu with a glass of wine with each course. The service and explanation was perfect but more important the food and wine were outstanding. The food has a real feel of southern France with a slight Spanish influence (gazpacho). It was light enough that despite there being 7 courses we were able to sleep that night! The wine was beautifully matched to the food.

We only stayed 2 nights but we are already planning a return visit, as we had only just got started. Next time maybe we will fly or take the train from London to Avignon.

This hotel matched and bettered five star hotels and the food matches Michelin star restaurants, as others have noted.

The little extras help to make the difference. For example Arnaud arranging for the car to be at the door when we left and he and his staff seeing us off with a cool water and a cake for the journey. The staff were attentive but also had a genuine warmth and friendliness to them. The test will be for them to maintain these standards.

Best place we stayed on our trip by road via Beaune, the Alps, Ardeche and Champagne.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Am6206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna P, Gérant at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Our Director and all our staff would like to thank you sincerely for taking such an important time of yours in writing your complete and detailed comment about your stay at our hotel. We are so delighed you did appreciate those two days with us and that you really did enjoy Uzès and its surroundings. We will truly do everything to uphold our quality of service delivered to our guests. All the team is already looking forward to have you back among us. Very best regards, Anna from La Maison d'Uzès.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: acheter de nouveaux oreiller. Prévoir une douche ou des installations équivalentes dans les baignoir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank francoiscM7197ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christophe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
82
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
72
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claudie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h8collection, Directeur général at La Maison d'Uzes, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uzes
0 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 13 in Uzes
422 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
311 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 1 in Baron
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie Provencale
2.6 mi away
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
Chateau d'Arpaillargues
#1 of 1 in Arpaillargues
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Uzes Pont Du Gard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d'Uzes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d'Uzes

Address: 18 rue du Docteur Blanchard, 30700, Uzes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Uzes
Price Range: $266 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison d'Uzes 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Maison d’Uzès sits perfectly in the centre of the glorious town of Uzes. Behind its emblematic and noble facade, over three centuries of history are revived today in this 12-roomed boutique hotel boasting an intimate and warm atmosphere.After four years of careful renovation, a new chapter in the long and rich history of La Maison d’Uzès begins. Now transformed into a charming and intimate hotel, La Maison d’Uzès has regained all its splendour. Led by Ariel Balmassière, architect at Monuments Historiques and Marie-José Tavares, interior designer, the building works have uncovered ancient features which have added to the historical charm. The twelve bedrooms, laid out around the majestic stairway, are light and airy, spread over two floors each boasting picturesque views over the rooftops and gardens of Uzès. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Maison d'Uzes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing